Technical Difficulties...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by kev3458, Feb 10, 2008.

Feb 10, 2008

Technical Difficulties... by kev3458 at 12:51 AM (1,145 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. kev3458
    OP

    Member kev3458 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Canada
    So I brought my Wii over to a friend's house to play Brawl (the DVD9 version). However, I made a fatal mistake. I had a D2CKey just modded in my NTSC-U Wii, and didn't know it couldn't play. I brought the DVD5 version just in case

    I hooked it up, and put the DVD9 version in, but my friends put the Wii on sideways, not vertical on the stand. I had always used vertical and found that some disks I tried couldn't be read in sideway mode. I put it in, the DVD9 loaded, and I pressed start. There was a disk error, so I tried the DVD5 version, which worked the last day.

    However, it also couldn't read. I tried originals, putting it vertically, and tried booting straight from the power (turning it off, putting disk in). Nothing works. So have I messed up my Wii? Or is the chip loose or something?
     
  2. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt you have bricked your wii just by turning it on its side, that is nonsense. The chip is most definitely loose, although that doesn't explain why commercial DVDs couldn't be read. Just open it up really quick and check each solder point and maybe add a drop of solder on each connection to be sure.
     
  3. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    You can hear it.

    Put in a backup of a game. Watch how it goes. If it begins to spin REALLY fast then the chip is working. If it doesn't spin up the chip isn't working [​IMG]
     
  4. kev3458
    OP

    Member kev3458 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for your replies, I got home and now it works! Dunno why it doesn't work at my friend's house though...:S
     
  5. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe your friend works for nintendo and has anti modchip detection in his power brick and power chord?
     
  6. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Maybe some shaking made the Modchip work?
     

Share This Page