System File is Missing???

Discussion in 'EDGE' started by EJatEMS, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. EJatEMS
    OP

    EJatEMS Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2011
    Hi
    Today when i was downloading the new version of IEdge os to update the card it just comes up with 'system file is missing' when i plug it into my Dsl... i have looked at some forums but decided i needed help for this exact case.
    I'd rather step-by-step as i REALLY can't understand techniqle terms but ANY help is help enough for me.
    Please help!! and thanks
     
  2. AlanJohn

    AlanJohn くたばれ

    Member
    3,452
    2,901
    Jan 6, 2011
    Canada,New Jersey
    Just re-install the firmware...
     
  3. EJatEMS
    OP

    EJatEMS Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2011
    thx for quick response...
    i have re-installed a few times but i think when it was replacing the old files it might have deleted something else important???
     
  4. AlanJohn

    AlanJohn くたばれ

    Member
    3,452
    2,901
    Jan 6, 2011
    Canada,New Jersey
    First you need to format your card with panasonic SD formatter, THEN install firmware (Don't forget to buckup your games/saves!).
     
  5. Cartmanuk

    Cartmanuk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    707
    106
    Nov 20, 2010
    Is your iEdge Black if so its a fake.

    You should see the EDGE.DAT NOT FOUND if there is an error.
     
  6. EJatEMS
    OP

    EJatEMS Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2011
    yes mine is black and does not say Edge.dat not found...
    i told the seller that i thought it was a fake ( i know, probably not a good idea) and he assured me that it was only the old one and the new one...
    is there any way to fix it even if it is a fake??
     
  7. EJatEMS
    OP

    EJatEMS Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2011
    I tried SDformatter...
    I re-formatted then Dragged the games file and the os files onto the card but still no luck.
    I think what i will do is just email the seller and tell him about it and hope for the best.
    thanks for your help [​IMG]
     
  8. anton123

    anton123 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    75
    4
    Jun 15, 2009
    United States
    Sounds like you got a fake iEdge if you're saying it's black... I wonder if your card looks like the one here...
    http://edgei-ds.cn/

    It's the website for the FAKE iEdge.

    This page will also help you. They put out distinguishing markers of the real vs fake ones. As far as I can tell, you got a fake iEdge card.
    http://www.edgedscards.co.uk/fake-iedge-cards
     
  9. EJatEMS
    OP

    EJatEMS Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2011
    Yea...looks like i have a fake, can i still use it somehow like i did before or is it completely un-usable?
    That sucks hopfully it will still run one day...
    thanks again for the help every1
     
  10. anton123

    anton123 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    75
    4
    Jun 15, 2009
    United States
    I guess you can look at the Fake iEdge website. They have some firmware download that might work on your card.
     
  11. EJatEMS
    OP

    EJatEMS Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2011
    Thanks everyone, i downloaded the fake os because it sounded like mine was a fake... it is BUT it does still play games which is great
    thanks for your time and help [​IMG]