1. Dylaan

    OP Dylaan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Country:
    Well my TTDS arrived in the mail today! [​IMG] Going through the settings, I noticed something called DMA Mode. Forgive my ignorance, but can anyone explain this? A quick search simply yielded something about it running faster on compatible games... Thanks!
     
  2. Sinkhead

    Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Country:
    Google is your friend.
    Pretty much, it's for compatibility. If a game doesn't work, try changing the setting.

    - Sam
     
  3. arctic_flame

    arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Country:
    I would assume it's a misnomer.

    I guess instead of patching every read to the card to read from the card, it does some sort of patch at the beginning that sticks
     
  4. Dylaan

    OP Dylaan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Country:
    Yeah, I tried define:DMA Mode, woops! [​IMG]
    So do I want it on or off, or doesn't it make much of a difference?
     
  5. arctic_flame

    arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Country:
    You're the one with the cart, try it.
     
  6. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5,490
    Country:
    Belgium
    doesn't make any difference as far as i know (but who am i)

    I just turn the thing on always [​IMG]
     
  7. DaMummy

    DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    United States
    so hows the cart overall? i ordered mine 2 days ago for my sister so im wondering if theres any problems or anything extraordinary on the cart thats worth the nice price
     
  8. macewarrier

    macewarrier Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:

    Who are you? Why, your SPIDERMAN!



    ~Mashewowweeor~
     
  9. dawn.wan

    dawn.wan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    Canada
    I was thinking the exact same thing, what is DMA Mode.. well looks like i wont really need it anyways.
     
  10. Seina

    Seina Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    DMA (Direct Memory Access) allows devices to access RAM (Random Access Memory) directly instead of going through the CPU (Central Processing Unit).
     
  11. Bri

    Bri GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Leave the DMA mode settings at their default values for each game unless you have problems with that game.

    -Bri
     
Draft saved Draft deleted