1. waytoodeep03

    OP waytoodeep03 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    I have minecraft CIA and this is the only game that does this.

    I updated my 3ds using the new guide however when I try to play this game I get the message

    "this is new nintendo 3d software it cannot be used on this system"

    Do I need to do something else? I there a way I can play new 3ds games on the old 3ds?
     
  2. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,143
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope it's impossible to play new 3ds exclusive games on an original 3ds sorry.
     
    tfocosta and alexander1970 like this.
  3. waytoodeep03

    OP waytoodeep03 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Ughh typical nintendo. Always releasing new hardware when theirs gets hacked.

    How can i tell which 3DS do I have?
     
  4. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,814
    Country:
    United States
    Has nothing to do with hacking and because of the hacking they release new hardware the game needs more ram and horsepower then o3ds
     
  5. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,143
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well which one of these looks like yours.

    1. Original 3ds
    download.jpeg.jpg

    2. Original 3ds XL
    dsc00280.0.1411834089.jpg
    3. New 3ds

    811Ap7oY41L._AC_SL1500_.jpg

    4. New Nintendo 3ds Xl
    91yXjQkiyhL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

    5. 2DS
    20201206_233051.jpg

    6. New Nintendo 2ds

    71aR2kC8P2L._AC_SX679_.jpg
     
    Last edited by AmandaRose, Dec 6, 2020
    rimoJO, defunct32, tfocosta and 3 others like this.
  6. ScottieJD

    ScottieJD Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
  7. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,814
    Country:
    United States
    Get a New 3DS system
     
  8. SomeGamer

    SomeGamer GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    6,820
    Country:
    Hungary
    They use software emulation so you can only use Nintendo's official SNES emulator on a N3DS. However, IIRC, there are homebrew emulators that work on the O3DS as well.
     
    Last edited by SomeGamer, Feb 14, 2021
    fmkid and Stealphie like this.
  9. ScottieJD

    ScottieJD Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    what a useless troll response lol quit cluttering the internet
     
  10. Nerdtendo

    Nerdtendo Your friendly neighborhood idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,496
    Country:
    United States
    It's not a troll. It's the answer. If you wanna play the n3ds software, get a n3ds
     
  11. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16,620
    Country:
    United States
    your only two options might be retroarch, which I hear sucks on the 3ds, or the supercard dstwo through its normal menu or twilight menu. it has an snes emulator, which I haven't tried. its gba emulator is pretty good, but it can be sluggish.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    twilight menu may also have an emulator (not sure). I've only tested the gb emulator on it. it works quite well, but I have issues in the past where the system would black or red screen when exiting launcher. @Robz8 told me it's been fixed, so you may not encounter that.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  12. Edgarska

    Edgarska Conjurer of cheap tricks
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    724
    Country:
    United States
    Why do you ask questions if you don't want the answers?
     
  13. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,951
    Country:
    United States
    Atleast he is speaking the true, if you want to play N3DS titles you get a N3DS, N2DS XL or N3DS XL
     
    Shadow#1 likes this.
  14. wolf-snake

    wolf-snake GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Country:
    Mexico
    Well... it kinda isn't. Its not like a New 2DS is super expensive nowdays.
     
    Shadow#1 likes this.
  15. OkazakiTheOtaku

    OkazakiTheOtaku no thanks, I don't want a custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,401
    Country:
    Japan
    The N3DS wasn't a response to the hacking scene. In fact, the release of the N3DS led to A9LH, one of the greatest console exploits ever.
     
    Shadow#1 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - nintendo, software, cannot