Hacking USB Loader GX Won't Recognize HDD...Sometimes?

Goldsuit

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So I'm really new to this scene and I've got almost everything working, but I'm utterly stumped on what to do now. I'll give you a rundown through my process. For the entire setup up to this point my HDD has been working completely fine with my Wii and I've had no problems whatsoever with the HDD after reformatting it to FAT32. Now I will say I initially messed up and installed USB Loader GX without doing the cIOS step, but my Gamecube games still worked totally fine and still do and at no point did my HDD fail to initialize. My Wii games obviously needed the step, so after finding out I skipped a step on accident I downloaded it, and I loaded my HDD up with all my Gamecube and Wii games I wanted to launch through USB Loader GX. The initial test run of Punch Out worked totally fine, then I go back to the menu to set some settings and I get hit with "your USB device is not being initialized. Changing to channel mode" or something along the lines of that.

So after about a dozen resets, confirming if the HDD still works via hooking it up with my PC, making sure it's in Slot 0 (it was and always has been) and even switching it back and forth from Slot 1, changing the System IOS in the Loader menu in USBLGX between 58, 249, 250, and 251, and reinstalling all of the cIOS...for some reason in my most recent reset, it seems to be working fine. It loaded my HDD and it's displaying all the games, but I'm honestly scared to do anything else now because I don't want it to suddenly not recognize my HDD again. The settings everything is set to right now didn't work earlier, so I don't know what's different if anything.