1. yusuo

    OP yusuo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using my Ps3 controller up until this point using SCPTools, however I would prefer to use the switch controller as it feels alot nicer.

    I would like a way for the switch controller to be auto mapped as a Xbox controller. I've tried wiiunsoft but the install hides my Bluetooth dongle and so the program can't see the Bluetooth anymore.
    As soon as I uninstall Bluetooth is seen again and the controller works as normal

    Does anyone know how I can get this working
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  2. Zap Rowsdower

    Zap Rowsdower I am you.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Canada
    You can automatically load a XInput profile in WiinUPro. If you'd like to use it wired, use this.
    Another option is to add the software to Steam and use that controller API.
     
  3. Asia81

    Asia81 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    5,978
    Country:
    France
    I never managed to get WiinU Pro soft working (for my Wii U Pro or Switch Pro controllers), so I just bought a €20 Mayflash adapter on Amazon and it work fine.
     
  4. yusuo

    OP yusuo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, Windows can see the controller fine and it works, just the configuration is all over the place, I would prefer if Windows saw it as a Xbox controller and thus auto assign keys to the best of its ability.

    Otherwise I have to do it on a game by game basis.
     
  5. Sumandora

    Sumandora Im using Parental Controls. Change my Mind!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    834
    Country:
    Germany
    Steam is converting the Switch Pro Controller to XBox Controller if you have Big Picture enabled and something it works without BP too
     
  6. yusuo

    OP yusuo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    It does, but it doesn't do it correctly, for example on ps3 controller X act as A

    On switch pro controller Y acts as A
     
  7. Sumandora

    Sumandora Im using Parental Controls. Change my Mind!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    834
    Country:
    Germany
    ohm you can edit this in the settings of BP
     
  8. yusuo

    OP yusuo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    In the settings of BP?
     
  9. Sumandora

    Sumandora Im using Parental Controls. Change my Mind!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    834
    Country:
    Germany
    @yusuo
    upload_2019-4-18_16-9-2.png
     
  10. yusuo

    OP yusuo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    OK, that's a steam config I guess. Sorry don't speak German, would that be universal for all games loaded via steam
     
  11. Sumandora

    Sumandora Im using Parental Controls. Change my Mind!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    834
    Country:
    Germany
    sorry when my steam is german
    for that i created this red box
     
  12. yusuo

    OP yusuo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    Oh no its cool, I wasn't complaining about the German, I'll try and find the same setting on mine. I'm guessing it let's you remap the controller completly and all would be universal between all games
     
  13. Sumandora

    Sumandora Im using Parental Controls. Change my Mind!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    834
    Country:
    Germany
    alternativly you can create own profiles i guess something like this is in there too
     
    yusuo likes this.
  14. yusuo

    OP yusuo GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    Anybody else able to chime in on this the steam option is a good one, apart from games that don't initially come from steam, such as sekiro which apparently knows a controllers connected but won't react to it at all.
    I think it'll be easier if the pc just thinks it's an Xbox controller
     
  15. Krude

    Krude GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    The steam API is better for it, via steam you can even use and bind the gyro in the pro controller to do stuff. Don't have to, though.

    Connect controller to PC, startm steam, enter Big Picture mode, go to settings (the small gear in the top right), then Controller Settings, and enable "Switch Pro Configuration Support". Now Steam will handle all the button config and bindings while it's active.

    There's a sub-option called "Use Nintendo Button Layout" that i think is enabled by default, which switches the default A/B and X/Y bindings, so that on-screen prompts will match the physical button labels. You can disable that if you're more used to XBox style button layouts.

    Any game you start through steam will have the pro controller Just Work, and through steam's per-game controller config you can customize the layouts individually. It even has the screenshot button, well, do screenshots by default, but you can bind it to whatever.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Also i've been playing Sekiro for like 50 hours on a pro controller through steam, it works like a charm.
     
    Rahkeesh, Xabring and ganons like this.
  16. wangtang32000

    wangtang32000 Newcomer
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    i've always had a lot of issues trying to use non-steam games with the switch pro controller. i don't mean to bump this old topic but, how do you get that to work?
     
  17. Zap Rowsdower

    Zap Rowsdower I am you.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Canada
  18. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Do any of these support Rumble? I know Steam does but it generates enormous input lag with it enabled, among other issues I've had with Steam's converter.
    Wiinupro is really weird with analog sticks iirc and not user friendly
    I'm looking for something like DS4Windows, but for Switch controllers to last me till my Design Labs controller arrives.
     
  19. Zap Rowsdower

    Zap Rowsdower I am you.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Canada
    Good question. I see that ProconXInput lists specifically that vibration is unsupported, but it's written based on this which does, however needs to be built.
    Joycon Driver will vibrate on connection identification and while it is feeding vJoy input, I don't think the program has any force feedback implementation itself. It doesn't look like it's supported in WiinUPro either.
    Regarding input lag, that can often come down to BT stack implementation, the adapter, etc. and wireless more often than not being much slower than USB polling. So I guess I'd first suggest a wired connection to Steam. Sorry that's not much help :unsure:
     
  20. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I was using wired on Steam.
    The other main issue I had was it does it on a per game basis with some games not working with it, as opposed to DS4Windows universally telling the PC it's an Xinput device.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - controller, Switch, XInput