Super Monkey Ball requesting internet connection before startup?

Hacking

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,658
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,243
Country
United Kingdom
I've just updated the switch to 13.0.0 and AMS 1.1.0 as I've read that SMB: Banana Mania will only work on firmware above 12.0.2 or so.

I've installed the game and all sigpatches for the latest update but this is the only game I've ever come across that asks for an internet connection before startup and I'm not sure how to get around it?

It goes as follows:
  • Checking if this game can be played
  • Could not connect to the internet
    • Please check your settings, if you are using a wired connection, please check that your LAN cable and/or LAN adapter are properly connected
Then a choice to cancel or head to internet settings.

I've tried the 90DNS primary and secondary DNS' and can connect to the Internet using them, but trying to start the software a prompt appears saying "please sign into your Nintendo account again".

90DNS then presumably causes an error as the switch attempts to connect to Nintendo servers and it throws up an error code of 2155-8007. Googling this shows that a possible solution is to "manually enter an alternative DNS so, I guess that's the reason.

Just wondering if there's a work around for it because I really wanna try it out. Always weary about connecting a modded switch to the internet, that's all. Maybe it's easy these days.
Thanks all!
 
Last edited by MikeyTaylorGaming,

JeepX87

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
1,249
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
2,211
Country
United States
Oh wow, I'm very surprised to see that they require internet to play this game but not case with Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz HD - no internet required and there is bonus - the save is extremely easier to edit because of text format with no encryption, even no hex editing required. I edited mine to give 100% and shared with everyone in here.

I'm interested to see this game's save format if it is encrypted hex format or simple text format.
 

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,658
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,243
Country
United Kingdom
Oh wow, I'm very surprised to see that they require internet to play this game but not case with Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz HD - no internet required and there is bonus - the save is extremely easier to edit because of text format with no encryption, even no hex editing required. I edited mine to give 100% and shared with everyone in here.

I'm interested to see this game's save format if it is encrypted hex format or simple text format.

Surprised me a lot too but I'm hoping that this isn't going to be the norm for new releases. Just means one more step to overcome.

Banana blitz HD was so easy on switch / Steam VS the wii honestly! But, it's so odd to me that it's save was just a text format, I want a look at that ahaha!
 

JeepX87

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
1,249
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
2,211
Country
United States
Surprised me a lot too but I'm hoping that this isn't going to be the norm for new releases. Just means one more step to overcome.

Banana blitz HD was so easy on switch / Steam VS the wii honestly! But, it's so odd to me that it's save was just a text format, I want a look at that ahaha!
I just bought it via eShop and installing right now, so I will check and report to here soon.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Serph-DDS

JeepX87

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
1,249
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
2,211
Country
United States
Surprised me a lot too but I'm hoping that this isn't going to be the norm for new releases. Just means one more step to overcome.

Banana blitz HD was so easy on switch / Steam VS the wii honestly! But, it's so odd to me that it's save was just a text format, I want a look at that ahaha!
There is update.

This game doesn't require internet connection to play but it has option to connect the internet to upload the records, that all.

Good news, they still use text based save format and I just upload to here in case if anyone want to examine.
 

Attachments

  • banana mania.zip
    7.5 KB · Views: 51

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,658
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,243
Country
United Kingdom
There is update.

This game doesn't require internet connection to play but it has option to connect the internet to upload the records, that all.

Good news, they still use text based save format and I just upload to here in case if anyone want to examine.
Hmm... The game will not allow me to boot it without a valid Internet connection and signing into my Nintendo account again. Urghh.

How frustrating, I hope someone knows what's going on with this... 😭

And that is good news, thanks for the upload!
 

JeepX87

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
1,249
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
2,211
Country
United States
Hmm... The game will not allow me to boot it without a valid Internet connection and signing into my Nintendo account again. Urghh.

How frustrating, I hope someone knows what's going on with this... 😭

And that is good news, thanks for the upload!
I'm going to tag @ZER-O to see if he can help with game and sigpatch issues.

I just edited the save to unlocked and cleared all story stages but it is a lot of work to edit for over 300 stages.

Use stage skip and infinite banana cheat to speed the skip stages if you cannot pass.
 

Attachments

  • All story mode levels unlocked.zip
    10 KB · Views: 81

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,658
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,243
Country
United Kingdom
I'm going to tag @ZER-O to see if he can help with game and sigpatch issues.

I just edited the save to unlocked and cleared all story stages but it is a lot of work to edit for over 300 stages.

Use stage skip and infinite banana cheat to speed the skip stages if you cannot pass.
So you think this could be an issue related to sigpatches? That's actually a relief if it is the case to be honest. Nice and easy for transfer.

Appreciate your help with finding someone who may know, and thanks for the file! I'll probably play through normal if I ever get it working, I enjoy the challenge
 

JeepX87

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
1,249
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
2,211
Country
United States
So you think this could be an issue related to sigpatches? That's actually a relief if it is the case to be honest. Nice and easy for transfer.

Appreciate your help with finding someone who may know, and thanks for the file! I'll probably play through normal if I ever get it working, I enjoy the challenge
Possibly but I'm not expert with NSP and sigpatches related.
 

ZER-O

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
509
Trophies
0
XP
1,484
Country
United Kingdom
Hmm... The game will not allow me to boot it without a valid Internet connection and signing into my Nintendo account again. Urghh.

How frustrating, I hope someone knows what's going on with this... 😭

And that is good news, thanks for the upload!
if you have a linked nintendo account ID, it will run offline (NSP or eShop doesn't matter) if you dont have a linked NIN ID, it wont run (use Linkalho to add an account)
use hekate sig patches, sometimes the patches dont have eShop tickets so visit your favorite sigpatches source and download another version (shadowone333 for example)

if you still fail to load it, then write down your whole setup
i am assuming you dont have a virtual hidden partition in your SD card

a last resort:
if you downloaded the pirated version and then bought it, you will have to do a system initialize (Power+&-) (without deleteing save data) to fix and run it again (you loose all your installed Games)
 
Last edited by ZER-O,

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,658
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,243
Country
United Kingdom
You probably just need a linked Account to play the Game...
Try Linkalho to make a Fake Linked Account.
This was also a thought I just had as I'm not sure if my account is actually linked at all. Haven't checked and don't even know if I can check. All I know is that the switch has been offline for a number of years now :creep:

I created an alternate Nintendo account just before I read this to try and use it to sign in like normal when loading the game through regular internet connection rather than 90DNS, but I'll try out that homebrew first.

if you have a linked nintendo account ID, it will run offline (NSP or eShop doesn't matter) if you dont have a linked NIN ID, it wont run (use Linkalho to add an account)
use hekate sig patches, sometimes the patches dont have eShop tickets so visit your favorite sigpatches source and download another version (shadowone333 for example)

if you still fail to load it, then write down your whole setup

a last resort:
if you downloaded the pirated version and then bought it, you will have to do a system initialize (Power+&-) (without deleteing save data) to fix and run it again (you loose all your installed Games)
That's 2 voted for Linkalho. I'll give that a try then, sounds like I've not had a Nintendo ID linked for some time perhaps.

I don't use Hekate to boot, I tend to use fusee.bin but a lot of people have suggested I try Hekate Sigpatches you know. Do they just get placed in the same folder as existing patches in the respective patches folders? Does booting with fusee.bin still load the hekate sigpatches?

All a bit new to me, this is the only game I've struggled with though so I can't be doing too badly ahaha

Thanks a lot for the help guys, love this place
 
  • Like
Reactions: crazy_p

crazy_p

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
1,130
Trophies
1
XP
6,105
Country
Switzerland
There are numerous Games that need a linked Account, most of the Neo Geo Games for Example.

Here from the Linkalho Readme:

Linkalho​

Linkalho is an homebrew app that will link NNID accounts offline. It links (or unlinks) existing accounts so you won't lose your saves. This app does not create a new account. If you create a new account and want to link it, just re-run the app.


Why do I need this app?​

If you never had issues with games/apps failing to launch until you link your Switch user account and you never experienced issues with certain titles stuck in Updating game data or certain official emulators presenting you with nothing else but a black screen instead of the game selection, then you don't need to use this homebrew.
 

LightBeam

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2018
Messages
600
Trophies
0
XP
1,643
Country
France
Yeah I don't have that when I boot the game, the game just ask me if I want to connect, I select No and it boots properly, so Linkalho should do the trick in your case
 

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,658
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,243
Country
United Kingdom

Linkalho​

Linkalho is an homebrew app that will link NNID accounts offline. It links (or unlinks) existing accounts so you won't lose your saves. This app does not create a new account. If you create a new account and want to link it, just re-run the app.
This is good info. I've got an NNID (Mario Kart Tour is connected to) and I'm sure I've connected the NNID to the switch previously, as my username wouldn't be what it is if it wasn't for the character limit on NNID's ahaha

Great to know no saves will be lost as well :D

Thanks for the sudden burst of replies everyone, feeling more confident now.
 
  • Like
Reactions: crazy_p

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,658
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,243
Country
United Kingdom
There are numerous Games that need a linked Account, most of the Neo Geo Games for Example.

Here from the Linkalho Readme:

Linkalho​

Linkalho is an homebrew app that will link NNID accounts offline. It links (or unlinks) existing accounts so you won't lose your saves. This app does not create a new account. If you create a new account and want to link it, just re-run the app.


Why do I need this app?​

If you never had issues with games/apps failing to launch until you link your Switch user account and you never experienced issues with certain titles stuck in Updating game data or certain official emulators presenting you with nothing else but a black screen instead of the game selection, then you don't need to use this homebrew.
I've played around with Linkalho a little bit, linked and unlinked accounts but that's not solved the issue sadly, So, after a number of error messages and eventually connecting to the internet purely to link my official NNID, I've got to this stage:
Cannot Use Software.jpg
When connected to the internet, I can't play the software because of course it hasn't been purchased legitimately, and when disconnected from the internet this is the prompt that pops up:
Cannot Connect.jpg
So, I'm at a huge loss at what to do next. Connecting to the actual internet has caused all the games that require updates to prompt for an update before starting them now too, which is very annoying, but at least they all work correctly ahaha!

If anyone has anymore suggestions I'd be happy to hear them, would love to try the game out.
Thanks!
 
Last edited by MikeyTaylorGaming,

crazy_p

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
1,130
Trophies
1
XP
6,105
Country
Switzerland
I just downloaded the Game myself, the Game works fine even with an unliked Account...
Do you have the latest Update installed (v196608/1.0.3)?

I'm also on FW 13 / latest AMS Build as for Sigpatches these are the ones that i'm using right now.
 

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,658
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,243
Country
United Kingdom
I just downloaded the Game myself, the Game works fine even with an unliked Account...
Do you have the latest Update installed (v196608/1.0.3)?

I'm also on FW 13 / latest AMS Build as for Sigpatches these are the ones that i'm using right now.
Yeah v196608 is the version I've got installed. You don't even get a 'checking this game can be played' prompt? If you don't then I'm kinda confident this is a Sigpatches problem or atmosphere problem, but all other games work fine!

I've tried that Sigpatches download a few times already but this issue has stood each time.

Download the Sigpatches, put them in the respective folders, job done, right? I'm so confused ahahaha


UPDATE!
I figured out the problem, FINALLY! So, apparently it matters when you install the game. I Installed the game and updates etc BEFORE updating to OF13.0.0 and AMS1.1.1. I just re-installed the game (without even uninstalling it first) as a final attempt to fix this whole thing and hey presto, loaded first time with no prompts whatsoever.

I guess the updated sigpatches are required for installing games too?

So, one final question... Is there a way to get rid of all the other games update prompts now? Or will I have to scour the internet for all the latest updates for these games? :rofl:


Thanks again to everyone that helped, very much appreciative of you taking the time to.
:grog:
 
Last edited by MikeyTaylorGaming,
  • Like
Reactions: crazy_p
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://youtu.be/7EvzUBlh9Qo