Switch ievo mode to DSi from a DSL

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by zorgluf, Sep 26, 2011.

Sep 26, 2011
  1. zorgluf
    OP

    Newcomer zorgluf Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,
    Since the TC forum is still down, I would like to make a thread from TC forum come back here (called "finding the magic switch").
    This is my first post on this forum, so if I break any rules, be kind and just delete this post [​IMG] And also sorry for my english [​IMG]

    I have managed to modify the ievo firmware (2.3) so that it will let user switch to DSi mode from a DSL. It might be really useful for 3DS or new firware DSi that can't run the DSL mode any more to make this task.
    Before doing anything, please read carefully the following instructions :
    * use the nds file only to switch ievo into DSi mode and nothing else !
    * when dsi mode is enable, you won't be able to use your ievo on DSL anymore, unless you switch back
    * it has been tested only on a DSL and ievo bootstrap 1.1 EUR. There is high probabilty it works on US region also, but not tested.
    * the region test (ievo region == dsi/3ds region) has been disable, so check your ievo region !
    * use it at your own risk... (but it worked perfectly on my ievo...)

    Here the nds file you need :
    http://filetrip.net/f26285-CycloDS-iEvolut...-MOD-92711.html

    This is a ievo firmware 2.3 dump, and repack into nds file, with a very few modifications in the arm9 code (but there is still, so don't use it for something else that the switch to DSi...).
    Instructions :
    1) boot your ievo on dsl
    2) launch the above nds file as an homebrew
    3) As the file is a firmware, an exact display from ievo menu will appear
    4) go to settings and select "boot from slot-2" (I was too lazy to change this value)
    5) a message will show up saying that you are in DSi mode
    6) switch off your DSL, and insert your ievo on a DSi/3DS, and that's it !

    I wish this post was useful to some of you...
     


  2. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I remember this thread on TC forum, i'm glad to see it rebirth in there. [​IMG]

    Thanks zorgluf !

    Ps: i told avenir about this thread. [​IMG]


    A quote from you when you answered avenir's question on TC forum :

     
  3. avenir

    Member avenir GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
  4. Cristian_berme

    Newcomer Cristian_berme Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Madrid
    Country:
    Spain
    I waited a long time for this!!!!
    Thanks!!!!! [​IMG]
     
  5. IcySon55

    Member IcySon55 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys, glad to see we're back on track with this here on GBATemp.

    Since you've managed to get the DSi switch working on DSL systems, is it too far fetched that we can try to move into creating a custom firmware? Or at least open the floodgates for other developers like the AKAIO Team, YSMenu Team, and Wood Team?

    I can only imagine what would come of custom firmwares with DSi mode.
     
  6. zorgluf
    OP

    Newcomer zorgluf Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I made a mistake, the offset for RC4 in boot.ievo file is :
    offset^=0x696D6520
    offset-=0x2000
     
  7. zorgluf
    OP

    Newcomer zorgluf Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I don't feel it's impossible... but almost impossible !
    There is a huge difference (at least for me) between just hack a few byte to modify some program flow and understand how everything is working.
    Now on, I will try just to understand how ievo is booting from the start using bootstrap file. Maybe we can change the DSL rom so that the DSL mode would run again...
     
  8. Cartmanuk

    Member Cartmanuk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good Job.
     
  9. avenir

    Member avenir GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for info. But I couldn't find iv_header(3847D9EAC5B999457162C6E74F20420A) in that binary...
    If iv_header is defined in bootstrap, we won't need to worry, but they might change iv_header in kernel 2.4...
     
  10. zorgluf
    OP

    Newcomer zorgluf Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    This iv was hard coded in the reset.mse file.
     
  11. avenir

    Member avenir GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    good. Then perhaps coded in bootstrap and reset.mse... So my CEVO.nds will be good also in future version

    mshl2tools_r34_libfat.7z/reset_ievo/CEVO.nds
     
  12. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    I'm assuming that DSL stands for DS Lite so that would also work on the original DS system.

    I have the cyclods but mainly for novelty, got a good deal on it. I think I'd rather wait for an official release since I don't use this card. But are you saying that it locks you into DSi mode if you just update it and plug it into a 3DS? That would suck since DSi mode causes most games to freeze up.

    Imo this is the most crude card in my collection so I wasn't really expecting DSi mode to work quite right. But it would be good to see more emphasis put on keeping that working and updating/fixing it more from the main team.

    Hopefully they'll have DSi mode fully taken care of some day but I'm sure people are wanting to move into 3DS now.
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    when you put the ievo into a dsphat/dslite it boots into ds mode. the issue was that people who were in this mode could not switch back to dsi-mode if they had a dsphat/lite, an updated dsi, or an updated 3ds. this fix allows them to force the dsi-mode switch on a dsphat/dslite and then use the card in their updated dsi/3ds. so to answer your questions, yes it will work the same in the dsphat, as the hack is only mode dependent not system dependent.

    the dsi still has a lot to offer, in regards to homebrew. the problem is that we do not have a usable, workable, affordable, and updated solution. users aren't going to drop the $45-55 on the ievo knowing that its basically a ds-mode flash kit with dsi-mode homebrew support. if there was a $10-20 solution i think we would see an increase in dsi-mode homebrew.

    right now only alekmaul and elhobbs are embracing dsi-mode. the other projects are either proof of concept or recompiled for ievo support. i wish it wasn't this way but i'm afraid it will stay this way. i don't expect another team to use the wintermute exploit on a flash kit and i don't expect cyclops to start fixing the bugs. i'd love it if they came back with a huge update but i'm starting to think they have moved on from the ds scene.

    -another world
     
  14. Woodhouse

    Newcomer Woodhouse Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,can anyone make me clear, so CycloDS iEVOLUTION flashcard can work on DSi V1.43 and 3DS V2.1.0-4 now? Good news!
     
  15. macrox

    Newcomer macrox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Excellent Work!!! You have made many iEVO owners very happy today.

    In your face Team Cyclops.
     
  16. Red_Gh0st

    Member Red_Gh0st GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    United States
    This is great! Awesome work zorgluf
     
  17. Petit Prince

    Newcomer Petit Prince Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Belgium
    lol ,yes , i have just tested the ievolution on the 3ds 2.1.0-4U of my friend , it can work well on dsi mode by your "boot-unpack-mod.nds".
    Thanks a lot . If anyone have questions also can contanct with me .
     
  18. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The iEvo works on the DSi 1.4.3 and 3DS 2.1.0-4, but it sure doesn't work like every other flashcart works. In other words, it doesn't have WiFi and a lot of games have compatibility problems regarding some old and new games in DSi mode. You can make the games work on it, but it won't help with newer game compatibility and such... Also the enhanced menu may not be accessible on all games in DSi mode regardless how old or new the game is. So technically you have a partially working cart. Hopefully we get a real update for the cart in the next few days [​IMG]


    -Qtis
     
  19. GH0ST

    Member GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    France
    Thanks Zorgluf... nice shot !

    Here is a filetrip link for GBAtempers

    edit: remove duplicate
     
  20. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    thats a dupe upload of THIS file?

    -another world
     

Share This Page