Supercard DSTWO GBA mode problem?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Leroy160, Jan 29, 2013.

Jan 29, 2013
  1. Leroy160
    OP

    Newcomer Leroy160 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    So off the bat, my supercard DSTWO is up to date and all. But as soon as I boot into it on my 3DS and go to GBA mode it turns the entire system off. Whenever I try turning it on it turns off, even with the card out. What did I just do?
     
  2. Leroy160
    OP

    Newcomer Leroy160 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure if I bricked it. It seems to do the same thing in this video;
     
  3. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,566
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    GBA mode obviously won't work on the 3DS. There isn't even a GBA slot.

    However, I doubt that could brick your 3DS, or there would be more bricks by now...
     
  4. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,995
    Country:
    Are you trying to use actual GBA mode or are you going to NDSGBA because the NDSGBA emulator should work just fine even on the 3DS. Obviously native GBA mode (boot GBA slot) won't as there is no GBA slot.
     
  5. Leroy160
    OP

    Newcomer Leroy160 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah its worked fine before, I'm using NDSGBA. But suddenly yesterday, I boot it up and my 3DS just instantly turns off, any attempt at turning it on does what is shown in the video.

    Edit: I'll try taking out the battery today to see if that does anything.
     
  6. clothesbiz27
    This message by clothesbiz27 has been removed from public view by tj_cool, Jan 29, 2013.
    Jan 29, 2013
  7. Leroy160
    OP

    Newcomer Leroy160 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Took out the battery, tried a new battery and still facing the same problem. Could this really have bricked my 3DS?
     
  8. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,727
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Flashcards can't brick 3DS's, period.
    Try downgrading you NDS-GBA to this version, then install this file
    http://filetrip.net/nds-downloads/f...iplayer-gba-emu-gameconfigtxt-v13-f12630.html

    The latest NDS-GBA is actually broken.

    And I suggest trying out a normal DS game to see what happens on your 3DS

    Have you tried leaving your battery out for about 10 minutes?
     
  9. Leroy160
    OP

    Newcomer Leroy160 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info, Its good to know that it isn't bricked. I'll put the battery back in since it's been about 10 minutes or so.

    Edit: Still nothing. It doesn't even get to boot into the home menu. I mean the entire 3DS.
     
  10. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,727
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That's weird. Did you just leave your 3DS on for a few minutes?
     
  11. Leroy160
    OP

    Newcomer Leroy160 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    I left it charging while it was on. It was done charging when I picked it up, so I start up the supercard and go into GBAmode when it just instantly shuts off. Any attempt at turning it back on, makes it shut off without even making it to the main menu.

    Edit: I had the latest NDSGBA that you said was broken. But I've used it other times before, it made it to the menu and just wouldn't boot any games. I thought the roms were at fault at the time.
     
  12. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    what did you run right before it happen, was it an NDS file you got form here(gbatemp) or filetrip
     
  13. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    hmm very strange
    turn in on and then release and then hold the power button again for 5-10 seconds

    sounds like the 3DS needs a hard reset as its stuck in some sort of loop

    failing that send it to nintendo
    something in the boot area isnt correct
     
  14. Leroy160
    OP

    Newcomer Leroy160 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure what you mean, if you're asking about the NDSGBA it was from gbatemp's FAQ.
    Tried the hard reset from the very start, it works but turning it back on leads to the same issue. I already called Nintendo, I guess I'll just send it in for repairs. Thanks for the help guys, at least I know it wasn't bricked.
     
  15. The Riolu

    Member The Riolu Emanation Pokémon

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Looking at the video, I've never really seen something like this before. It might have to do with a software issue but once again it could have been coincidental at the time that the GBA mode could cause this. It might be a hardware issue. Maybe the contacts on the battery aren't working correctly?
     
  16. Leroy160
    OP

    Newcomer Leroy160 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely coincidental. Its just a shame it happened so close to Fire Emblem's release date.
     
  17. The Riolu

    Member The Riolu Emanation Pokémon

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    :wink: That sucks. One of my best friends is getting a Fire Emblem-themed 3DS and it looks pretty awesome :D
     
  18. Leroy160
    OP

    Newcomer Leroy160 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your help anyways guys. I guess I'll just have to wait till next month the latest to play Fire Emblem.
     

Share This Page