1. ds34

    ds34 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Germany
    Does the backlight turn on?
    Can you send me a picture of the display connector?

    Gesendet von meinem SM-N950F mit Tapatalk
     
  2. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    I will try booting these 3 again tonight, didn't have time yesterday unfortunately.. The first time I tried memloader, I was trying with an SD card inserted.

    So with the internal storage attached it would be normal for the PC not to recognize it, right? Since it's not in RCM mode.
    That's an interesting lead with the screen.. Backlight doesn't turn on at all. I will post a picture of the connector tonight!

    But is it possible for the switch to boot at all, since it's not even fast charging?
     
  3. ds34

    ds34 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Germany
    It's very unlikely to boot normal ofw when it doesn't even boot hekate
     
  4. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    I wanted to try memloader again just now, but now it just connected to the PC for a really short duration. After a few seconds it disconnected, and now it only charges with 0.07A... Could it be a battery issue after all?
     
  5. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,821
    Country:
    Norway
    That's correct. And I'm surprised no one else has mentioned it and instead jumped to the conclusion that it must be AutoRCM when it's pretty obvious to me that it isn't.
    Since it doesn't show up on the PC when the NAND is inserted, that means it doesn't have AutoRCM installed.
    In fact, that Switch is probably iPatched, that's why injecting a payload doesn't do anything. Now it's still technically possible to install AutoRCM on an iPatched Switch if it's on 4.1.0 (as those are hackable by other means) that doesn't seem to be the case here.
     
  6. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    Interesting point about the Switch being patched. Hadn't considered that yet.. Would it show "Payload sucessfully injeted" on a patched Switch though? Because it did that when I was trying hekate
     
  7. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,821
    Country:
    Norway
    Yes, the program has no way to tell if the Switch is patched. It can successfully send the forged data, but the console silently refuses it.
     
  8. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    That's very good to know hahah It's very possible that it is patched then. The online serial number checker says "possibly patched". Do you have an idea what could be wrong with the switch? It was charging with 0.44A most of the time and booting into RCM (nothing on screen) with the NAND disconnected. Now it only charges with 0.07A and sporadically goes up to 0.44A. No RCM at 0.07A, RCM working shortly while at 0.44A
     
  9. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    I just tried a replacement battery I had ordered.. Same behaviour. So it's not the battery

    EDIT:
    A few more questions:
    • When in RCM mode, without the NAND connected. Should the Screen or Backlight turn on, or ist it normal that it's completely dead?
    • Is the switch booting into RCM a sign that everything besides the NAND is working? I've found some info online about someone having a similar problem as me, who put a known good NAND into his switch, and the screen turned on for a few seconds (then shut off, probably due to the nand not being paired to the switch)
    • Is it possible to pair a new NAND like this one https://www.ebay.de/i/223568885061 with the Switch, without having a NAND backup?
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - disconnected, recognized, internal