USB Loader GX

By cyrex, Apr 19, 2009 6,128,310 27,249 40

  1. jeannotte

    jeannotte GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2,968
    Country:
    France
    it's true, but sometimes people can be wrong:D
     
    ca032769, alexander1970 and XFlak like this.
  2. totakeke95

    totakeke95 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Spain
    Effectively, it was disabled to show GC games in the filter settings, thank u.
     
    jeannotte, alexander1970 and XFlak like this.
  3. NoobletCheese

    NoobletCheese GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    I'm considering putting my backups on a Crucial MX500 SSD in a 2.5" USB enclosure, which is powered entirely through the USB port.

    I am attracted to this as it allows me to get rid of 2 wall warts.

    Is the Wii's USB port up to powering it? I've been searching and can't seem to find a definite answer.

    SSD's are supposed to be very power efficient, but are the Wii's USB ports so pathetic they can't even power an SSD?
     
  4. kingjinxy2

    kingjinxy2 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    It's the Wii U's USB ports that are gimped. On my Wii, I can run an external mechanical hard drive just fine from one USB port. On the Wii U, I had to use a Y-cable.
     
  5. Jimvr4

    Jimvr4 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I'm running a spinning disk in a USB enclosure on the Wii with no Y cable. Working fine for years.

    Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  6. cosmicnana

    cosmicnana Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can anyone recommend a cheap out of the box HDD that 100% works with this loader (especially for Just Dance 2015 etc) and that is easily available to purchase in the UK? I'm currently using a Bipra 320GB but when playing it will suddenly come up with a screen saying 'reading disc'. I assume this is a drive issue? It's a shame as its a nice little cheap drive but I can't figure out what else the problem might be?
     
  7. NoobletCheese

    NoobletCheese GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    May be some useful information here
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/the-definitive-vwii-hacking-guide.425852/#19
     
  8. cosmicnana

    cosmicnana Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you and for taking the time to reply. That is useful information but doesn't help in my case I don't think. I'm using a regular Wii (not Wii U), drive is USB powered but came with a Y cable and at the moment I don't think its powering off randomly either. I just left it 30 mins, and booted into the loader and then loaded JD2015 without problem.

    I don't know if its the drive (can anyone recommend a HDD that definitely works and is easy to buy in the UK) or my set up [sys info below].

    SysCheck HDE v2.4.0 HacksDen Edition by JoostinOnline, Double_A, R2-D2199, and Nano
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).

    Region: PAL
    System Menu 4.3E (v514)
    Priiloader installed
    Drive date: 02.13.2007
    Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58

    Console ID: 114926329
    Console Type: Wii
    Shop Channel Country: United Kingdom (110)
    Boot2 v4
    Found 77 titles.
    Found 46 IOS on this console. 14 of them are stubs.

    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS62 (rev 6430): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 6912): Stub
    IOS80 (rev 6944): No Patches
    IOS222 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS223 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS249[56] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250[57] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10
    Report generated on 03/08/2021.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  9. Draxikor

    Draxikor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2019
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    Mexico
    alexander1970 likes this.
  10. NoobletCheese

    NoobletCheese GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    In that guide it says for optimal compatibility to format the drive in a very specific way using Bootice.
    I noticed Wii Backup Manager can also format drives for USB Loader GX as well.
    From what I can tell, formatting the drive in a very specific way improves reliability and helps avoid these kinds of issues.
     
  11. cosmicnana

    cosmicnana Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Drax. May I ask if that's good to go out of the box or did you need to buy a Y cable? Are yours the 1TB ones?

    That will be fine for my Wii but for my daughters ones I was hoping for a cheaper solution. The Bipra was £20 for 320GB but looks like it may not work correctly.

    Oddly I just left the Bipra for 1hr and 20 mins (Wii powered on), the drive light was off but it booked into GXloader just fine. Very odd.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Hmm, maybe I need to re-read it. I'll give it a go now, thank you.
     
  12. Draxikor

    Draxikor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2019
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    Mexico
    @cosmicnana It works perfectly with the one USB cable included, i formatted them in fat32 (no partitions) using Wii backup manager.
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  13. cosmicnana

    cosmicnana Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried Bootice as guided, thought briefly it might have worked as it lasted longer but after 20 minutes 'reading disc' came up again :(

    Thanks. I have a couple more things to try but if no one else has any suggestions I think I'll give that drive a whirl. Just gutted as its twice the price of the Bipra and I don't really need a TB. That said I do need something that works :D Might try a format on the Bipra with Wii backup manage as well.

    Edit: @Draxikor - Is there a Wii Backup Manager idiots guide somewhere? I don't think it can even see my HDD to format it?

    Edit II: Formatted with Wii Backup Manager - all games then transferred to the drive. Same issue :(
     
    Last edited by cosmicnana, Mar 8, 2021
  14. NoobletCheese

    NoobletCheese GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States

    All I can think of is that maybe the drive is on its way out, or maybe it's not getting enough power from the USB port, in which case try using another USB port, or a Y cable to give it some extra juice (which apparently is necessary on WiiU but not Wii).

    You could also try replacing the USB cable which was the culprit in my case.
    Or try some spraying some electrical contact cleaner on all the connectors.
     
    Last edited by NoobletCheese, Mar 9, 2021
    Draxikor likes this.
  15. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    540
    Country:
    United States
    Have you looked to see if there are any unallocated areas on the drive or even items with an ASTRIX? I have run into drives that will not boot because of this, even when it looks like there is just one partition, there can be fragmented or unused areas on the drive. And if they are in the first position can cause problem. Just merge them into the main partition so that there is only the 1 partition showing.

    Another issue is to make sure your drive is MBR and not GPT. If it is GPT you need to convert it to MBR or it will not work properly.

    Use EaseUS Partition Master Free Edition to look for both of these issues. You can follow the last link in my signature that'll take you to an old post of mine that has in STEP 1 the link for it. You can also look at the pictures attached at the end of the post that'll show one of my drives DISK 1 with the ASTRIX issue and you'll also notice all my WII TEST drive is showing as MBR ------> DISK 2 (MBR).

    With that, not all drives or external cases are going to be compatible. If you want a sure fire drive that'll work buy a Western Digital Passport in the size and price range you'd like. Seeing you do not need much space, at least for now a 1TB or 2TB will be your friend.

    EDIT 1: It might also help to mark the drive as PRIMARY and ACTIVE. While there seems to be some debate as to if this helps things, I do it on all my drives. Even if it doesn't help it won't hurt anything.

    EDIT 2: Here is my OneDrive link to FAT32 GUI Formatter 64-bit edition. Looks like some of those other links might not be working. This would be the preferred format tool because it'll format any size drive to FAT32:
    https://1drv.ms/u/s!Akr7GOOfRVh8gvBXdFT-iBYNekoM6Q?e=aC0S2s

    EDIT 3: Looks like your Wii might be missing some custom cIOS's that are required to get an external drive up and running. How did you mod the Wii? I recommend you use ModMii, the first link in my signature. It'll correct anything that might be wrong with your Wii setup. When you run it, just select that the Wii has not been previously modded and it'll overwrite anything that is needed.
     
    Last edited by ca032769, Mar 9, 2021
    alexander1970 and jeannotte like this.
  16. NoobletCheese

    NoobletCheese GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure it's a requirement to install a custom IOS, because Nintendon't says it requires IOS58, which I understand is the default IOS, and USB Loader uses Nintendont for Gamecube games.

    In my searches I didn't find anything saying that installing a custom IOS was necessary, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

    My Wii was modded using the str2hax exploit, which downloaded and launched the latest HackMii Installer, which installed Homebrew channel. All i did then was put the latest USB Loader onto an SD card and ran it from Homebrew channel.

    I haven't been able to launch any Wii games from USB yet as I'm waiting for a SSD and USB enclosure to arrive by mail.

    In the meantime I did try formatting a USB thumb stick, which USB Loader detected and showed the game in the listbox, however trying to launch it just crashes to Homebrew channel. I thought this was due to thumb sticks being insufficient, but now that you are saying a cIOS is necessary, I'm not so sure... I don't want to meddle with a cIOS if it isn't necessary.
     
    Last edited by NoobletCheese, Mar 9, 2021
  17. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    540
    Country:
    United States
    I'll have to pull my Wii system report tonight and I'll post it so you can see the optimum setup that ModMii installs. I don't really pay attention to the system checks because I don' have any problems doing it with ModMii, but I can give you mine as a comparison.

    Thumbsticks & Flash drives - Not recommended because they do not work consistently, however I have not had any problems with PNY & SanDisk flash drives. But they are still not recommended. Use of an external hard drive is. However, seeing those are easy enough to format property and do work a good portion of the time, I think it is your mod that is not allowing proper access.

    I am interested in finding out about an SSD working. I have never tried it and do not know anyone that has. What maker and size are getting? I believe you'll will still have to make sure the drive is MBR or converted to MBR before it will work reliably with all homebrew. I have thought about buying a Western Digital SSD and trying it, but for now am happy with my 5TB that holds all Wii & GameCube titles.

    EDIT: Never mind, it looks like the syschk was from @cosmicnana and not @NoobletCheese. I've askind him to post his system check. Lets see if we can a quick answer: @XFlak - Can you look at the syscheck NoobletCheese posted a few message above and confirm if he's missing custom IOS's (if not all needed items) that will allow access to the USB drive. I don't know this stuff off the top of my head and will have to pull a system check myself tonight to see how it is suppose to be set up. On a side note (for @XFlak), sorry, didn't try to copy a game save to the SDXC this weekend, but will also try that tonight.
     
    Last edited by ca032769, Mar 9, 2021
    jeannotte, XFlak and alexander1970 like this.
  18. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    540
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I think I mixed up the system check by @cosmicnana and thought it was yours, can you post a system check..
     
  19. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,233
    Country:
    Cyprus
    I don't see a syscheck by NoobletCheese, did you mean the one posted by cosmicnana?

    cosmicnana's 249 and 250 look fine. ModMii would recommend adjustments to his mods based on his syscheck, but not to these slots specifically, which would be the only ones that matter for USB Loader HDD compatibility.

    I was going to suggest looking at MBR as well... but now something else caught my eye

    @cosmicnana, please confirm, but can your Homebrew Channel detect and launch apps that are saved to your FAT32 HDD? If the answer to this question is yes, but USB Loaders are still failing to detect it, you may want to try a different base for your main cIOS (i.e. base 58, same IOS used by the HBC). This may give you poorer game compatibility, but at least your loader will be able to detect your HDD. To be clear, I do not think this is a likely scenario\solution.

    You could also try formatting the HDD as WBFS, it often improves compatibility at the expense of all the other benefits that go with a FAT32 HDD.

    On a final note, why are you wasting a SDD for your Wii? It won't be any faster due to USB2.0 speed limitation; although you will be able to benefit from faster speeds when connected to your PC, how often is that really to justify "wasting" an SSD for this purpose? Put that SSD to better use as the primary drive in a laptop or something :)

    edit: so my advice may have been for someone else? I'm confused, lol. I didn't read back far enough and just replied mostly based on ca032769's comments

    edit2: @ca032769, don't worry, I appreciate you staying on top of it, because I have so many balls in the air I would've forgotten to follow up with you on the SDXC save data thing. Whenever you get around to it is cool, no rush, but do me a favour and tag me or otherwise direct me to the results of your tests when you get around to it :)
     
    Last edited by XFlak, Mar 9, 2021
  20. NoobletCheese

    NoobletCheese GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States

    I went with a Crucial MX500 250GB and this Simplecom brand 2.5" enclosure.

    I am already using this Simplecom 3.5" enclosure on the WiiU with a Crucial MX500 500GB, and it has been working flawlessly once I replaced the faulty USB cable it came with.

    The 3.5" enclosure uses a JMicron JMS578 controller which is widely used in Seagate and Western Digital portable HDD's according to this post.

    I am not sure which controller the 2.5" enclosure will use, but I am hoping it is also JMicron, as there are firmware flashing tools available which allow some tweaks like disabling the spin down power management feature which can potentially cause problems (I disabled it on the 3.5" enclosure but it was working fine even without disabling... SSD would probably have a fast wake up time compared to HDD anyway).


    In my region the SSD solution is actually cheaper as I don't need more than 500GB. Crucial BX500's are even cheaper and their low write endurance probably doesn't matter as we won't be writing very often.
     
    Last edited by NoobletCheese, Mar 9, 2021
    ca032769 and XFlak like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Loader,