?
  1. Yes, I don't care how broken it will be!

    64 vote(s)
    81.0%
  2. No, I don't want to use even more broken stuff

    7 vote(s)
    8.9%
  3. Yes, but only in GBA mode, because I play DSi exclusives

    5 vote(s)
    6.3%
  4. No, because I only use DS and DSi mode

    3 vote(s)
    3.8%
  5. 79 voter(s)
  1. MarioKartFan

    MarioKartFan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Algeria
    You are correct @Rahkeesh. What a goof on my part. I agree that the GPU scaling actually looks better in some widescreen games. Though I do wish it was a tad lesss “smudgy” as some of the greatest games of all time like DQV are so font intensive that the smudge kinda interferes with the awesomeness that is widescreen.
     
  2. Randoug

    Randoug Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    First and foremost @Sono thank you very much for your time and dedication to this project!! You're awesome man.
    I just finished reading over 30 pages of the forum, and would just like to confirm a few things I'm still a bit confused on,

    By selecting DMPGL Widescreen in patches, users do not have to hold X to enable widescreen too? Is there much of a difference between the two options? Also, by selecting GPU scaling, MTX options are disregarded/not used, correct?

    Sorry if you've already explained these, I did my best to search your previous replies (saw a few from a while back on a much older version)
    Thanks again!!!
     
    Sono likes this.
  3. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Country:
    Hungary
    Yeah, if you select anything from the patch menu, don't hold any buttons other than START to patch. If you don't enter the patch menu however, the hold-X-for-widescreen keycombo should still work however. Holding X should be the same as enabling it in the patch menu.

    Yeah, the GPU scaling patch completely disables upscaling, and uses the GPU for upscaling. Because upscaling is disabled, the filters aren't applied.
     
    Robz8, fmkid and Randoug like this.
  4. JamesDaSpaghettiTaco

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2021
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Greece
    I know that I might be asking for too much but could I have the source code to see if I can possibly make some improvements to the program?
     
  5. DualBladedKirito

    DualBladedKirito The Black Swordsman
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    Question my good friend. Will your lgy agb be able to bypass the 32mib rom file size limit currently in place for agb firm?. There are a couple rom hacks that go over that by a miniscule but entirely necessary amount. The main one being Pokemon Adventure Red Chapter vol1. And trimming it breaks the rom. If so I would use both open_agb_firm and yours interchangeably
     
    Last edited by DualBladedKirito, Feb 8, 2021
  6. ghjfdtg

    ghjfdtg GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    766
    Country:
    It's a hardware limit. The best that can be done is cut off the data beyond 32 MB with a risk of the game not working properly. Ask the author of the ROM hack to shrink it or someone who might be willing to try in case it has been abandoned.
     
    Sono likes this.
  7. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Country:
    Hungary
    Basically this. GBA mode runs on actual GBA hardware, which doesn't support going higher than 32Megs due to how the ROM is presented to the CPU.
    And there was never a need to bypass this limit, because all retail games fit into this space.

    I know GBA Video is an exception, but it had a special chip inside the cartridge, which could change / "fool" how the CPU sees the cartridge. Effectively it still has seen a 32Meg cartridge, but what the CPU sees could be magically changed by "writing" into the cartridge in a way the magic chip understood, and it would present different data to the CPU depending on what was written.

    But here is the kicker: even if there was a magical way to change the way the CPU sees the cartridge so it could see more ROM at once, you most likely still couldn't access more than 32Megs, because the cartridge is emulated in hardware on the 3DS, and it's most likely that Nintendo only hooked up 32Megs worth of ROM space to the cartridge emulator, so the GBA hardware can still only see 32Megs, even if more ROM space were unlocked somehow.
     
    Last edited by Sono, Feb 8, 2021 - Reason: oops, I misremembered the max ROM size
  8. ghjfdtg

    ghjfdtg GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    766
    Country:
    Did you mean 32 instead of 16? Because the biggest ROM supported by hardware is and always was 32 MB. For everything bigger they started to use a mapper to switch between 2 banks to double that. Details here. These ROM hacks all depend on emulator bugs or inaccurate emulation to support bigger ROMs. The mapper was not yet discovered at the time these ROM hacks were made.
     
  9. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,580
    Country:
    United States
    I’m also pretty sure it’s 16MB as that one 32MB GameBoy Video rom could never be dumped until someone figured out how they bypassed the 16MB rom limit.
     
  10. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Country:
    Hungary
    Yes, I misremembered, oops! I meant 32Megs!

    Nope, I checked the memory map again, and it calculates to 32Megs.
     
  11. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,580
    Country:
    United States
    Then why was it so difficult to dump that one GameBoy Advance Video Rom?
     
  12. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Country:
    Hungary
    Because no other GBA cart includes a mapper chip, and it's a quite an esoteric mapper, even compared to systems where a mapper is a common thing... The mapper code had to be reverse engineered with a lot of guesswork.
     
  13. AceCuba

    AceCuba Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Cuba
    how i can do that on my 3ds the map stylus movements
     
  14. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Country:
    Hungary
    Basically nohow.
     
  15. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,439
    Country:
    United States
    Since TWiLight Menu++ has no way of checking if the currently used TwlBg file contains widescreen, could you make TWPatcher generate a checksum file for the generated TwlBg.cxi file?
    TWiLight Menu++ could then read the checksum file, and see if the TwlBg file is widescreen, based on a known checksum.
     
    Dartz150, Nutez and Sono like this.
  16. ccfman2004

    ccfman2004 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,580
    Country:
    United States
    Would the hashes even be the same if two different DS systems used the same patches?
     
  17. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Country:
    Hungary
    I can generate a features file which contains a list of patches. I'll also try a way to embed it into the original file, if possible.

    Not necessarily, considering I make my patches work on pre-1.0.0 TWL_FIRM all the way to the current version. And if I tweak a patch, it'd also change the checksum.
     
    fmkid, Robz8, Dartz150 and 1 other person like this.
  18. eqagunn

    eqagunn Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Ireland
    Hi Sono. I understand 3dsx version is not supported, however... It works for me. I'm using 3dsx version of all homebrew apps without parental controls pin lock. As HBL has it, it allows me to protected them through it. Would be nice if you could either implement it into cia or have 3dsx version populated with app name, author name, description, icon, etc. for the esthetic reasons. I don't want to be an ass but the icon could use a makeover. Thank you for your work!
     
    Sono likes this.
  19. Tavisco

    Tavisco Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Brazil
    I've followed the guide from TwilightMenu++ and installed successfully, but the game I'm currently playing (Pokémon Pearl) is clearly being stretched, is this the expected result?
     
  20. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,439
    Country:
    United States
    If it's a ROM hack, and the 3D field is stretched, then yes.
     
    Tavisco likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - TWPatcher, filters, patches