Gaming System update with Zelda questions

lenox

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
41
Country
United States
1. Is it confirmed there is a system update in Zelda BotW? If not, when's the soonest we can know?
2. Has anyone out there been able to play Zelda yet? Considering it seems like the necessary files have already been leaked?
3. How soon did it take previous system updates to have spoofs available?

4. How likely is it that BotW on launch will be able to run on a lower system firmware (even if its the retail disc)?

Basically I REALLY want to play Zelda and I'm going to buy it at launch, but I'm rolling the dice whether it will make my WiiU permanently unmoddable or not.
 

lenox

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
41
Country
United States
The tik was released, so anyone with CFW can play Zelda now.

I thought just the European version was released of that. Or is there just one tik for everything? Sorry, I'm extremely new to this.

Also, does me having the retail version of the game make this process easier, or is that tik file the main component needed regardless if it's a legit copy or loaded from something?
 

iwabo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
155
Trophies
0
XP
1,318
Country
Germany
It's not a system update (despite saying that in the notification you get when launching the game) it's a simple patch for the game. And yes, if you have the game + tik as well as the patch you can play it. Many people are doing so.
 
  • Like
Reactions: naddel81

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,000
Trophies
2
XP
16,022
Country
United States
I thought just the European version was released of that. Or is there just one tik for everything? Sorry, I'm extremely new to this.

Also, does me having the retail version of the game make this process easier, or is that tik file the main component needed regardless if it's a legit copy or loaded from something?
The tik is for the European version, but there's nothing stopping you from playing it.
 

lenox

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
41
Country
United States
It's not a system update (despite saying that in the notification you get when launching the game) it's a simple patch for the game. And yes, if you have the game + tik as well as the patch you can play it. Many people are doing so.

Whoa, wait a sec. So, I could be playing BotW right now????? And other people are playing atm too??

Also, does this mean that if I have the retail version, I wouldn't even need any other files to play?

So here's what I'm thinking. I either need:

1) the ripped game (that would have the game patch update already within it), the tik file, a way to load it
or
2) the retail game

to play BotW on my 5.5 console. Is that correct?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,000
Trophies
2
XP
16,022
Country
United States
All you need is the game, tik, and update, yeah. If you're using Haxchi/CBHC or Mocha CFW, you can be playing right now.
 

[Truth]

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
906
Trophies
0
Location
Mushroom Kingdom
XP
1,514
Country
Germany
1. Is it confirmed there is a system update in Zelda BotW? If not, when's the soonest we can know?
2. Has anyone out there been able to play Zelda yet? Considering it seems like the necessary files have already been leaked?
3. How soon did it take previous system updates to have spoofs available?

4. How likely is it that BotW on launch will be able to run on a lower system firmware (even if its the retail disc)?

Basically I REALLY want to play Zelda and I'm going to buy it at launch, but I'm rolling the dice whether it will make my WiiU permanently unmoddable or not.
1. It didn´t prompt an update for me (EUR 5.5.1)
2. Yes, it works fine.
3. I don´t know.
4. I don´t know.
 

lenox

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
41
Country
United States

YourHero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
1,025
Trophies
0
XP
502
Country
United States
Let me ask. It's probably dumb but oh well. I always need to be in cfw to play because it's out of region right?
 

eyeball226

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
157
Trophies
0
XP
373
Country
Final questions. If I play off of CFW, and want to be able to play Mario Maker online with a legit copy, is that still possible? Or do I have to spoof being able to play online?

Just play Mario Maker from a clean boot, only run the CFW when you need to. Launching Mocha doesn't install anything to the best of my knowledge.
 

lenox

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
41
Country
United States
So now that I'm in a little deeper into this, some more questions:

1) What do I do with a title file?
2) The game seems to be in just one folder, no subfolders. A lot of .app and .h3 files. Can I just put this in the "games" folder in my SD Card? Or is there a preloading thing I need to do?
 
Last edited by lenox,

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,000
Trophies
2
XP
16,022
Country
United States
Final questions. If I play off of CFW, and want to be able to play Mario Maker online with a legit copy, is that still possible? Or do I have to spoof being able to play online?
I don't see why you wouldn't be able to play online with Mario Maker, legit or otherwise.

Let me ask. It's probably dumb but oh well. I always need to be in cfw to play because it's out of region right?
That is correct.

So now that I'm in a little deeper into this, some more questions:

1) What do I do with a title file?
2) The game seems to be in just one folder, no subfolders. A lot of .app and .h3 files. Can I just put this in the "games" folder in my SD Card? Or is there a preloading thing I need to do?
The tik goes into the game folder titled "title.tik"

The folder of game files goes into the "install" folder for installation.
 

KiiWii

Editorial Team
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
12,807
Trophies
2
Website
defaultdnb.github.io
XP
15,145
Country
United Kingdom
Game doesn't work through loadiine at all (unpatched or updated), works fine through USB, requires update installed on USB, and update is fake signed so requires haxchifw or sig patched sysnand to play.
 

poptartth2nd

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2017
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
56
Country
United States
M
Game doesn't work through loadiine at all (unpatched or updated), works fine through USB, requires update installed on USB, and update is fake signed so requires haxchifw or sig patched sysnand to play.
Mocha would work too right? I believe it disables sig pathces
 
  • Like
Reactions: KiiWii
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Swagboi308 @ Swagboi308: :wacko: