Third Party Hard Drive and Controllers

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Arch Feline, Jan 8, 2009.

Jan 8, 2009
  1. Arch Feline
    OP

    Member Arch Feline GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    I would like to play Blue Dragon. I would like to play some of the XBOX games such as Ninja Gaiden and I would like to play a modernized version of Wasteland.

    There is this Arcade package for $200. Sixty Gigabyte hard drives do not cost that much and cables do not cost that much. Why are there no third party hard drives for sale? How about third party controllers?

    Now what I understand is that I want a newer XBOX 360 because the cooling system has been improved in the new ones. I understand that you cannot save your game without a hard drive and you cannot play XBOX games without a hard drive. I also understand that the disk reader that comes with the arcade package is noisy to the point of distraction.

    Surely somewhere there is an enterprising company selling hard drives that are compatible with the XBOX 360 arcade system and I do not consider MicroSoft to be an enterprising company.
     
  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,101
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No third party hdd as the official ones have a digital signature stored on them , no signature and it doesn't work. Microsoft are the only ones who can produce that , so no third party hdd. Controllers , there are a few third party ones , but not many as there is an authentication chip in them , no chip and controller doesn't work. You want to make a controller , you have to license that from Microsoft.

    Arcade come with a memory card or 256MB built in (newer machines) , so you can still save games without a hdd , no backwards compatibility though.

    Assuming it's still going, you can buy a arcade and then use the memory upgrade program on xbox.com and get a cheap refurbished 20GB hdd (can't remember exact price) , or if you are up for a little messing around , you can make a western digital scorpio drive work on a 360 , but as you'll have an arcade you'll either have to mount it internally or try to get hold of the case that official ones come in.
     
  3. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I would suggest the www.xboxstorageupgrade.com website as it will give you and 20GB hard drive and 3 months xbox live access for $30.
     
  4. kokiri_link

    Member kokiri_link GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Foxle

    Member Foxle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    United States
    You can take a few specific models of Western Digital hard drives and flash them with a new firmware so the 360 will read them. However, you've got to have the 360's hard drive shell so the connectors all match up. The Deal Extreme hard drives are using this hack, only they just do it for you.
     
  6. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Lol I was wondering why that 120gb drive was that cheap. Kool [​IMG]
     
  7. Tarantula

    Newcomer Tarantula Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Country:
    Indonesia
    there is an alternative way
    you can modification your hdd
    but it is a bit difficult
    use WDC Scorpio HD ...
     
  8. fear

    Newcomer fear Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Liechtenstein
    You can also save a lot of time and nerv and just buy a genuine MS 120GB HDD for arround € 100. WTF ^^
     
  9. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    That's too steep. MS only charges that high because they need profit. They lose money for every 360 sold.
     
  10. Arch Feline
    OP

    Member Arch Feline GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    About the Deal Xtreme hdd

    #1 There is speculation that the drives repeat digital signatures and that you will get banned if someone with the same signature as yours goes live the same time that you do. Also your console will get banned too.


    #2 They flash the drives. Does this mean that the drives will play back ups? Deal Xtreme does not say.



    ***** I am thinking that the XBOX 360 will come down in price but just my luck that Obama will kick start the economy and it won't.
     
  11. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've heard of a few people saying they where banned for using the harddrive hack.

    Not to mention you need a specific type of WD harddrive AND you need a copy of another drives security sector to flash with.

    Thing is people don't tend to just hand this stuff over, also if you bought a 120GB WD drive you would need to get a 120gb security sector. If you used a 20gb or 60gb security sector thats the maximum drive size you can use. You can't use beyond the security sector size you have.


    With regards to your 2nd question: They flash it with a security sector like I said above, this does NOT mean you can play backups. Think about it, why would flashing a storage device give you the ability to read pirated dvd-r's? You need to flash your dvd drive for that.

    Just bite the bullet and buy a genuine harddrive, its not worth the hassle doing it on the cheap.
     
  12. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    or be smart about it and learn how to hack it. below is an ebay link and within the link seller already has a tutorial link

    This is the drive model you need.
    eBay link
     
  13. Arch Feline
    OP

    Member Arch Feline GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    With regard to my first question I am asking about the claims that digital signatures are repeated on those drives. Does anyone know?


    In regard to my second, it makes sense that you would need to flash the DVD drive to read backups and I confess it was a dumb question to ask.
     
  14. bubbleboy

    Member bubbleboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    United States
    this will show you how to use a hacked western digital drive and install it in an xbox360 arcade WITHOUT a hdd shell. some simple soldering required (read from page 10):

    hxxp://au.geocities.com/g12345567/Xbox-360-Hard-Drive.pdf

    this is a basic guide, including where to obtain the signature:

    hxxp://www.pcworld.com/article/150970/upgrade_your_xbox_360s_hard_drive_on_the_cheap.html
     
  15. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    The site is down! Just when I was about to use it [​IMG] !
     
  16. LordWill072284

    Member LordWill072284 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    Country:
    Canada
    it's not down - says act now before jan31, so looks like they shut it down - no more [​IMG] bad for ppl that need nxe
     
  17. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Damn it.... I was about to do it [​IMG] !
     
  18. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably best to look up the live starter kit instead, true its more expensive but it isn't so bad when you think about it. 3 months live, headset, 60gb HD and some fancy network cable.
     

Share This Page