stuck at priiloader with no system menu?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LxTrix, Dec 19, 2009.

Dec 19, 2009
  1. LxTrix
    OP

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
    Search isn't working for me. I was modifying a wii using "Modify any Wii 4.2 & below" and i have modded other wiis with this guide i accidentally installed priiloader before the cios wads. I dont know if thats what caused this.

    Now it wont go to my system menu. I'm on 4.2u. I have the settings to autoboot the system menu but it just wont go to the system menu. It keeps loading Priiloader. No bootmii on this system either. I can get into the homebrew channel so please tell me theres a way to fix this....
     


  2. fringle

    Newcomer fringle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Canada
    What happens when you choose to load the system menu? If it black screens then the following should work.

    If you can load preloader and homebrew channel you should be able to launch wad manager and go from there. Reinstall the system menu ios wad first then reinstall the system menu wad file. Should be IOS70-64-v6687.wad and System Menu-NUS-v481.wad [NTSC-J = v480; PAL = v482] This will erase preloader though so make sure you do it in the right order or you will boot to a black screen and the wii will be bricked.
     
  3. LxTrix
    OP

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
    IOS70-64-v6687.wad first and then System Menu-NUS-v481.wad correct?
     
  4. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    the order doesnt matter. as long as you dont do the system menu and then turn off the wii before you install the IOS.
     
  5. LxTrix
    OP

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
    Installing IOS70-64-v6687[TB+ES_diV+NAND].wad didn't work.....

    i was also told it could be a priiloader bug
     
  6. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    shouldn't the system menu wad install needed ioses?
     
  7. LxTrix
    OP

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to uninstall preloader but it said unable to restore system menu, aborted


    EDIT: just tried uninstalling Install IOS70-64-v6687[TB+ES_diV+NAND].wad so i could reinstall it to see if that would help but when trying to uninstall says

    ret = -1017
     
  8. fringle

    Newcomer fringle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Canada
    which version of preloader are you using? If you are using .29 you may need to update it to .30
     
  9. LxTrix
    OP

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
    its actually priiloader v0.1
     
  10. fringle

    Newcomer fringle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Canada
    no experience with that one so can't say if it's buggy. What IOS is it using? Make sure it's set to 70
     
  11. LxTrix
    OP

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
    problem fixed thanks guys so much!
     
  12. Wateva

    Newcomer Wateva Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having the same issue as the people above...

    I've a 3.4U that I've downgraded to 3.2U. Everything was ok, installed cios249 R14, and got to go to the priiloader.. it installed fine but it errored out (code dump) after the install. Now I'm stuck with a black screen..

    Bootmii is installed as ios, but now I can't even access it..

    Priiloader 0.2....
     
  13. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    have u tried holding reset as the wii powers on?
     
  14. Wateva

    Newcomer Wateva Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not that stupid.. [​IMG]

    Yes, the reset does NOTHING at all... Like I've said, I'm having the same issue as above....
     
  15. fiveighteen

    Member fiveighteen High Hopes and Low Expectations

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Country:
    United States
    The guy above could get into the Priiloader menu... you're saying you can't. How is that the same?
     
  16. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    exactly what Summersett said (u beat me 2 it man, lol!)

    here is the basic rules to know when u r bricked

    1) if u have bootmii installed as boot2 and u have a nand backup, u will never be bricked (unless a ninty update removes bootmii as boot2 and u brick before getting a chance to re-install it)

    2) if u don't have bootmii as boot2 and u cannot access priiloader, or your system menu, you are bricked and there is only 1 thing u can do about it. If you fall under this category, u need a modchip (like infectus) and a nand backup + keys (from bootmii) to fix it (contact Bushing or Deadly Foez if u do not want to buy a chip but want them to simply fix it for u). Deadly Foez is working on a method to fix bricked wii's that do not have a nand backup or keys, so if u are in those situation, instead of throwing out your broken wii, donate it to Deadly Foez (search for him in this forum, I'm sure he'd be willing to cover the shipping charges if u were to donate your bricked wii to him)
     
  17. Wateva

    Newcomer Wateva Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    bootmii was installed (as IOS, couldn't install it as boot2 - strange, but it was 3.4U downgraded to 3.2U so it should be able to instal as boot2).
    no, there was no NAND backup..

    The weird thing is.. The wii shows nothing at all.. Only a black screen.. Can't even get to priiloader (I'm moving back to Preloader 0.29 - I'm still using HAXX instead of JODI, so, why not? 0.29 never let me down like this PriiLoader 0.2)...
     
  18. headveggie

    Newcomer headveggie Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Guys, I'm really having the same exact problem with priiloader v0.1

    Any tips on how LxTrix might have gotten his fixed?

    HELP IS APPRECIATED!!!
     
  19. kareem613

    Newcomer kareem613 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm having a similar problem, but not sure if its bricked.

    I turn on the wii and get a blank screen, but the wiimote connects. If I press A, it seems to boot up. I hear the system menu music. I can move the cursor and hear it hover over things, but the entire time the screen is black. Nothing showing at all.

    Any ideas?

    Priiloader installed successfully. This start the first time I held out reset and powered on. I have a NAND backup and bootmii installed as IOS.
     
  20. LxTrix
    OP

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
    I reinstalled IOS70-64-v6687.wad and System Menu-NUS-v481.wad and it fixed it.
     

Share This Page