Upscaling the Virtual Console

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Prince Valmont, Dec 19, 2008.

Dec 19, 2008
  1. Prince Valmont
    OP

    Member Prince Valmont GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I'm playing the wii on a nice 16:9 HDTV, and I'd like to know if there was a way to somewhat upconvert the virtual console games.

    I want to say I heard there was a controller combination to execute upon booting them up to make them appear crisper.

    Does anyone know what I'm talking about?
    Does anyone know the combination?
     
  2. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you sure your not speaking about an emulator.
     
  3. Prince Valmont
    OP

    Member Prince Valmont GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. I'm absolutely positive.

    They say the Virtual Console has a gimmick to it that you hold a combination of buttons down, and upon booting up the Virtual Console game from the wii menu, the image would be upscaled for nicer t.v.s
     
  4. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Never heard about that before.
     
  5. wanders

    Newcomer wanders Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like someone is feeding you some bullshit. [​IMG]
     
  6. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Actually i think i;ve heard something like this before.
     
  7. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Attach nunchuck, go to the Operation Manual and press Z + A + 2
     
  8. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    When the system is set to 480p, the majority of VC games will automatically display in 480p.

    With the exception of Neo Geo. For those you'll probably have to use that button combination.
     
  9. Prince Valmont
    OP

    Member Prince Valmont GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you so much!
    This was exactly what I was looking for.

    It gets me to wonder why not too many people know about this combination. Not even over at GameFAQs...

    But again, thank you.
     
  10. chaseincats

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    whats with this Z A 2 business?

    why do we need to do this I thought wii did it automatically?
     
  11. stev418

    Member stev418 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    Australia
    And this actually works for some? does nothing here so far. From what i can understand it isnt upscaling but rather just support for the "Wii Component Cable Interlace mode."
     

Share This Page