TV-Out Cable

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by sfg, Feb 11, 2010.

Feb 11, 2010

TV-Out Cable by sfg at 1:58 PM (1,401 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. sfg
    OP

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    I want to buy a TV-Out cable for my PSP 2000 however I understand there are more types and I really don't know anything about such things. Basically, I want it to output games from emulators and PS1 games and sound too. Not much interested in PSP games or movies.

    In case it matters, this is my TV: http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/televisions/pr...sp?model=20AF43
    So, nothing special. Just a regular TV.

    I would prefer to buy it from USA if possible.
     
  2. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PSP 2000 Tv-Outs come in 2 forms Composite and Component. Component outputs at 480p only while Composites output at 480i only (the PSP is not supposed to do this so there must be some technical wizardry in it)
    Anyway your TV is an old CRT so no Components for you, you need a composite cable (Yellow, Red and White)

    The other option is using remotejoylite (assuming you have a CFW PSP) and outputting to your computer screen.
     
  3. mayhem366

    Member mayhem366 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    RemoteJoyLite is pretty hardcore in terms of ouput, i used it when i had Vista but to get it work with 64bit OSes (7 in this case) is rather difficult.
    I have done it but have purchased a Composite cable from dealextreme.
    This does the trick with the tv just fine but you may find that you need the plugin FusaSD, for some reason, some of psp games/PS1 games work with just the cable and using sony's tv output mode and others don't. Is a bit strange.
     
  4. sfg
    OP

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
  5. FencingFoxFTW

    Member FencingFoxFTW GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    composites are very cheap on eBay

    I got mine from a seller named states.electronics and it works fine for movies

    psp games look kinda crappy tho and didnt work for my copy of Castlevania SotN

    havent tried emus yet
     
  6. sfg
    OP

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    OK, so I got a composite cable, however I've got problems using it.

    PSP games don't work, but that's not the problem. The problem is that PSX games don't work either, unless I use POPS above 5.00, but many games need older versions. Also, trying to start any emulator gives the same error as a PSP game (that I need to use a component cable and progressive display) and if I first launch the emulator and then hold the display button on the PSP to switch to the TV then it's just a black screen both on the PSP and the TV.

    I also tried FuSa, but the menu doesn't appear for PSP games. I haven't tried in emulators. And anyway, it seems like with FuSa you get performance issues.

    So, is there a way to do this? I use GEN D3 if it matters.
     
  7. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With FuSa you get performance issues as its a plugin which has to be run outside the game, and for that its pretty good.
    Make sure that the FuSa plugin is added to the POPS.txt and GAME.txt files for it to be functioning during Game and Popsloader play.
     
  8. suppachipmunk

    Member suppachipmunk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    United States
    You have to use the PSP component cable to play PSP games.
    The composite cable is only for movies.

    I did a lot of research before i bought my component cables.
    Even then, the component only take up about 3/4 of your screen.
    You will have caption bars on all 4 sides.

    Hope this helps

    EDIT: sorry, your tv doesnt have component... hmm, what about the Fusa program mentioned above.
    I know there is a program (not sure if it is Fusa) where it turns your computer into a monitor for the PSP via a USB cable I think... not 100%...
     
  9. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Composites work on PSX titles as well (if running on the newest POPS anyway) also the FuSa plugin runs in the background and allows PSP games to be outputted in 480i to a CRT screen. There's a slight performance hit but you get that from any plugin
     
  10. suppachipmunk

    Member suppachipmunk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    United States
    ok, thnx Jamstruth. I was told incorrectly.
    But I do have the name of the homebrew that lets you output PSP to computer via USB if it helps.

    its called "Remote Joy"

    lol, But I see it was already mentioned in the top few posts.
    Sorry, I'm out of ideas. [​IMG]
     
  11. sfg
    OP

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, as I found out my TV does seem to have component input. Of course, I may be mistaken, but that's what I got from the list of features (link in first post) and from the jacks that are on the back, so I ordered a component one as well. If this doesn't work either, well, no problem... just 3 dollars.

    *slaps forehead*

    Didn't think about that. Thanks.
     
  12. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The entry should be something along the lines of

    ms0:\seplugins\fusa.prx 1 (1 signifying that its active)

    Also, just because your TV supports components does not mean it will support 480p (the mode used by the PSP) Components give a higher quality of picture in 480i as well.
     
  13. FencingFoxFTW

    Member FencingFoxFTW GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    got a component cable a few days ago and it looks much better than composite, but it doesnt fill my LCD screen, except for the menu and movies

    havent tried emus yet, but everything else looks fine, including PSX games

    oh, and I didnt have to upgrade pops

    EDIT: play a lil Capcom Aliens vs Predator with FBA...awesomeness!!
     

Share This Page