[Tutorial] How to have a (somewhat) coldboot setup without CBHC

Discussion in 'Wii U - Tutorials' started by THEELEMENTKH, Feb 12, 2017.

?

Do you find this useful?

Poll closed Feb 19, 2017.
  1. Yes

    8 vote(s)
    53.3%
  2. No

    2 vote(s)
    13.3%
  3. CBHC is far better IMO

    5 vote(s)
    33.3%
  1. THEELEMENTKH
    OP

    Member THEELEMENTKH *On repairing process*

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Satan's secret party
    Country:
    Spain
    Hello everyone and welcome to my very first tutorial, in this tutorial we'll take a look on how to have a (somewhat) cooldboot setup without having Haxchi/CBHC.
    This is useful for those who, like me, doesn't have any DS VC games, can't buy one for the time being (I know they are super cheap btw), or simply if they have haxchi but they're too afraid to install CBHC.

    Prerequisites

    Setup

    1. Turn on your Wii U and go to System settings
    2. MAKE SURE that your Wii U's version is 5.5.1, since we'll need the quick start screen included with the 5.5.0 update (you can check your version on the upper right part of the gamepad's screen while on System settings)
    3. Navigate to Power settings and enable the quickstart menu option
    4. Close System settings and open your Wii U's internet browser
    5. Enter loadiine.ovh in the url bar and hit go, you should then be at the main gate (EDIT: or go to www.wiiubru.com/mocha if you don't care "coldbooting" anything else than Mocha - Thanks pwsincd!)
    6. Close the internet broswer by pressing the home button, remember that you MUSTN'T close the webpage before closing the full browser
    7. Open again the internet browser, it should load loadiine.ovh automatically (If you chose wiiubru.com/mocha instead of loadiine.ovh it will show up a different page, but the result will be the same)
    8. (Skip this step if you chose wiiubru.com/mocha instead of loadiine.ovh) Now choose Mocha CFW as your choice, check the "Activate automation choice" and hit the green check to launch Mocha CFW
    9. It will return automatically to the home menu, and now you'll have the benefits of Mocha CFW (Regionhax, signature patches...)
    10. You can now power off your Wii U and use the quick start menu to boot the web browser at launch, which should load loadiine.ovh (or wiiubru.com/mocha) and launch Mocha CFW
    EDIT: You can choose another homebrew other than Mocha if you want (i.e. for "coldbooting" the HBL)
    Hope you enjoy this workaround!
     
    Last edited by THEELEMENTKH, Feb 16, 2017 - Reason: Made the tutorial clearer - Added link to wiiubru.com/mocha - Added extra credits


  2. xtheman

    Member xtheman GBAtemp's Official Ghost

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5,588
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Good guide. I remember someone did something similar and branded it with a cringy name to keep people from installing coldboothax (it still used a ds vc)

    Edit: this guide will only work on 5.5.1 since iosuhax is hardcoded to only work on 5.5.1
     
    Last edited by xtheman, Feb 12, 2017
    THEELEMENTKH and ItsKipz like this.
  3. THEELEMENTKH
    OP

    Member THEELEMENTKH *On repairing process*

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Satan's secret party
    Country:
    Spain
    Ok, let me edit the OP to say that only works with 5.5.1, thanks for your help :)
     
  4. RandomUser

    Member RandomUser What has gotten into you Rosie?

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Country:
    United States
    This could be useful, especially when people don't want to rely on an app to boot CFW. Although I would much weather have a boot1 hax like back in the Wii days with bootmii, so I could boot directly to redNAND without relying on any other application on the system NAND just to get into CFW. Especially if corruption were to creep in and take the game out for booting automatically.
    Would have to be careful if Nintendo do decide to release an update for the Wii U. As there has been report of them automatically updating the Wii U with quick boot menu enabled even with the block in place. I don't know if this is true anymore though, as I haven't used the quick menu.
     
    Last edited by RandomUser, Feb 14, 2017
  5. THEELEMENTKH
    OP

    Member THEELEMENTKH *On repairing process*

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Satan's secret party
    Country:
    Spain
    Give it some time, I'm pretty sure that it'll come sooner or later
     
  6. MattKimura

    Member MattKimura 3DS & WiiU Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,543
    Country:
    United States
    I believe entering loadiine.ovh/550/mocha02 and making it last with the browser is like 1 second faster than waiting for the automation to startup, which is designed to give you a chance to change the automation option. Just speculation though. My browser instantly loads loadiine.ovh/550/hblk which is also just like cbhc.
     
  7. THEELEMENTKH
    OP

    Member THEELEMENTKH *On repairing process*

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Satan's secret party
    Country:
    Spain
    I will try it when I have the time, and I'll make changes to the OP if necessary.
    Thanks for your suggestion :)
     
  8. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    7,175
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I already do this with haxchi, i mod the config text to load the mocha cfw by default when booted. I also made it appear on quick boot menu with game pad, so i can just turn on the gamepad, click haxchi and load mocha. I'm steps ahead of the game, but the loadiine.ovh website is useful since it has automated process. :P
     
  9. THEELEMENTKH
    OP

    Member THEELEMENTKH *On repairing process*

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Satan's secret party
    Country:
    Spain
    Oh yeah, I totally forgot that this tutorial is also useful if you have haxchi and want a coldboot solution without installing cbhc :unsure:
     
  10. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    7,175
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I think part of the problem with it is knowing how to make the haxchi appear on the quick boot menu of the game pad, i dunno honestly how it work, it took a few days for it to work. But i think you have to use it at least once, then shut of the system, during that time the red light should turn yellow, then back to red, on the gamepad the home button LED should flash indicating new data is present in the quickboot, and maybe it will appear. I dunno how it work exactly but is my theory.
     
  11. THEELEMENTKH
    OP

    Member THEELEMENTKH *On repairing process*

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Satan's secret party
    Country:
    Spain
    I think that you have to shutdown the wii u with the gamepad while the game is running, or at least this is how I get stuff appear on the quickboot menu
     
  12. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    7,175
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Is definitly something to do with the yellow light on the system during power off. The only time i notice stuff appear is when the yellow light is on, the game pad home button LED flashes blue and then is updated. So it has to be that.
     
  13. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,146
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    added a similar link to www.wiiubru.com/mocha load page hit button... reloads into a sigpatched mocha f/w
     
  14. THEELEMENTKH
    OP

    Member THEELEMENTKH *On repairing process*

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Satan's secret party
    Country:
    Spain
    Nice!
    I'll update the OP with that link when I have the time
    Thanks! :)
     
  15. MattKimura

    Member MattKimura 3DS & WiiU Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,543
    Country:
    United States
    I've been thinking about this, and it's got one flaw. It will get in the way of Homebrew Launcher if you ever wanted that instead. At least loadiine.ovh gives you a chance to think twice so ignore my suggestion above. If your browser would boot straight into Mocha, it would be a pain if you ever just wanted homebrew launcher. You could install Homebrew Launcher Channel with Mocha, but it would still be annoying to have to boot up Mocha just to access Homebrew Launcher.
     
  16. CubeLer

    Member CubeLer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    Germany
  17. anothertemper

    Newcomer anothertemper Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Australia
    I haven't followed too closely. Is there a way to tell the Wii U to look to the SD card to load the loadiine files? Or is it still online/self host (either via PC or android) only? Just curious to see if offline without another device was possible yet.
     
  18. THEELEMENTKH
    OP

    Member THEELEMENTKH *On repairing process*

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Satan's secret party
    Country:
    Spain
    IIRC, to use the exploit hosted on loadiine.ovh you need the files on the SD Card
    And the only "offline" method that currently exists is hosting files with an Android device, so no true offline method for now
     
    Last edited by THEELEMENTKH, Feb 16, 2017
  19. CatmanFan

    Member CatmanFan TrashTemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Stately West Manor
    Country:
    Morocco
    Should I update my DNS block before doing this? Also, what is the current working DNS to block all updates?
     
  20. THEELEMENTKH
    OP

    Member THEELEMENTKH *On repairing process*

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Satan's secret party
    Country:
    Spain
    when you go to loadiine.ovh it tells you the current DNS that block updates, and if they're working or not
     

Share This Page