Hacking to patch or not to patch

cokeman118

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Ok, I haven't posted much on here but I have been reading a lot and trying to learn more about the backup loaders and whatnot, but I have a question. Not sure this has been answered yet or what, but haven't really been able to find an answer. I use the latest gamma loader, but have read that 1:1 backups should work fine with it. I'm pretty new at this so I made 4 1:1 backups: mario galaxy, metroid prime 3, guitar hero world tour, guitar hero aerosmith. All worked and are playable, then I tried MK: Armageddon. Of course I get to the controller screen and then it goes black. So I searched and it said to patch the game with IOS 249, which I did and the game works flawlessly. Anyway, my question is how do you know when to patch a game?? Is it basically trial and error to see if it works 1:1, and if not try patching to IOS 249?? Can I just patch any game with IOS 249 and will the chances of it working be greater than if I didn't? I'd like to know if there is an answer because I would really hate to constantly burn 2 discs to see if I can get it working. Then you have the compatibility threads, but it seems there are a lot of contradictory statements on if a game works or not.

Also, why does a game that doesn't work 1:1 work with IOS 249?? What is this IOS doing to make it work vs. 1:1

Thanks.

sorry if these are noob questions, but it doesn't seem like I can find any answers to this.

Jedis

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Not sure man... I'm using CIOSCORP and have yet to try MK:A. I wonder if it works without modifications with the CIOSCORP? If it does, maybe it's an easier route to go...

Jizmo

Trophies
XP
Country
United States