1. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey guys,

    first of all, please forgive me any stupid questions.. I've never owned a switch before.

    I've bought a defective one off of ebay (doesn't turn on, doesn't fast charge) and wanted to see if I could fix it. It had some corrosion here and there, which I managed to clean off.
    When measuring with a charge reader, I get a steady 0.41A when charging from a wall outlet, chargin from a PC USB port it fluctuates between 0.44 - 0.47.

    Now the interesting part: I was told to check if the previous owner had installed AutoRCM, because that apparently is a likely cause for this behaviour. This video explains how to get a switch with a drained battery and AutoRCM to charge and boot up again:
    I tried to follow that, but my PC didn't recognize the switch. But when I disconnect the internal storage, it suddenly does.. And TegraRcmGUI regocnizes a RCM device, and I even manage to pass a payload. So I have some hope, that the AutoRCM might actually be the culprit. But nothing more happens after that. I guess the switch can't do anything without the internal storage connected(?)

    Does anyone have an idea on how to proceed further?

    I'm glad for any pointers! Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,403
    Country:
    United States
    Push hekate payload and turn off autoRCM. Then connect the internal storage and see if it boots
     
  3. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks for the reply! I just tried it. It says payload sucessfully injected, but nothing happens on the Switch :/ Just to make sure I am doing this right.. I downloaded CTCaer/hekate/v5.1.1, took a micro sd card and formatted it to FAT32. Then I put the bootloader folder on that. Inserted the sd card into the switch. Connected the swith and pushed the payload from the same download with TegraRcmGUI.

    Did I make a mistake somewhere?

    The fan doesn't spin btw, I don't know if thats normal. But if i hit the power off button, the switch disconnects from the PC.

    PS: I have not installed the heatsink, the metal plate or the back case yet, if that should matter (but i wouldn't think so)
     
  4. ds34

    ds34 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Germany
    Sounds like the same issue I had with a Switch I had some time ago. Try booting memloader just for fun
     
  5. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks for the reply! I just tried it, same thing unfortunately.. Payload injected successfully, nothing happens on the Switch's side :/
     
  6. ds34

    ds34 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Germany
    did you buy the Switch this week?
     
  7. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    Last week hahah
    Did I buy yours? xD
     
  8. ds34

    ds34 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Germany
    I believe so
     
  9. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    LOL
    If it really is yours, you gotta check your inbox on ebay^^ The left joycon is fucked
     
  10. ds34

    ds34 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah I know. Its really messed up, its also missing the plastic button required for dettaching the joycons
     
  11. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    Are you sure it's yours? I bought it in a bundle with joycons and a bunch of other stuff.. And the seller said the joycons themselves work (but one doesn't)^^

    I just found out that I can turn the switch off after connecting it to the PC by holding the power button for a little while. It then disconnects and the charge current drops from 0.44A to 0.33A.. Could that be an indicator for anything?

    EDIT: After a while of being "off" it jumps back up to 0.44A...
    EDIT2: And then sometimes it drops to 0.07A and back up for a few seconds
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  12. ds34

    ds34 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Germany
    nope, that isn´t mine then. (could have been possible tho).
    Regarding the issue you have with the switch: I believe that it just draws power from the usb port
     
  13. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    Stupid question, but do you guys think it's possible that the switch just defaults to RCM mode when the memory module isn't inserted?
     
  14. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    I just tried putting the SD card back into the computer from the switch, and it seems to be broken... Gets detected as a 30MB drive, that I cant format. It was an 8GB card before.. Anyone had something like this before?
     
  15. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,943
    Country:
    Austria
    Buy a new micro sd card.
     
  16. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    Are you serious? The Switch wrecked it. What I was asking was if anyone knew a defect where something like this happens, in order to help diagnose what's wrong with the Swtich.
     
  17. ds34

    ds34 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Germany
    Which SD card brand is this? And yes, it's normal that it goes straight to RCM mode when there isn't a nand chip.
     
  18. Normlbert

    OP Normlbert Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    I think it's a Kingston, can't look right now since I'm at work.. Thanks for the info! So I guess it's not confirmed that there's AutoRCM on it then. Do you know if it's even possible to boot anything without the NAND chip?
     
  19. ds34

    ds34 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Germany
    You should be able to boot memloader, biskeydump and the sx payload (only with no SD card inserted)

    Gesendet von meinem SM-N950F mit Tapatalk
     
  20. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,147
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds to me like the screen simply doesn't work.

    I don't think it has AutoRCM installed. If so, it would always boot RCM, even with the internal storage attached.

    I believe what's happening is the Switch is booting when the internal storage is attached, but the screen doesn't work so you can't see it.

    If the internal storage is detached, it's normal for a Switch to boot into RCM. And like you said, you can push payloads. But since the screen is dead you're not able to see what any of those payloads do.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - disconnected, recognized, internal