1. antiswirl

    antiswirl Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    :lol: wow, so much space ^^
    I'll try a 128GB SD Card and then tell if it's working
     
  2. 7Robins

    7Robins Bob is watching you.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    561
    Country:
    United States
    I'd be careful, I think that might be too high of capacity for it to work. I'd get something slightly lower. :D

    Also, what all do you plan to do on vWii? If you want to play Wii ISOs, you won't be able to through that SD card.
     
  3. antiswirl

    antiswirl Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    I want to use the SD Card in both vWii and Wii U mode.
    In vWii mode for Homebrew (Wii and GC backups are stored on a 500GB USB Disk)
    In Wii U mode for Homebrew and Loadiine (Wii U backups need to be on the SD Card)
     
    CJB100 likes this.
  4. 7Robins

    7Robins Bob is watching you.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    561
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, sounds good :lol:
     
    CJB100 likes this.
  5. CJB100

    OP CJB100 Programmer, Media Producer, Hardware Repair
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Country:
    United States
    Please lemme know if it works. I don't see why it shouldn't, but aside from one person claiming to have gotten a 256GB to work, I've never seen anyone use higher than a 64GB.
     
    BothyBhoy likes this.
  6. raphzthename

    raphzthename Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Might be a really stupid question, but how do we actually copy games onto our USB HD after formatting to FAT32? I used the BOOTICEx86 utility as suggested, but afterwards, my Windows 7 OS can't recognize the drive as a usable format (hence the prompt to format it). If I choose not to format it, I can't seem to do anything with the drive, which means I can't copy any games onto the drive.
     
  7. misterdarvus

    misterdarvus GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I see that there's a homebrew program that can unhide the HDD, what it is?
     
  8. CJB100

    OP CJB100 Programmer, Media Producer, Hardware Repair
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Country:
    United States
    Did you make certain your settings on the format screen matched those in the screenshot? There's no reason Windows 7 shouldn't recognize the drive.
     
    raphzthename likes this.
  9. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,155
    Country:
    France
    FAT32 should work on all plateform and OS.
    I don't think bootice is used to format the partition, but to manipulate the partition table (MBR).
    If you messed with the MBR you lose your partition definition, you might want to fix it, or use your windows hdd manager to partition and format to FAT32.

    But before doing anything to your drive, you should ask more help and let other users know what you currently have and we will find the best thing to do.

    edit : I see that's the tool suggested on the guide. I don't know that tool so I can't say anything about it.
    I don't know why partition 1-3 are skipped and only partition 4 is set. Better use partition 1 as some homebrew use the first one. (DM/DML)

    Look in the Ustealth official thread, at the bottom of the first post there are links to compatible homebrew, and one of them is the Ustealth state switcher.
     
  10. raphzthename

    raphzthename Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I double checked my settings and it matches.
    [​IMG]

    Afterwards, there is a prompt:
    [​IMG]

    Strange, because I was able to format my SD card to FAT32 and have Windows recognize it successfully (no format prompt). Perhaps there's something strange happening while formatting with Bootice.

    Yup, that's my understanding as well. I currently have a 3TB WD My Passport Ultra. I'll play around with it and try formatting to FAT32 through the command-line while I wait for some suggestions. Appreciate the help.
     
  11. CJB100

    OP CJB100 Programmer, Media Producer, Hardware Repair
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Country:
    United States
    Whe
    When exactly do you see the prompt? Directly after the bootice screen or when you go to the drive on your computer after formatting with bootice?

    Iirc, you can't use MBR with drives bigger than 2TB. Try setting it to GUID partition table (GPT) and see if it works correctly. If you update Nintendont and USB Loader GX to their most recent versions per the guide, they recently added GPT support.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    That's not necessarily partition 4. It can divide in up to 4 partitions, but if you put the first 3 as 0 bytes big, the fourth partition becomes the first and only partition. The reason I set it up this way is because spot four is auto calculated by bootice to be however big the full disk size minus the size of the other partitions is. I have verified that this setup does work and sets up one single partition, formats to fat32, and sets the drive to MBR all in one fell swoop, it's why I added it to the guide.
     
    Last edited by CJB100, Jun 27, 2016
    raphzthename likes this.
  12. raphzthename

    raphzthename Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    After formatting with Bootice. I'm midway through formatting through the cmd prompt, so if that doesn't work then I'll try your tip about GPT. Thanks for the heads up about the Nintendont and USB Loader GX support. I'll report back shortly.
     
    CJB100 likes this.
  13. CJB100

    OP CJB100 Programmer, Media Producer, Hardware Repair
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Country:
    United States
    Let me know if that works for you, I am glad to assist if it does not. But I think command prompt will automatically format to GPT, so it should work for you either way.
     
    raphzthename likes this.
  14. Ratatapa

    Ratatapa GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Country:
    Canada
    Probably answered but here we go, I followed afaik every steps on this guide, I have the Batman game, copied to the save from my SD to my wii and loaded the save game, followed the inscruction but when i select the character on the last row game says SD card not found, WIIgecko not found hanging

    What can i do?
     
  15. Ratatapa

    Ratatapa GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Country:
    Canada
  16. Kirtai

    Kirtai GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    You need a standard SD card, not a SDHC or higher one for the initial hack.
     
    CJB100 likes this.
  17. Ratatapa

    Ratatapa GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Country:
    Canada
    For up to what step? cuz my card was detected by the WII when i coped the save :(
     
  18. Kirtai

    Kirtai GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Just the step where you load the homebrew channel.
     
  19. Ratatapa

    Ratatapa GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Country:
    Canada
    Goddamn, don't wanna buy a normal SD card for like 3 minutes
     
  20. CJB100

    OP CJB100 Programmer, Media Producer, Hardware Repair
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    489
    Country:
    United States
    I know it sucks, but they are like $10 after shipping. And a proper USB drive is like $40. Together that's the price of a game. Just forego a game next time you're gonna buy one and you get the whole Wii, GameCube, NES, SNES, Genesis, GBA and Turbo-Grafx library.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Definitive, Hacking, Guide