1. Francesca

    OP Francesca GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    Armenia
    Nope, no changes. No sound or message when I plug the Switch in.

    Just tried my parents' laptop as an alternative. No response in Device Manager to the Switch being plugged in on either of the laptop's two ports, and Zadig apparently shows two WebCam options? Must stand for the two USB ports, I'm guessing.

    I have a feeling this could be a USB-C issue. Researching the topic right now, but apparently the net is full of complaints about how it's inefficient and sometimes still doesn't function? Perhaps none of my devices support it, or the cable is the wrong one. idk.
     
  2. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Country:
    United States
    Based on your experiences, I imagine it's a problem with the cord. Try a different one.

    In the meantime, you can install over FTP using DZ Tinfoil, instead of USB.
     
    Francesca likes this.
  3. altorn

    altorn GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Country:
    Canada
    not sure if you've done it but rebooting your PC after reinstalling zadig and/or libusbk helped me before.
     
    Francesca likes this.
  4. Francesca

    OP Francesca GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    Armenia
    Is Zadig actually meant to be installed? The one I downloaded just starts an application that's apparently not anywhere on my PC unless I open it again. I've rebooted my PC a fair number of times since I started trying to get things working; it hasn't helped.
     
  5. crazy_p

    crazy_p GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Zadig is a tool to install the libusbk Driver, like TegraRcm.

    Here's a Tutorial how to install the Driver:

    0.jpg

    1.png

    2.png

    3.png

    4.png
     
    Last edited by crazy_p, Aug 6, 2019
    Francesca likes this.
  6. Francesca

    OP Francesca GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    Armenia
    Hopefully I can accomplish this with a different cord...
     
  7. crazy_p

    crazy_p GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Yeah that's also Possible, the Switch is VERY Picky about Cables... (Pro Controller and Samsung Cables work)
     
    Last edited by crazy_p, Aug 6, 2019
  8. Citrus

    Citrus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    France
    Hello all.
    I had the same problem on my switch, I tested everything (cable, computer...), but I couldn’t get my switch to be detected.
    I only found a «composite device» for «Nintendo Switch».

    In fact, a few months ago, I tested twili from mission2000. And it was the problem : I removed the title 0100000000006480, and everything worked.
    So, my advice : create a new sd card with only atmosphere and Goldleaf.
     
  9. notrea11y

    notrea11y GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Germany
    Last edited by notrea11y, Mar 24, 2020
  10. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,673
    Country:
    Norway
    If the Switch doesn't show up in Device Manager when you plug it in, the cable is probably for charging only. Real USB 3.x Type C cables are quite thick (much thicker than a USB 2.0 cable as there are 24 individual wires inside instead of the usual 5 including shielding) so you can easily tell if a USB-C cable is fully featured by the thickness. Mostly, as some less scrupulous manufacturers might use thick insulation to make the cable seem higher quality than it is.
    Some of them are charging only, some of them are USB 2.0 only, I'm not sure if the Switch works over USB 2.0 only, it should, but Nintendo aren't exactly following the spec, so who knows.
     
    Last edited by The Real Jdbye, Mar 24, 2020
  11. notrea11y

    notrea11y GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Germany

    Highly unlikely, as I can inject payloads just fine with Tegra...

    Edit:
    For anyone struggling with USB, and disliking Wifi (it sucks without Ethernet cable...):
    Tinleaf does split xci/nsp files, so it might be faster to copy em to the micro sd and go from there.
    https://github.com/blawar/tinleaf/releases
     
    Last edited by notrea11y, Mar 24, 2020
  12. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,673
    Country:
    Norway
    Well, have you installed the driver with Zadig again while running a homebrew that uses USB?
     
  13. notrea11y

    notrea11y GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes. Even rebooted Windows.
    Tried Awoo, Goldleaf, both to no avail. (Not surprising, since the Nswitch is only listed in the devmgmt when I put it into RCM...)
    [Driver is located in: "TegraRcmGUI_v2.6_portable\apx_driver\InstallDriver.exe" - weighs 3.55 mb]

    You'd think such a standardised process was easy..
     
    Last edited by notrea11y, Mar 24, 2020
  14. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,673
    Country:
    Norway
    It's called something else when in HOS. Someone said it should be called "libnx Comms" but that didn't seem to be the case for me at least.
     
  15. notrea11y

    notrea11y GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Germany
    Another nice nugget:
    Yup, no libnx comms for me either.

    Oh well.



    EDIT2:
    Ha.. how weird....
    I stuck my "microUSB->USB-C" on a short Micro USB cable I had lying around and..
    Sure enough the Switch now connects flawlessly (!?!)
    AwooInstaller is recognized, Zadik installation was flawless..
    So maybe using as shorter cable is imperative ?
    (I even used my Laptops USB 3 port...)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by notrea11y, Apr 7, 2020
  16. MUDD_BR

    MUDD_BR GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thank you so much! I haven´t touched my switch in weeks and when I try to use older methods (Goldleaf/Goldtree) they didnt work neither.
    It´s weird bc I haven´t change anything on my system. Tinfoil din´t work too, so I´ve used your method (I made this zadig tuto very long time ago) and now it´s working again. I only need this once, right?
    tsm
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Installation, failure,