Temporary Wii-Hack

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Luna, Aug 10, 2011.

Aug 10, 2011

Temporary Wii-Hack by Luna at 4:45 PM (1,463 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Luna
    OP

    Member Luna GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    South Africa
    Can I softmod my Wii, then install the .WAD files I want and then do a recovery?
     
  2. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what do you mean by recovery?
     
  3. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wat wil je daar mee bereiken?

    What is the purpose of that?
     
  4. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No you can't. To install wads, you have to have a cIOS, so it's not something you can do real quick.
    I assume this is because you want to install a wiiware/virtualconsole thingie, but youre not allowed to softmod the wii? Best thing you could do is just install everything like you normally do (hackmii installer etc.), install the wads, and then just remove the homebrew channel from the wii.
     
  5. LocoRoco

    Member LocoRoco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    Australia
    bannerbomb->wii mod->install wad
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I've never had to actually hide a softmod before, but I've given it some thought because my old office building had a game room with a wii, and I came up with a pretty simple gameplan to have a hidden usb-loader... unfortunately I was so busy with work that I never even saw the game room but only heard of its existence, so I never had a chance to execute my plan.

    Softmod the Wii like normal (by normal I mean by using ModMii), then install a usb-loader forwarder dol as a priiloader file and have it set to load the installed file at startup. Then delete any channels that indicate the Wii's been softmodded (ie. homebrew channel, usb-loader forwarder channel, etc.). Now when as SD Card or hard drive with a usb-loader saved on it is inserted in the Wii when it powers up, it will load the usb-loader... but when it isn't found then the wii starts up like normal and there is no way for the average joe to know its been softmodded. Without resoftmodding, the only way to know it's been softmodded already is by holding reset as the wii is powering on to access priiloader, but the type of people who don't want their Wii's modified generally won't know things like that anyways.


    PS. wiimod has an ahbprot enabled wad manager, so u don't need to install a cIOS to install wads
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    The problem with all those ahbprot apps is that they need to be started with ahbprot. Does any exploit do that? You need either HBC or a cIOS to install trucha signed or not signed WADs, correct me if i'm wrong. To install signed WADs, you only need to run WAD Manager somehow.
     
  8. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    You're correct, none of the exploits launch with ahbprot rights; however you forgot to mention the last way to install WADs (without the HBC or a cIOS)... and that is using cboot2
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes i forgot about that. But for that you need either BootMii boot2 or BootMii IOS. Hmm, if that Wii is BootMii boot2 capable, this might be the way to go, as far as i know BootMii boot2 can be uninstalled without a trace. BootMii IOS however is some kind of cIOS.
     
  10. Luna
    OP

    Member Luna GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    South Africa
    Yep ^^.

    So HackMii Installer on SDHC card (One I also use for those Flascards) With an SD Adapter (Like the flascard but then the excactly like a SD Card. Where I can plug in that little card). Put HackMii installer in it then the move those .WAD files to the Wii. Finally remove the HB Channel?

    BTW all other post above here:

    I have no idea what your all talking bout [​IMG] Lots of unexplained terms to me =3.
     
  11. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea, but its impossible to run the latest hackmii installer without also BootMii @ IOS (it's installed silently in the background before the first menu appears). Older versions of the installer (v0.6 and below) won't automatically install bootmii @ IOS, but it also won't work on 4.3 SMs.

    @Luna, what do you want to accomplish? Be specif... keeping in mind that most people here are not going to help you pirate
     
  12. Luna
    OP

    Member Luna GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    South Africa
    That I do not need help with ;d.

    BTW I had 2 Wii's but 1 broken and send in for repairs but I got a brand new one however those stuff I bough from Wii-Shop wasnt on there so I want to Hack it back ;D.

    I just need to Hack it the easiest way, then for it only to install those games I bought on my former Wii.

    Also after I managed to install those games I want to remove the hack completely. I dont even want to run it in the background.
     
  13. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    An installed cIOS doesn't run in the backgound, it's just there on your nand and only started when something specifically calls it. Why do you want to remove the hacks? If you install one WAD, nintendo can see that it is not a valid content, if that's what you are concerned about.
     
  14. Luna
    OP

    Member Luna GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    South Africa
    Well I bought that content before so In my eyes it should be valid.
    I tried to get it directly from nintendo themselves after I found out that my games were gone.

    They told me that they can't realy do anything anymore.
     

Share This Page