Touch scrfeen not working after replacing shell

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by sweany, Nov 22, 2009.

Nov 22, 2009
  1. sweany
    OP

    Newcomer sweany Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    My gf had a pink dsl which she hardle ever played, so i bought a genuine red shell for it. Yesterday i swapped them over (including the screen borders) now when booting the bottom touch screen doesnt work at all. Anyone know what i might have done ?

    Cheers

    Sweany
     
  2. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    1.You do not get genuine shells.
    You cyt the touch wire while changing the shell.
    Same thing happend to me.
     
  3. sweany
    OP

    Newcomer sweany Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    what do you mean about the wire ??
     
  4. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    ummm, you cut it? cut through it on accident? It no longer reconises the touch cause there is no longer a connected cable to send the motion. Unless you have some solder, and soldering iron and heat shrink, its unfixible.

    Lesson learnt: "Dont change your shell, put up with it, Remember, Pink is the new black"
     
  5. WioWao

    Member WioWao GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    Denmark
    Quote from NDSL disassembly/reassembly guide, - thieves like us
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=98240

    You might want to check out the rest of the guide to see what you could have done wrong.
     
  6. zhuzhuchina

    Member zhuzhuchina GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Shanghai
    Country:
    China
    if ds lite all other functions works, but don't work touchscreen you check if the touchscreen cable is well connected, if broken just buy a touscreen, cost less than 4/5$ usually
     
  7. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    you also mentioned that you replaced the border frames.

    it's quite possible that you destroyed the touch screen when lifting off the original pink coloured frame from the touch screen (nintendo uses a very strong adhesive that bonds the frame to the top layer of the touch screen. if you accidentally separate the two layers of the touch screen, it will no longer function correctly.
     

Share This Page