Tesla - The Nintendo Switch Overlay Menu

fhwyjbd.png

Hey all.
I'd like to introduce to you, Tesla: My answer to the growing need for proper ingame front ends for sysmodules.


What is this?

  • Tesla consists of three individual parts. nx-ovlloader, the Tesla menu and libtesla.
    • nx-ovlloader is basically nx-hbloader ported to run as a sysmodule. It runs in the background and loads overlay NROs (.ovl files) given to it.
    • Tesla Menu is the equivalent to the hbmenu. It's the initial thing loaded by nx-ovlloader and acts as a hub for you to select all other overlays.
    • libtesla is where it becomes interesting for developers. It's an easy to use library that handles layer creation, UI drawing and all the overlay UX. It makes it very easy to create a new overlay for anything
  • A frontend for sysmodules that before required either a homebrew or a config file to change settings or used sounds or the LED to give the user feedback.

What is this not?

  • A tool that lets you create overlays that are always visible. Overlays can get unloaded way to easily for this.
  • An excuse to port absolutely everything to a overlay. Nobody's going to need a title manager overlay. If you consider making a overlay, keep it simple. You don't have a whole lot of memory to work with.


How do I use this?

First of all, download the latest release of nx-ovlloader and the Tesla Menu from the GitHub Release page and extract it onto your SD card.
After a reboot, hold down L and DPad Down and push on the right joy stick to bring up Tesla at any time. Navigation works as you imagine it.
Similar to normal homebrews, you place your .ovl files in the /switch/.overlays folder on your SD card.


Screenshots

W8yN2M6.jpg

fdfWAXw.jpg


Notice

Make sure to use the latest Atmosphere release when trying this as older versions ( as the one SX OS uses too ) probably won't have enough memory available for this to run. Overlays do take a lot of space so nx-ovlloader reserves 6MB. 2MB for framebuffers and around 4MB for overlay developers to use in their overlays.


GitHub

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader
Tesla Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu


For Developers

libtesla: https://github.com/WerWolv/libtesla
Tesla build template: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Template


Download

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader/releases/latest
Tesla-Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu/releases/latest
EdiZon Overlay: http://werwolv.net/downloads/EdiZonOverlay.zip ( As a little preview for what this is capable of and what EdiZon 4.0.0 will have even more of soon :) )

Special thank especially to averne without him, this would not have been possible!


Obligatory Donation links

GitHub Sponsors https://github.com/sponsors/WerWolv
PayPal https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=KP7XRJAND9KWU&source=url
Patreon https://www.patreon.com/werwolv



Thanks a lot and have fun using and extending it :)
 
Last edited by WerWolv,

MagnesG

GBAtemp Lurker
Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
432
Trophies
0
XP
1,963
Country
United States
After I updated everything it didnt work anymore.
I press left and dpad down and right stick but nothing shows up:
Everything were fine before the update to 10.0.0

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

After I updated everything it isnt working anymore.
Updated to 10.0.0 and load all new ovl files, deleted the old files.
When I press L and dpad down and right stick it wont show up
Everybody else had it working perfectly so maybe the problem is on your side? Maybe crosscheck all the files yourself one by one? Did you delete 010000000007E51A folder before or after?
 

awankelam

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 19, 2019
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
113
Country
Indonesia
Can I change config button? If can, how? Because my 3rd party controller don't have analog button & my joycon are broken already
 

s099064146

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 17, 2020
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
44
Country
Taiwan
I'ts because you have too much cheats files on the game folder id in "contents" (it's one of the problem i see)
atmosphere/contents/01006F8002326000/cheats/
You should try it, can't really confirm for now.

Maybe try using nx mtp for direct usb transfer? Use the one with purple icon.
Thank you for both of you to give me such a great advice.
I really appreciate that since I am able to share cute furniture with my favorite girl.
I just cannot imagine that I will put too many codes in the cheat file.
 

enguyen

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
62
Country
United States
i keep on getting error code:2168-0002 (0x4a8) in animal crossing
Program: 420000000007E51A
can anybody help?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I keep on getting error code: 2168-0002 (0x4a8), Program: 420000000007E51A In Animal crosssing
can anybody please help me?

Figured what is going on and it is because all the cheat is on at once but i dont know how to turn if off. Can anybody help me?
 
Last edited by enguyen,

s099064146

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 17, 2020
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
44
Country
Taiwan
i keep on getting error code:2168-0002 (0x4a8) in animal crossing
Program: 420000000007E51A
can anybody help?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I keep on getting error code: 2168-0002 (0x4a8), Program: 420000000007E51A In Animal crosssing
can anybody please help me?

Figured what is going on and it is because all the cheat is on at once but i dont know how to turn if off. Can anybody help me?

1. Delete the codes or merge them together to reduce the specific rows.

Please take a reference as mine in the attachment.
(It is very interesting, if you separate the inventory item, like clay, Iron Ore, Gold Ore, ...etc. You will definitely get the error. However, if you merge them together, they will work like a charm.)

2. To set the default for turning cheats off, please open the file
/atmosphere/system_settings.ini
and change the setting
from
dmnt_cheats_enabled_by_default = u8!0x1
to
dmnt_cheats_enabled_by_default = u8!0x0

Then, the cheat will be turned off in advance.
And then, enjoy your journey.
 

Attachments

  • A31F81D41E1039C5.txt
    4.6 KB · Views: 158
Last edited by s099064146,

Solotato

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
126
Country
United States
The menu no longer shows up for me in-apps, but it still takes inputs. Works totally fine in the main menu though. Any advice?
 

Solotato

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
126
Country
United States
Everybody else had it working perfectly so maybe the problem is on your side? Maybe crosscheck all the files yourself one by one? Did you delete 010000000007E51A folder before or after?
It works fine in handheld for me, but it doesn't display in docked mode anymore. It still takes inputs, but there are no visuals. Updated everything and deleted the 01-T351A folder as asked.
 

KingRaijun

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 18, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
59
Country
Philippines
After I updated everything it didnt work anymore.
I press left and dpad down and right stick but nothing shows up:
Everything were fine before the update to 10.0.0

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

After I updated everything it isnt working anymore.
Updated to 10.0.0 and load all new ovl files, deleted the old files.
When I press L and dpad down and right stick it wont show up

same here..Overlay doesn't show up
 

aostang

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
42
Trophies
0
XP
152
Country
United States
Can confirm the same with all 3 updated to latest. Worked fine before on 9.2, now on 10.0 crashes for Animal Crossing and Pokemon Shield (bunch of cheats), works fine for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon (only a few cheats). I don't want to mess around with my cheat files and don't need them for those games at the moment, so I'll just wait for a fix from where ever the problem is. This is just to confirm I see the same crash as others when a bunch of codes are entered for a game (not a problem previously).
 
Last edited by aostang,

KingRaijun

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 18, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
59
Country
Philippines
Everybody else had it working perfectly so maybe the problem is on your side? Maybe crosscheck all the files yourself one by one? Did you delete 010000000007E51A folder before or after?

Thank you for this! I made the Overlay work..it is now showing for ACNH..

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

1. Delete the codes or merge them together to reduce the specific rows.

Please take a reference as mine in the attachment.
(It is very interesting, if you separate the inventory item, like clay, Iron Ore, Gold Ore, ...etc. You will definitely get the error. However, if you merge them together, they will work like a charm.)

2. To set the default for turning cheats off, please open the file
/atmosphere/system_settings.ini
and change the setting
from
dmnt_cheats_enabled_by_default = u8!0x1
to
dmnt_cheats_enabled_by_default = u8!0x0

Then, the cheat will be turned off in advance.
And then, enjoy your journey.

I think it should be in /atmosphere/config/system_settings.ini
 

aostang

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
42
Trophies
0
XP
152
Country
United States
I can confirm that the 1.0.5 hotfix for nx-ovlloader posted a few hours ago fixes the crash when there are a lot of cheats for a particular game.
 

s099064146

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 17, 2020
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
44
Country
Taiwan
I think it should be in /atmosphere/config/system_settings.ini

Thank you for pointing this out.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Has anyone found a solution to Ovelay crashing? :(
For mine, just delete some of the cheat codes in the text file.
Or you can merge several items under one title (I mean like Clay, Gold Ore, Iron Ore become just item_1 something like that.).
 
  • Like
Reactions: putti

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I guess Ancientboi would be Peter
    +2
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Loooooool :rofl2:
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    So true
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @K3Nv2 Snow Day is pretty fun. My only bitch would be the camera controls, when you move around, say down, you have to move the right stick left or right to get camera to turn and get your view, other than that I like it so far.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    From what people say pvp isn't even worth it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I just been playing offline, and they give you a few bots here n there on your team to help battle. I don't think it's as funny as the other games tho, more battle oriented than humor, which kinda sucks, but I'm still early in it
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, doesnt the game have a campaign mode?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yea, and co-op, but you can also start a pvp session and battle just with friends. You get special skill cards (powers) the more you play. And higher value cards, but you can only enable so many cards at a time.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    If you can find enough for it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Toilet paper is considered the money, you collect and buy stuff with TP, kinda funny. Graphics are def better than the other games tho, I think they used Unity 5 engine.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Look if I zoom in enough I can see the herpes!!!
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    In fact I'm gonna go make a drink, roll a fatty n play some, good night to all!
    +2
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I bet most people at the time still watched it in black and white
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, Many of them did before colour television was common.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Likely because black and white TV was in-expensive.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It certainly wasn't inexpensive it cost the same as a new car back then
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    How much did a 1965 color TV cost?

    For example, a 21-inch (diagonal) GE color television in 1965 had an advertised price of $499, which is equal to $4,724 in today's dollars, according to the federal government's inflation calculator.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @K3Nv2, take into consideration how economy was back then
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah that's why they listed inflation rates
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Sorry didnt read that part
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    @LeoTCK don't worry i knew he was joking
    +1
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: @LeoTCK don't worry i knew he was joking +1