System Menu: The system files are corrupted.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by rooskie54, Mar 28, 2012.

Mar 28, 2012
  1. rooskie54
    OP

    Member rooskie54 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    I don't post here often, but I know a fair bit about Wiis. My baby is having trouble loading the system menu. Mine is a launch day console and I've been following the wii's homebrew since the Twilight Hack. For a long time now it's been running bootmii boot2 set to autoboot the homebrew channel. I only see the system menu when I need to change a setting or sync a wii remote. Yesterday I exited to the System Menu from the homebrew channel to sync a remote and received the error message "The system files are corrupted. Please refer to the Wii Operation Manual for help troubleshooting." I quickly went to bootmii and made a new backup before I made things worse. It gave me the following output:
    I'm aware of the Factory bad blocks, but I'd never seen Corrected page before. Out of curiosity I did a normal boot (no sd card inserted) and the System Menu loaded. I synced the remote, rejoiced, and then proceeded to the shop channel. From there I quit to the system menu and "The system files are corrupted. Please refer to the Wii Operation Manual for help troubleshooting." So then I reinstalled the system menu (4.1U) and afterwards it loaded just fine from the homebrew channel. Then on the second attempt to access it "The system files are corrupted. Please refer to the Wii Operation Manual for help troubleshooting."

    Anyone have any suggestions? I ran SysCheck but it crashed while scanning for IOS vulnerabilities and the log it generated isn't very useful. Luckily I already have bootmii so this isn't much of a problem. For all I know this has been an issue for months. I'd still like to find a work around if possible since it's a little annoying to reinstall the system menu every time I want to use it.

    EDIT: I've been asked to run nandBinCheck -all -v, so here it is: http://pastebin.com/VxJtEwMP
     
  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Try holding + and - at the health screen, press A, and continue pressing + and - till Maintenance Mode loads. If it works, turn it off and repeat. If you are still able to do it, that means you probably have a mail brick.
     
  3. chrisrlink

    Member chrisrlink Rouge Temper

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,222
    Location:
    Unova
    Country:
    United States
    sounds like a semi brick do you have priiloader or a boot 2 backup prior to the recent one you made
     
  4. LWares87

    Member LWares87 The 'Wise' Merchant

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    Colchester, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to ask, how and when does a "mail brick" occur?
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It happens your mail is corrupt or overloaded mailbox (idk which one).
     
  6. rooskie54
    OP

    Member rooskie54 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    JoostinOnline, Maintenance Mode works just fine.

    chrisrlink, I don't have priiloader or a prior backup. I lost a ton of data a year ago including my nand backups.
     
  7. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Have a look at your nand bin with nandbincheck, it may give you some clues.
    nandbincheck nand.bin -all -v

    If it was a mailbrick, I would think you would have the problem when booting straight to the system menu, not just when loading it from some other app. Have you tried reinstalling the system ios?
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    He is having problems no matter where he loads it from, it's just not 100% consistent.
     
  9. rooskie54
    OP

    Member rooskie54 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is there when booting straight to the system menu too. Unless it's the first time being accessed after an install/making a backup then the wii won't load the system menu regardless of how its launched. I have reinstalled IOS 60 and it didn't make a difference.

    nandBinCheck says:
    http://pastebin.com/VxJtEwMP
     
  10. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Regardless of the issue, ohneswanzenegger nand.bin formater should fix your issue.

    Or you could try the mailbrick fix with fstoolbox
    then you could try to load any title deleter and remover all those improperly uninstalled channels

    I am putting my money on all your numerous channel removals. But it could be the message board, hard to tell.
    I would just use ohneswanzenegger and fix it right.
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Extract this to your SD card, load FSToolbox, go to "shared2/wc24/" and press + on all the files (but not directories). Do the same thing in "shared2/wc24/mbox". When you restart your Wii you will get a message about fixing your mailbox. If that doesn't work, then restore your NAND and you can try something else.
     
  12. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    was an ecc error on block 227 and a hmac error for one of the default system channels. you can try reinstalling that channel and probably fix the hmac error. depending on what file falls on block 227, you may be able to delete or somehow replace that file.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't know what "Bad HMAC" was, lol.

    Btw, that channel is Photo Channel v1.1
     
  14. rooskie54
    OP

    Member rooskie54 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    That didn't make a difference so I restored the NAND. The problem has mysteriously vanished. I've rebooted multiple times, started channels and quit to system menu, and the problem is gone. System menu loads just fine. I'm so confused.
     
  15. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Since BootMii backuped and corrected a "page" I expect what happened is that it made a correction to the NAND backup, not the real NAND.
     

Share This Page