trying to install a windows 98 game on a windows 7 computer.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by DJPlace, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. DJPlace
    OP

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    let me know.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.dosbox.com/ + one of these http://www.dosbox.com/wiki/DOSBoxFrontends
     
  3. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    You are going to have to be specific about what game it is.

    I tried extensively to get a Windows 98 game called Starship Titanic (created by Douglas Adams of HHGTTG fame) and I couldn't even manage it when I ultimately set up Windows XP dual-boot. Some games that old require obsolete codecs (that was my problem) whose current codecs aren't backwards compatible, or there are any number of other issues.

    The first thing you should do is find out if other people have gotten the specific Windows 98 game working in Vista or Windows 7 before you give it a shot. If that information is hard to find, you can try installing it in compatibility mode (Right click and set certain properties before running the setup EXE file) and running the game exclusively in compatibility mode.

    If you have serious issues you may be able to run the game in a Virtual Machine, but that is a far more complicated process than I've described so far.

    edit: Or Rydian can ninja into the thread and throw out a great response too. I'm going to go watch NCIS since he seems to have this forum covered :P
     
  4. DJPlace
    OP

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    well let me be more clear i'm trying to install south park which runs on windows 98... and would dos box help or no?
     
  5. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    dos box is almost, if not the same, as a virtual machine but it's designed for games, I didn't know about it until this thread.. so I'd look into their site, see if anyone's confirmed South Park as working w/it.

    I'm going to try it with Starship Titanic in the indistinct future after I resurrect my archive from disc storage.. I'd given up on it. I didn't have the HDD space to keep the dual boot on my laptop after I failed getting it running in XP.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I'm faster than you because I post shorter less-full responses. :P

    If the game is a DOS game, then yes DOSbox would do it. If not, then it depends on the game, is that the full title?
     
  7. DJPlace
    OP

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    i rember installing it on windows XP and it was fine i wonder if 7 or vista killed it...

    it's just South Park.
     
  8. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    like I said, it depends on the game.. the less external software the game itself requires to run (such as video codecs with Starship Titanic), the more likely it'll work in a particular compatibility mode in Win7.
     
  9. DJPlace
    OP

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    not sure if i said this but i don't rember... when i run it and click install it just closes for some reason like vanish
     
  10. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    Like previously said, it's hard to say without the specific tittle... Have you tried running in compability mode?
    Sometimes it actually does help... Since it's a game for windows 98, it's not really that old... Meh... It's hard without all the info. D=
     
  11. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
  12. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    Oh, it's that game... I've always played it with project64, never new there was a pc version. =S
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    So I assume it's a windows game and not a DOS game...

    In which case it'd probably need patches, but I'm having trouble finding them due to the simple title and search terms.
     
  14. Mazor

    Member Mazor Z80 master arch

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    Sweden
    Is it really correct that you are failing already at installation? I read some comments on a torrent for the game and it seems like everyone else is able to install it fine on Windows XP and above, but once installed it can't be run except on Windows 9x.

    Old obsolete codecs can be a very annoying problem when trying to play old games indeed, but sometimes the older version of the codec(s) required to play can be easily found. For Starship Titanic I simply downloaded this DLL linked on a torrent page and (after putting it together with its .INF in the game folder) it worked fine. This was on XP (SP3, above SP2 where this and several other codecs were updated causing incompatability).
     
  15. DJPlace
    OP

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    well this is odd has soon has i closed my google chorme browser it let me installed it which is werid i wonder why...
     
  16. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you see this topic when you were battling the install?
    http://forums.techguy.org/games/877759-running-starship-titanic-windows-7-a.html
     
  17. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
  18. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/233185-starship-titanic

    So re: to those who asked me, that thread describes the problems I had but I don't have the time to try again, for probably until January.
    And I think the reason I just went directly to dual booting XP is because I use 64-bit Win7 and that game seemed to have more success stories of running in XP than anything else.
     

Share This Page