Top screen ribbon torn

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Amak, May 25, 2009.

May 25, 2009

Top screen ribbon torn by Amak at 6:26 AM (1,839 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Amak
    OP

    Newcomer Amak Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I tried to replace my DS lite case...went well until I tried feeding the ribbon cable from the top screen to the bottom case. Somehow, in the process of "rolling" it to fit, I tore it:\

    I bought a replacement top screen and am wondering: should I attempt to try this again or just use some sort of service? I don't have the post count needed to access the Trading Forum, so I looked around and found http://www.fixmygadget.com/ , but I'm not sure if they're trustworthy.
     
  2. The Judge

    Newcomer The Judge Newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmm.. I can only seem to find one review for fixmygadget.com on Google.. http://www.fixya.com/repair/d141-fixmygadget
    Also, what happens when you boot the DS on? I know someone who tried to replace their case. When it boots up the DS instantly switches off. But the DS works if you boot straight to GBA.
     
  3. Amak
    OP

    Newcomer Amak Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Mine boots, sort of. I can only use the bottom portion. When I use a screwdriver to turn it on (pushing a little tab up), the green light turns on, but I don't see a thing on the bottom screen.

    Hmm...using my EZ Flash and Pokemon Ruby, the bottom screen stays blank.
     
  4. The Judge

    Newcomer The Judge Newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    In the DS options, is GBA set to the bottom screen? That should do the job.

    I did a whois query on fixmygadget.com and the registrant's address is from the US (but you can never be too sure.) If you want more info: http://whois.domaintools.com/fixmygadget.com. All I can think of is send it off to Nintendo, I'm not too sure seeing as you replaced the shall if warranty would be voided or not. If you are going to go with fixmygadget, I suggest you use Paypal seeing as they cover for you if you do not recieve an item or service.
     
  5. Amak
    OP

    Newcomer Amak Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Warranty is voided for sure. I had GBA set to bottom screen...that throws me off:|

    Thank god I have paypal, then:D
     
  6. Iceclaw

    Newcomer Iceclaw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    USA- UTC-8
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone know if this place is reliable? Or If there's anyplace similar?
     
  7. Amak
    OP

    Newcomer Amak Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Not 100% sure on that. Emailed and got a reply (pretty quick, too) that it'll cost $25 and the warranty they offer won't cover my top screen because it isn't from them...I'm using paypal and will, hopefully, remember to post here if they come through or not.
     
  8. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
  9. Amak
    OP

    Newcomer Amak Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    I bought a screen off ebay (I'm in a hurry as I'm going somewhere in 2 weeks). My new case is fine, it's the ribbon cable that tore.

    [Mentioned that in my first post...:| ]
     
  10. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    My brothers cable is loose.
    but it works
     

Share This Page