Hardware Too long to boot

Tsathogga

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
10
Country
Brazil
Hi. So my 3ds had a problem about a month ago. I had a problem where I couldn't update. I had to redo the unlock, because they told me to delete a title and it was bad. I managed to get my 3ds back. Everything picks up normally, I managed to update and the store is picking up normally (it didn't start because I couldn't update the console) but now another problem has arisen. It wasn't like this before so I don't know what's going on. 3ds takes about 1 to 1.30min to give an image. It turns on normally but stays on black screen for these minutes. It's also happening that he looks pretty slow. When I go over some titles on the home screen it stops and stays for a couple of seconds until it shows the image. Another thing is that it takes a long, long time to start it's gba games. It wasn't like that, I don't know what could have been. It's not the SD, since it's the same one I've had for some time. Has anyone been through this and knows how to solve it?
 

Doux91

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
145
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
222
Country
You did not say which console do you have, even the kind of memory you are using, it seems the issue is the SD, maybe you use an adapter sd-microsd and that could be the trouble, that adapter is garbage, change it for a new one
 

Tsathogga

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
10
Country
Brazil
the screen doesn't initialize for about ten seconds, then you should get a picture. as for gba games, it's normal for them to take longer to boot up, but it shouldn't be some ungodly amount of time.
So, it wasn't like that before I redo the unlock. It started fast even when it was full of game. Now it takes more than 30 seconds to boot. Another thing, when I go in and out of the settings (from the settings screen) it takes the same amount of time.
 

Tsathogga

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
10
Country
Brazil
You did not say which console do you have, even the kind of memory you are using, it seems the issue is the SD, maybe you use an adapter sd-microsd and that could be the trouble, that adapter is garbage, change it for a new one
If everything worked before why would I change? I can even test this but it will take a while.
 

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,339
Trophies
1
XP
3,387
Country
Canada
If everything worked before why would I change? I can even test this but it will take a while.
cause digital memory and electronics are so far not made to last forever. things degrade. things start to not work. Ive seen issues where cards work fine one day and go bad the next. Rare yes. but not unheard of.
 

Tsathogga

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
10
Country
Brazil
cause digital memory and electronics are so far not made to last forever. things degrade. things start to not work. Ive seen issues where cards work fine one day and go bad the next. Rare yes. but not unheard of.
I think something went wrong with formatting the SD as windows 10 does not support FAT32. I'm going to see if that might be what's causing this problem. As for the SD it is new and as I said there was no problem with it. Can have it now? Perhaps. But I still don't have the means to test it.
 

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,339
Trophies
1
XP
3,387
Country
Canada
I think something went wrong with formatting the SD as windows 10 does not support FAT32. I'm going to see if that might be what's causing this problem. As for the SD it is new and as I said there was no problem with it. Can have it now? Perhaps. But I still don't have the means to test it.
There is the h2testw from the 3ds.guide site for testing the card. And you can also use guiformat for formatting the card.
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,764
Trophies
1
XP
2,161
Country
Canada
I think something went wrong with formatting the SD as windows 10 does not support FAT32.
If your card was not already formatted as FAT32, there is no way it would ever work with your 3DS, period.

Anyway, does your 3DS behave differently with the SD card removed? There is no point in messing with the SD card if nothing changes when the SD card is removed entirely.
 

DKAngel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
734
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Perth,Australia
Website
Visit site
XP
810
Country
I think something went wrong with formatting the SD as windows 10 does not support FAT32. I'm going to see if that might be what's causing this problem. As for the SD it is new and as I said there was no problem with it. Can have it now? Perhaps. But I still don't have the means to test it.
windows 10 does indead support fat32, ive formated a tonne of cards in win10
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tsathogga

Tsathogga

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
10
Country
Brazil
If your card was not already formatted as FAT32, there is no way it would ever work with your 3DS, period.

Anyway, does your 3DS behave differently with the SD card removed? There is no point in messing with the SD card if nothing changes when the SD card is removed entirely.
My boyfriend told me it could be that when I formatted the card I messed up his speed. My card, yes, is formatted in FAT32.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Life is a giant prick