Hacking (Successfully) migrated from SX OS to Atmosphere. What should I be aware of now?

cloudfe

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
387
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
2,105
Country
Belgium
I've finally taken the plunge and, thanks to this excellent guide, the procedure was relatively painless (faced a few obstacles because I'm on a Mac...).

Now I'm on the latest version of everything (I don't use Emunand), and I was wondering if there is something an "SX OS" migrant like me should be aware of, now that I'm breathing Atmosphere's air.

As an example: I already know I cannot use .XCI anymore (I'll live), but does Atmosphere also have issues when it comes to (completely) power down the Switch?

Any useful information is very welcome :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: djavs

Briglia00

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2019
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
1,263
Country
Italy
I think the most important thing you need to remember is that when you update firmware you always have to install latest sigpatches. If you forget that your games might not boot at all
 

MohammedQ8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
1,031
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
3,024
Country
Kuwait
I moved from sx os to atmo days ago thanks to this guy he made very easy. I pasted his files and folders to my sx os sd card and used my sx pro to boot to atmo.

you can use xci file after installing them. I installed xci games on atmo.



https://github.com/sthetix/HATS/releases

I am downloading pokemon bd and snt v lol
 
Last edited by MohammedQ8,
  • Like
Reactions: platanos

wiiNinja

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
644
Trophies
1
XP
1,750
Country
United States
You said that you're not using emuNand, do you ever go online? If so, chances are high that your console will be banned. Mine's already banned, but the typical setup is use your sysNand to play online, and when going into emuNand, block online access.
 

cloudfe

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
387
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
2,105
Country
Belgium
I think the most important thing you need to remember is that when you update firmware you always have to install latest sigpatches. If you forget that your games might not boot at all
Sigpatches, got it, thanks :)
And for Atmosphere updates, I simply replace the whole folder in the SD card?

You said that you're not using emuNand, do you ever go online? If so, chances are high that your console will be banned. Mine's already banned, but the typical setup is use your sysNand to play online, and when going into emuNand, block online access.
I never go online with this one, so I think I'm fine :)
 

Dust2dust

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
2,408
Trophies
2
XP
4,340
Country
Canada
You lose all rights to launch XCI files, now you have to install the fuckers in the stupid format. NSP, or whatever they are. Takes up twice the space.
Please refrain from spreading lies. Installing NSPs does not take up twice the space. Ever heard of USB installing? This has been around for at least a year, maybe two.
 

wiiNinja

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
644
Trophies
1
XP
1,750
Country
United States
I guess if someone were to install NSPs from the SD card, and thought that the NSPs have to remain on the SD card after installation, then I could see how that person could think that each game occupies twice the space.
 

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
12,947
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
16,937
Country
United States
Please refrain from spreading lies. Installing NSPs does not take up twice the space. Ever heard of USB installing? This has been around for at least a year, maybe two.
It's not a lie .. after installing the XCI as an NSP, the XCI file is still on my SD card, as is the installed NSP of the same game. I can play either one in SX OS, but I can't play the XCI in Atmosphere. That's what I mean by twice as much space.
 

djpannda

GBAtemp's Pannda
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
2,483
Trophies
3
XP
6,452
Country
United States
It's not a lie .. after installing the XCI as an NSP, the XCI file is still on my SD card, as is the installed NSP of the same game. I can play either one in SX OS, but I can't play the XCI in Atmosphere. That's what I mean by twice as much space.
but if your installing a XCI in Atmos, why are you not" deleting after install"? (unless your installing from HDD
 

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
12,947
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
16,937
Country
United States
but if your installing a XCI in Atmos, why are you not" deleting after install"? (unless your installing from HDD
I am one of those people that uses both CFWs.

The only think keeping me with SX OS now is my XCI game collection. If someone has a batch convertor to the inferior NSP format, I'll use it.
 
Last edited by Jayro,

Dust2dust

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
2,408
Trophies
2
XP
4,340
Country
Canada
It's not a lie .. after installing the XCI as an NSP, the XCI file is still on my SD card, as is the installed NSP of the same game. I can play either one in SX OS, but I can't play the XCI in Atmosphere. That's what I mean by twice as much space.
I understand better now what you mean, but you're bringing confusion, perhaps unintentionally. Installing an XCI file results in an installed XCI file. It doesn't magically turn into an installed NSP. XCI and NSP are just two different containers, like 7z and rar files.
I am one of those people that uses both CFWs.

The only think keeping me with SX OS now is my XCI game collection. If someone has a batch convertor to the inferior NSP format, I'll use it.
As you mentioned above, you can install XCI files, so why bother converting them before installation?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tokiwa

MacuCo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 4, 2021
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
Brazil
I am one of those people that uses both CFWs.

The only think keeping me with SX OS now is my XCI game collection. If someone has a batch convertor to the inferior NSP format, I'll use it.
Can't NSCB do that? Convert XCI to NSP in batchs? I know its possible to select a bunch of files and you can choose to not merge them.
 

Tokiwa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2017
Messages
235
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
1,652
Country
Brazil
You don't need to convert XCI anymore, most installers can install XCI directly without the need to convert first. Like DBI and Tinfoil, you can also install via usb so no need to keep the files on your sd card, just keep on your computer or usb drive.
 

DCarnage

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 9, 2021
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
523
Country
United States
I've finally taken the plunge
Same here, I did it last night, it was extremely easy. Thank you devs for you're awesome apps! About 1 hour after migrating, my switch would only boot to OFW... Checked the SD card, all was well. Opened it up thinking I may need to resolder (even though the solder job was solid and clean) and all looked well. A sliver of thermal past was on one of the solder points, I cleaned it off and I was booting back into emunand without issue. Scared me for a bit.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @realtimesave, Good thing I keep it clean lol.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    OJ now featured in Mortal Kombat?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    He doesn't have a fatality but the lights go out and the opponents head falls off
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    With him claiming he didn't do it.
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    how is everyone doing
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @realtimesave the samsung cable where did you buy it from
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    from samsung website or local walmart/best buy/target
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    probably 99cent only
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    I have a new samsung one here
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    amazon sells fake apple and Samsung cables because they are sourced thru third party disturbers
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @realtimesave the cable i have been after is the usb c cable
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    the official one for the pro cotnroller
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    cables get lost when you have little kids in the home, little brothers ect
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    i know i can use any usb c cable but the ocd ect of wantign to have everything with th ebrand
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    I flipped over the cable and it worked so maybe it's the cable.. I could just plug in the one the phone came with
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    USB C cables vary wildly in quality and price doesn't seem to factor in. I have had expensive ones and cheap ones and they either last forever or go bad in a couple of months.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    you guys hear there's a whole group of anti-pedo vigilantes on roblox?
  • Anrei @ Anrei:
    are they actual vigilantes or some kids yelling I hate pedos
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Roblox? Is that like robot Legos?
  • Anrei @ Anrei:
    i'd say more playmobile
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    actual vigilantes
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    like, get them banned
  • Anrei @ Anrei:
    oh
  • Anrei @ Anrei:
    was hoping you meant banned irl
    Anrei @ Anrei: was hoping you meant banned irl