1. bkifft

    OP bkifft avowed Cuthwaldian
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    EDIT: TL;DR: Set DNS server to 8.8.8.8 in network config.

    Just as a heads-up for others:

    I was able to update and link my account, yet on trying to enter the eShop kept getting the error 2811-5001.

    After a lengthy debugging session with Nintys customer support, they told me that my account wasn't linked and my console wasn't activated for online services (without going into detail what that meant) and that they'd have to escalate my problem to a higher support level.

    So: If you run into this error code: Stop, drop and contact support, without doubting your own tech abilities.


    edit: problem found: eshop dislikes filtering DNS servers. solution: manually set DNS to 8.8.8.8. works like a charm now

    edit the second: my specific problem was that my ad and tracker blocking DNS also blocked google-analytics.com, hich, for some strange reason, is required by the eshop. Now that I've removed google-analytics from the block list it works just fine.
     
    Last edited by bkifft, Mar 3, 2017
    DarkSeele likes this.
  2. thorasgar

    thorasgar Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,783
    Country:
    United States
    Fake Switch. :P
     
  3. kingraa777

    kingraa777 boom!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,241
    Country:
    haha i want a fake switch :P
     
  4. mooseknuckle2000

    mooseknuckle2000 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    United States
    I'm dealing with the same error. Customer service told me they don't know what the issue is and to "sit tight" until later today. They said they won't be reaching out to me with a solution, but I can check around online and if it's not fixed, I can call back...perfect.
     
  5. bkifft

    OP bkifft avowed Cuthwaldian
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    as i've edited in: it's a DNS error, most likely caused by some sort of DNS based blocking or filtering.

    Just set your DNS server manually to 8.8.8.8 in your network config and it should work
     
  6. mooseknuckle2000

    mooseknuckle2000 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    United States
    Ah yes, NFL Gamepass necessity. Thanks for the update!
     
  7. Metatyranonite

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    How do I edit my DNS block list?
     
  8. bkifft

    OP bkifft avowed Cuthwaldian
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    completely dependent on your DNS setup, best to ask the person who had set it up.

    or just set a DNS server manually in your switch network config (8.8.8.8 for example).
     
  9. kingraa777

    kingraa777 boom!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,241
    Country:
    8.8.8.8. didnt work either ?im oplaying splatoon but keep getting disconnected :/
     
  10. bkifft

    OP bkifft avowed Cuthwaldian
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    And you are positive you are getting the error 2811-5001? K, then it can have multiple causes.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Switch, eShop, error