1. Krushx

    OP Krushx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi, my switch doesn't get recognized by my pc when i try to inject a payload.
    It's newly repaired, they changed the m92t36 chip cause the old one was crisp.
    I got another switch in my reach, my girlfriend's one, that instantly gets recognized in rcm.
    Is another thing on my mainboard crisp? Did they not change the chip properly?
     
  2. Budsixz

    Budsixz GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    India
    well just so you know, the ipatched unit can also go into rcm its just that they cannot accept a payload. The screen stays blank.
    So the switch not being detected is something else like maybe use a shorter usb cable (yes it works sometimes) or maybe something wrong with the port itself or drivers maybe
     
  3. Krushx

    OP Krushx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    Like i said, works well with another switch.
    And i didnt say in start post, but my one is unpatched, thats the reason i wanted it to be repaired instead of "yeah, i'll just buy a new one"
     
  4. Budsixz

    Budsixz GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    India
    well you do know that many times when you send it for repair, they replace unpatched units with a patched one (This has been reported by many)
     
    Last edited by Budsixz, Aug 30, 2019
  5. Krushx

    OP Krushx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah, thats why i let it do at a repair shop, they really just switched the m92t36 chip.
     
  6. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    OP said it's not detected. Even patched switches can be detected by PC while in RCM.
     
  7. Budsixz

    Budsixz GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    India
    oh ok i thought it was nintendo repair
    anyways does it charge?
     
  8. Krushx

    OP Krushx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    It charges without a problem.
     
  9. Krushx

    OP Krushx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    Aftrer some more tests my usb port seems to be broken, it's charging, but i dont get a HDMI signal when its in the dock. Will try to see if i can send a payload with a rcm loader, just have to wait for it to arrive. If that also doesnt work, is there a way to send a payload without using the usb c port?
     
  10. Krushx

    OP Krushx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    Another update: Connected the switch to an android smartphone in hope to push the payload with rekado, the phone detects the switch, but refuses to switch to file transfer mode, it just keeps in reverse loading mode, means the phone tries to charge the switch.
     
  11. TheDukeflied

    TheDukeflied Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    Did you find out what is going on, I have the same thing with a new Switch with low serial key (Unpatched)
     
  12. Krushx

    OP Krushx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    Nothing yet, even tried it with a rcm loader one, seems to be my usb port, charging works but nothing else.
     
  13. TheDukeflied

    TheDukeflied Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    Same here, I will try and have a look at the board and do some testing soon, I will let you know, because it might be the IC not te port, when you use a 3rd party USB C cable this might happen
     
  14. Slim45

    Slim45 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Curiouser and curiouser!
     
  15. Krushx
    This message by Krushx has been removed from public view by x65943, Nov 17, 2019, Reason: please don't bump your post.
    Nov 16, 2019
  16. Krushx

    OP Krushx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    Some nice guy on discord tried to reproduce that error and narrowed it down to the chip slightly above the usb port, i'll get it replaced soon and be sure to get you guys updated.
     
  17. nifoc2099

    nifoc2099 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Singapore
    Last edited by nifoc2099, Nov 19, 2019
  18. Coreinsaity

    Coreinsaity Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    OP from the other thread linked above.

    This is interesting, I have pretty much the same issue. I bought mine on ebay, which I'm thinking was a mistake now. I can charge it but it won't get picked up in RCM on any PC. Yet I can turn around and get my patched switch no problem. I didn't think to try it in the dock, though.

    I'd love to know if you're able to get this fixed and how, I have a new one coming (I RMA'd it.) If it has the same issue, I'm up in the air between trying to fix it myself or seeing if I can just get a refund. Leaning pretty heavily towards refund.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - recognized, Switch, doesnt