Troubles with PC

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by JPdensetsu, May 1, 2009.

May 1, 2009

Troubles with PC by JPdensetsu at 3:58 PM (1,100 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. JPdensetsu
    OP

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Some of my apps such as Windows Live Messenger, Skype, µtorrent and more doesn't work on my computer and I don't even know the reason why. I already tried to scan my computer, but it didn't found any virus. When I want to comment or reply on a forum, firefox crash. So, does anyone know what can be the problem. And don't flame me, I searched around the net.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  2. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Has it just started doing this try a system restore to a date it was ok. If it has I think it might be something to do with a windows update. You won't get flamed in the Computer Systems section we all help each other around here [​IMG]

    edit: XP or Vista?
     
  3. JPdensetsu
    OP

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    I'm using Windows XP Professional (Version 2002) with Service Pack 2. I didn't updated my computer since months, but maybe without I know.
     
  4. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. JPdensetsu
    OP

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    I just tried it a few times, but it can't go back to an earlier date, I don't know why. I tried 15 February 2009, 1 January 2009...
     
  6. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think that this has something to do with the newer firefox updates.
    Seriously, I've started getting bluescreens, and at my school with windows server 2008, firefox doesn't work properly.
    Sometimes it just stops all other applications working so I have to reboot. In fact, sometimes I can't shut down so I make a bluescreen: http://psacake.com/web/jr.asp

    Try running google chrome... I hate it, and still use firefox, but if its getting that bad...
    Even try running firefox 2.0

    Hope I helped.
    There are other possible things (only one of which is a virus), so try this, and if it doesn't work, reply and I'll post the next thing ect...
     
  7. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have windows XP and the latest Firefox and it is running ok i do not think it is anything to do with Firefox.
     
  8. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seems like most of your problems are 'Internet related' (Skype/Torrent/Firefox/Messenger) - so I would think that's where the problem lies
    Could it be your firewall has updated automatically & is causing the problem ??

    I can't read German (or whatever the language in the pictures is) but I did do a search for Messenger error code 800706BE & most results point towards a Microsoft Update problem OR people using a BETA version of 'Messenger' OR there's a windows 'service' has been disabled/removed (sorry it was only a quick search - I'm not reading through 100's of pages trying to find out WHICH service they were talking about)

    > Perhaps you could try removing Microsoft updates (one-at-a-time) & seeing if the problem still exists
    > Have you Uninstalled/Reinstalled each program (& tested after each install) to see if there's a conflict between certain programs
    > Have you tried starting up in 'Safe Mode (with network)' & see if you get same problems ?? - if seemily OK , try disabling 'startups' then bringin each back one @ a time until fault(s) reappear

    You say you scanned for virus - what about Malware/Spyware ?? - use Spybot/Adaware/Malwarebyte Antimalware to see if there's anything there

    Also the thing about 'System Restore' is that is seems to 'restore' missing items but doesn't always remove existing items, in particular registry entries, so it could be a corrupt registry entry that's the problem - finding it thought is very tricky.
     
  9. JPdensetsu
    OP

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    It didn't work Antoligy, I installed Google Chrome, deleted Firefox 3. It's still doesn't work. I'm gonna try kermitfrog's tips.
     
  10. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,295
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    A friend of mine had the same problem with messenger, it would crash all the time when he tried starting it up. In the end it had something to do with his anti-virus. Once he deleted the anti-virus it would work fine, and when he re-installed the anti-virus the problem had gone.
     
  11. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
    What security softwares (antivirus, firewall, antispyware, any security/privacy related) do you use? Check if their support forums don't have questions similar to yours.
     
  12. moodswinger

    Member moodswinger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yeah, that kind of thing happened to my sister's laptop. She can't connect to the internet at all. All she did was to remove the antivirus software she was using and presto! It turned out that the antivirus software messed up some of the computer settings.
     
  13. mkoo

    Member mkoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Turkey
    I googled error code and it appears to be "The remote procedure call failed"
    There were a RPC exploit few years back but I believe it was fixed on SP2.
    Perhaps RPC service was disabled for some reason. Try Start->Run-> services.msc
    find "remote procedure call" (it will be in your language) if it's stopped start it.
     

Share This Page