ttmenu.sys error?

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by emmas, Jan 2, 2009.

Jan 2, 2009

ttmenu.sys error? by emmas at 9:59 PM (2,781 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. emmas
    OP

    Newcomer emmas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    hi

    i have set numorous dstt cards up for friends in the past without problem however now i am stuck.

    i have one card which always gives this error message

    "[Rom loading failed]
    Open TTMENU.SYS error

    Please reset system"

    when i read the micro sd after it has been in the faulty card the ttmenu has a square icon at the end of the title

    i have reformatted the sd card (japan kingston 2GB) added the system files and games and tried in a dstt known to be working and the sd card loads perfectly

    i have tried doing the fake recovery ( i recently had a fake which behaved totally differently and fixed it using the advice on this forum- thanks guys) simply because i did not know what to do

    does any one know wether this fault is fixable

    thanks
     
  2. rasputin

    Member rasputin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Country:
    United States
    Try deleteing the ttmenu.sys file, let it create a new one.
     
  3. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    • Use the Panasonic formatter to format your microSD card.
    • Make sure your games are in a "games" folder and not on the root.
    • Make sure you have plenty of free space for system files and save files.
    • Make sure you use "safely remove hardware" (and press the STOP button) before removing the microSD card from the PC.
    -Bri
     
  4. zoobinnie

    Newcomer zoobinnie Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    hi can tell me how to let the menu reload please
     
  5. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    You mean soft reset (i.e. go from a game back to the menu)? You have to enable it in the SysOptions menu and also for the individual game, then if I remember correctly you press A-B-X-Y-L-R all at the same time to reset a game. It won't work for all games, and enabling the option will cause problems with some games.

    -Bri
     
  6. ccsteehee

    Newcomer ccsteehee Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Had same problem with my Kingston 2 Gb cards. Tried a different brand, and problems went away. The Kingston cards may be fake.
     
  7. mxk1000

    Member mxk1000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. yrless11

    Newcomer yrless11 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same issue. I ordered 3 cards so I had some room to play. I was trying a Kingston card then went to a Sandisk card. No luck with either so I tried another TTDS and both cards worked. Tried the 3rd one and again both cards worked. I did the paper trick, just a few layers of scotch tape on TTDS #1 and it works fine. Try some tape and you'll probably be good.
     
  9. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    There seems to be a lot of contact problems with the last few batches of DSTT's. Poor quality control along with clones and fake-killer firmware make it difficult to diagnose problems.

    I suspect that Team DSTT may have shot themselves in the foot with the fake-killer stuff, but it'll be interesting to see how it plays out. They probably should have released a version of the firmware that puts up a message for several seconds telling you that you have a fake but doesn't kill it. Or at least not kill it until you've viewed the message several times. Or at least pop up a message after it's killed your fake telling you that you have a fake. That would at least allow people to know whether they're dealing with fake-killer code or just bad quality control.

    Silently killing a fake semi-randomly isn't a very good method of deterring fakes since I imagine most users will just assume that the DSTT is crap without realizing they've bought a fake and return it for some other flash cart.

    -Bri
     
  10. Hitcher

    Member Hitcher GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is exactly why I could never understand the logic behind releasing the fake killer code - it just gives the DSTT card a bad name/image.
     
  11. chall32

    Newcomer chall32 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agree 100% Bri!
    I used to recommend the DSTT when asked. Looks like I'm going to have to revise that!
     
  12. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    The Acekard 2.1 has always been a much better flash cart than the DSTT and is only about $5 more.

    -Bri
     

Share This Page