Top Screen not working on DSL after reassembly

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Briankealing, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. Briankealing
    OP

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Just disassembled and reassembled my DS Lite. I held on to the battery to the device and turned it on. The bottom screen works fine. The top screen however, doesn't and shows: 

    1) Nothing, just black. The backlight is on.

    2) a bunch of vertical stripes with various colors, rather dark.

    3) a white screen with random pixels of different colors and a horizontal black line that slowly moves from top to bottom (moves) over and over again sort of like a loading bar. 

    Other than that the device works fine. I've taken out the cable and reattached it to the motherboard multiple times, pushing it in as far as I could without hurting the cable. I've run alcohol over the gold connectors to clean it of fingerprints and I'm quite certain I'm putting the cable in properly. I haven't touched the cable for the touchscreen at all and it's been connected the entire disassembly and reassembly. The "3rd cable" I don't know what it is (as explained in the guide) but I've only touched one display cable and that's the one for the top screen. Wifi and Microphone are connected.

    I need help!
     
  2. gameboy13

    Member gameboy13 Orange and fluffy since 1995.

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    The Fur Side.
    Country:
    United States
    You probably screwed up the cable for the top screen. Something similar to what you described happens when you bend my top screen the wrong way.
     
  3. Briankealing
    OP

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    The cable isn't bent minus the fact that you have to twist it up into a tube to go through the hinge, which you have to do or else you can't get it through anyway.


    Let me try to get some pictures.
     
  4. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe its pushed away from the contacts. You could try pressing the ribbon cable down a little to check since it sounds like you haven't tried that...
     
  5. Briankealing
    OP

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the huge images it's my phone camera

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    It looks about right from what I can sort of see...You could still try my suggestion to see if it works (I can't tell if the clip is up or down...if its down, then maybe it might be a different problem).

    -edit-
    lol, I got a ninja post xD. Well, I hope you can fix it (the two times that I put that cable in, the only problem I ever had was that my contacts weren't touching well, so that is about as far as my troubleshooting goes xD).
     
  7. Briankealing
    OP

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
     I tried pushing down some and seeing if anything changed, I'm still getting white screen with black loading bar-ish horizontal line. Yes, the bar is locked in.

    It might be a screen positioning issue like what GameBoy13 said. A similar issue happened on my dad's old laptop where if the screen is positioned incorrect it doesn't display correctly. I'll disassemble the top half tomorrow.
     
  8. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Nvr Mind.


    Get a replacement is all I can say.
     
  9. Briankealing
    OP

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Turns out while I was trying to put the screen's cable through the cylinder hole I cut it a bit.

    I can't solder (to attach speakers to a replacement screen) so I think I'll buy a broken DS Lite off Ebay to use as a spare top screen+speakers. Thanks for the help guys!
     

Share This Page