1. SomeIdiotWithaSwitch

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    As my username implies I managed to what I assume freeze my switch, I tried some of the regular remedies such as holding the power button for 30 seconds and then giving it some time before pressing it again.

    Of some interest is that I am using autoRCM in combination with the SX Pro´s dongle.
    The issue first appeared after switching to the 1.3 boot file, though I don´t know if that was the reason the switch is no longer properly booting.
    I also tried the charger, which apparently does not currently recognize the switch, or at least it´s not showing that it´s being charged.
    After that I had a mini heart attack and was ready to cry "SX PRO BRICK`D MY CONSOLE BEWARE", then I checked if my switch is recognized by my PC and it shows as APX when connected, I can furthermore remove it from the list of connected devices by keeping the power button pressed for a few seconds, so I´m guessing it´s not bricked.

    My current idea is to make sure that the console reads as engaged and powered on to my PC and to simply leave it on so it can drain it´s battery over the next day or two and then to restart, though if anyone on the forum has a better idea it would be much appreciated.

    Sorry if a solution to this issue has already been posted, and if that is the case I was too much of a potato and was unable to find it.
    Have a good day.
     
  2. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,743
    Country:
    United States
    If its showing up as an APX device, try sending the SX OS Loader from your PC to boot SX OS rather than using the dongle. It could be possible that the dongle ran out of charge. Also your Switch may or may not have run out of charge as it is still showing up on your PC.
     
  3. SomeIdiotWithaSwitch

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    I´ve tried both and neither seem to be working, I´ve taken a closer look at the pins in the charge port just to make sure that isn´t fucked in any way, and as far as I can tell that isn´t the case either.
     
  4. slainfu

    slainfu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Just to clarify, you can seemingly get into RCM mode (black screen) but can't get the Switch to accept a payload? Let me ask:

    Have you tried switching back to SX OS 1.2?
    Does AutoRCM still appear to be enabled, but you can't load a payload nor boot into Horizon?
    Has wifi been connected at any point in the run up to you switching to SX OS 1.3?

    This sounds a lot like one of the newly shipped ipatched Switches; but with the kicker that it's stuck in AutoRCM mode. If that *were* feasible (it's supposed to be unpatchable due to the factory fuse being burnt), this would mean that Nintendo could inadvertently brick any switches that they ipatched if they had AutoRCM enabled. Hope I'm 100% wrong on that!
     
  5. Aszrael

    Aszrael Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
    Before panicking calm down and put structure in your approache. Your first goal is to put your switch back in normal mode.
    I assume you use the sx.xecuter payload.

    You installed autoRCM. The downside: your switch always expects a payload to start up.

    So first change the sending device:
    The dongle is not working? Try alternatives. e.g. one of my laptops most times sucks, the second one and my smartphone not.

    Are you in RCM? Use TegraRCMGui to check this first. The Gui will show if you are in RCM or not. If your switch is in RCM, try sending the payload. If it not working you will get an error code -> at least you can now research what the problem is and you have a good chance to solve your problem.

    Secondly: simply remove the sd-card. Will it show the missing boot.dat screen -> corrupt sd-card.

    Thirdly: check the checksum of the payload you use and the boot.dat.

    Finally: use different payloads.

    And: get rid of AutoRCM - you will not need to reboot your device such often, but result in a lot of troubles...
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
    SomeIdiotWithaSwitch likes this.
  6. KevinX8

    KevinX8 Proud user of The Dark Theme
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    959
    Country:
    He must have one of the new models invulenerable to FG. RIP
     
  7. scroeffie

    scroeffie GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Country:
    Netherlands
    but the older models are stil oke to use sx os/pro ? i have a 2017 model but i bought it in june 2018
     
  8. slainfu

    slainfu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Doesn't sound that way as he's implied that it's worked previously. From what I've read so far, they're ipatching the bootrom in the factory *prior* to burning the ODM_PRODUCTION eFuse, which should be irreversible/impossible to mitigate. Thankfully the same should be true for those with vulnerable bootroms, as it appears OP has.

    Corrupt SD card is looking the most likely.
     
  9. SomeIdiotWithaSwitch

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    I´d just like to thank Aszrael for his advice on the topic, I managed to boot my switch properly after using TegraRCMGui with the Xectuer payload (Switch was properly booted into RCM mode, but apparently the dongle just didn´t work).
    Oddly enough I tested the dongle after booting via TegraRCMGui, and it worked just fine.
    As for my switch´s age, I bought it way back when BotW first released so it is unlikely that the issue was cause by the new update that Nintendo intends to release.
    I also checked my SD card just to be sure and it wasn´t corrupted, so that can also be elminated.
    Ultimately I have no clue what specifically caused the issue, but the solution that Aszrael outlined worked just fine, so thanks for your time.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
  10. Artwebb

    Artwebb Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Canada
    Sounds to me like the dongle wasn't charged to even send the payload.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - properly, booting, Switch