Systemmenu 4.0 Updateblocker

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mousex, Mar 29, 2009.

Mar 29, 2009

Systemmenu 4.0 Updateblocker by mousex at 1:53 PM (5,401 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. mousex
    OP

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    Here is a short howto that should explain how to get the permanent Update blocking and other patches into the Systemmenu until Preloader for 4.0 comes out.

    1. Get the RVL-WiiSystemmenu-NUS-v418.wad and the patches you want
    I choosed the Updateblocker patch in this example:
    Code:
    [UPDATE CHECK]
    version=418
    offset=0x8137EE54
    value=0x60000000
    offset=0x8137EE58
    value=0x60000000
    2. Unpack it with wwunpacker or any other wad extraction tool
    3. Open the 00000008.app from the 0000000100000002 folder in a Hex editor (I used xvi)
    4. Open Windows calculator set it to Advanced mode and tick "Hex"
    5. Enter the first offset and subtract 8132FAE0 (it should show 4F374 then)
    6. Go into your Hexeditor and jump to the Hex address 4F374, it should show the 4 Bytes 2C 03 00 00 there.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Overwrite them with the value which belongs to the offset (60 00 00 00 in this case)
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for the second offset and value (address: 4F378 (it's right after the first offset in this case), original value: 40 82 00 02, overwrite with: 60 00 00 00) and any other patch you want to use.
    8. Save the file
    9. Drag the 0000000100000002 folder onto _wwpacker-FreeTheBug.bat
    10. Install the new created 0000000100000002 [Patched][FreeTheBug].wad with Wad installer
    11. Enjoy your Systemmenu RegionFree, without Backgroundmusic and without Update messages.

    If any steps are unclear for you, than don't do it. This is just a help for people who have some experience with unpacking and packing WADs. You can brick your Wii if you do something wrong in the WAD process or if you patch in the wrong places.
    It worked for me, I can noe use cioscorp and no game shows the update message but I can't guarantee that it works for you.
    I don't know which App file you have to chnage on US 4.0 Wiis neither do I know any patches for them, that's why this guide is PAL only.

    EDIT: Some optical changes, aded warning at the end.

    Don't request the finished file here!!!
    It's illegal to share it, that's why I made this howto!!!
     


  2. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Really awesome job! Thank you! [​IMG]

    Wonderful...
     
  3. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Thanks for this even though I'm not going to take the risk.
     
  4. mousex
    OP

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't even know if it would work when I tested it, that was a risk [​IMG]
    If you use the right tools this is as risky as installing a normal Sysmenu/upgrading [​IMG]
     
  5. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    thanks for this hack but I will not use this for now and I'll keep my 3.2E with preloader
     
  6. aquilino

    Member aquilino GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    ESPAÑA // TARRAGONA
    Country:
    Spain
    add all ofsset and values for PAL
    Code:
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ "region free wii -1/2"
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ offset=0x4DC04,
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x38, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x38, 0x00, 0x00, 0x01
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ "region free wii -2/2"
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂoffset=0x4F9D4,
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x38, 0x60, 0x00, 0x00
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x38, 0x60, 0x00, 0x01
    ÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ"region free channels -1/2"
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂoffset=0x1FDB9C,
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x38, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x38, 0x00, 0x00, 0x01
    ÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ"region free channels -2/2"
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂoffset=0x86610,
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x40, 0x82, 0x00, 0x28
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x48, 0x00, 0x00, 0x28
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ"check update -1/2"
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂoffset=0x4F374,
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x2C, 0x03, 0x00, 0x00
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x60, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00 
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ"check update -2/2"
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂoffset=0x4F378,
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x40, 0x82, 0x00, 0x20
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x60, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00 
    ÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ"no menu bg music"
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂoffset=0x3B290,
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x94, 0x21, 0xFF, 0xF0
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x4E, 0x80, 0x00, 0x20
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ"No health check"
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂoffset=0x8D1DC,
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x41, 0x81, 0x00, 0x10 
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x48, 0x00, 0x00, 0x34ÂÂ 
    ÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ"Move Disc Channel"
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂoffset=0x7F9A4,
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x41, 0x82, 0x01, 0x20 
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x60, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
    please send me dol sysmenu4.0 NTSC for calculate offsets

    title/0000001/0000002/content/00000073.app

    thanks
     
  7. mousex
    OP

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the healthscreen offset [​IMG]
     
  8. aquilino

    Member aquilino GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    ESPAÑA // TARRAGONA
    Country:
    Spain
    add offset ios reload 249

    Code:
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ "IOS Reload -1/2"
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂoffset=0x4BDE8,
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x7F, 0x06, 0xC3, 0x78
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x3B, 0x20, 0x00, 0x01
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ "IOS Reload -2/2"
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂoffset=0x4BDEC,
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x7F, 0x25, 0xCB, 0x78
    
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ0x3B, 0x00, 0x00, 0xF9
     
  9. micahkanchan

    Member micahkanchan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    Canada
    Any chance someone could make this for NTSC-U Wii's? It'd be awesome. SRSLY.
     
  10. mousex
    OP

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    Send aquilino the file he needs and I'm sure he will port the patches.
     
  11. tomazzzi

    Member tomazzzi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    I really can t understand why games ask us to upgrade when we are already on 4.0 sys menu !!

    Anyone can explain please ??

    I just upgraded to 4.0 & now i can t even play my original games !! What s the fuck ??? Every games asks me to update !!
     
  12. mousex
    OP

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    The games want to update if you installed cioscorp or used ISOdownggrader. They install old IOSes with small version numbers, if a game has even just one IOS with a higher number on the disc the Wii wnats to update. that's why I patched mine because I couldn't even play original Mario Kart or Brawl.
     
  13. aquilino

    Member aquilino GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    ESPAÑA // TARRAGONA
    Country:
    Spain
    I already have the file

    to night to get an app patched the sysmenu 4.0 permanent type starfall ok

    you can install or uninstall the patches

    for pal and ntsc usa

    thanks
     
  14. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    can somebody pm me the 4.0 wad with patches included? accept the no bgm patch and the skip healthscreenpatch... those i don't use...
     
  15. tomazzzi

    Member tomazzzi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    You rock aquililno, i can t wait for your patch ! I m already using the temporary one form you thanks for it !

    Thanks for your answer mousex, now i understand. I reinstalled Cioscorp v2 after updating to 4.0, that s why ...

    Anyway with aquilino patch everything will be perfect ! [​IMG]
     
  16. mousex
    OP

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    No. Nobody can. Because everyone want's to use different patches and nobody has the time to make 20 different versions for everyone. And it would also be illegal to schare the file. That's why I made the howto.
     
  17. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i thought maybe somebody made the same [​IMG] but anyone know where to find the 4.0 wad file? as to my knowledge it isn't released on a game yet...
     
  18. mousex
    OP

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    You can search 4shared for it or google. But it's against the rules to help you further.
     
  19. Linuks

    Member Linuks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    An app which does this automatically should be cool!
     
  20. mousex
    OP

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    As I understood aquilino is working on it
     

Share This Page