Unable to load save in SS?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Spazzmaticus, Mar 16, 2010.

Mar 16, 2010
  1. Spazzmaticus
    OP

    Newcomer Spazzmaticus Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi! I have a problem.
    Seeing as how Soul Silver has a tendency to freeze every now and then on my Supercard DSone, I decided to play it on no$GBA instead. This worked pretty well, and I got quite far into the game. I also realized that the emulator is capable of exporting saves in .sav format, thus enabling me to import them on my Supercard DSone and playing them there. Seems great for backup purposes.
    At first this worked well. I traded the save between emulator and NDS a few times but now things have turned bad. Importing the save seems to work ok. The game loads on my Supercard and I get all the way to the menu where you select you save file. When I select it the screens go black and the game freezes every time. I tried loading the save with another application that supports the .sav file format and it worked fine, so I don't think the file itself is corrupted. Other games oif this type would tell you if that was the case, so I'm pretty sure that corruption is not the issue.
    How do I get the NDS to load the save game without freezing, and why did it work before but not now? Any help would be appreciated. The file can still be played on my PC, but it's just not the same as on the real deal.
     
  2. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Check your save file's size. Nocash might have changed it. Make sure the emulator's also set to the correct size.
     
  3. Spazzmaticus
    OP

    Newcomer Spazzmaticus Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    Correct save size (512 kb). It works between DeSmuME and no$GBA. On the DS I can see the save, but loading it makes it go black. Save save size and type on both emulators. Thx for the input, though.
     
  4. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    How far into the game are you? HGSS have an as of yet uncracked anti piracy that makes the game freeze progressively and eventually stop loading the save if you get too far.
     
  5. Spazzmaticus
    OP

    Newcomer Spazzmaticus Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    That could be it. I have 15 hours and 7 badges. Quite a lot of time, which is why I don't want to lose the progress. When does the freezing occurr?
     
  6. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    The freezing occurs after the following things have happened around 30-50 times: going in/out houses, talking to people, etc. I was told on the official forums that they contacted the team(which is chinese) and told them of the issue, but upon google translating the thread I realized they were WAY OFF. I signed up myself and tried to explain things the best I could. http://bbs.supercard.sc/viewthread.php?tid...age=2#pid175075
     
  7. Spazzmaticus
    OP

    Newcomer Spazzmaticus Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well, in my case the save does not load on the Supercard, but works fine on no$GBA and desmume. You think it will be patched?
     
  8. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
  9. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    SCDS and Nocash saves are supposed to be compatible, oftentimes I swap them and never had compatibility issues. O.=.o
     
  10. Spazzmaticus
    OP

    Newcomer Spazzmaticus Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah, I'm aware. That's not the problem. The format is the same on Supercard, no$GBA and desmume. They all save as RAW (.sav) format. Like I said, it wouldn't work at all on Supercard if the format was wrong.
    Thanks for the input.
     
  11. Cawk

    Newcomer Cawk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    You may already know, but the AP gets worse after each badge you get. It's rumored that after you get the fourth badge, your save file won't even load up. If you have seven badges and this rumor is true (pretty sure it is as there have been numerous reports of it...), you won't be able to play it on your supercard until a new OS or a patch comes out. Idk, but you may still be able to play it on No$gba...
     
  12. Spazzmaticus
    OP

    Newcomer Spazzmaticus Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    Ah, thanks for the feedback! If it is true, I guess I can live with that. I don't mind a slight hiatus until the patch comes out, I just don't want to lose my progress.
     
  13. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Patch is out.

    And useless post is useless D:
     

Share This Page