Strange Skyward Sword problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Seventh, May 9, 2012.

May 9, 2012

Strange Skyward Sword problem by Seventh at 12:37 AM (2,951 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Seventh
    OP

    Newcomer Seventh Newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Deltona, FL
    Country:
    United States
    So the problem I'm running into is right as I get into Eldin Volcano for the first time. At a certain point in the beginning portion of the BGM, everything freezes. The music stops playing, and I can no longer control my character or use the wiimote at all. Oddly enough, animations still continue to play -- if I was walking before the freeze, Link will continue to walk in that direction indefinitely. I've tried two different ISOs but it still freezes at the same spot of the BGM. I don't think they're the problem.

    I'm playing the game through CFG USB loader v70r31,
    using a San Disk Cruzer 16GB flash drive in wbsf format.
    Game region is NTSC if that means anything.
    Running the game on cIOS 249 rev 20b and d2x cios v8 final

    Here's the Syscheck report:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Any help is appreciated, I've been trying to get this game running smoothly for days. Thanks in advance.
     


  2. toastyc12

    Newcomer toastyc12 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if the cause of your problem is the same one causing mine. I posted a thread with a similar issue here.

    I'd test Skyward Sword to see if I'm experiencing your problem, but the game won't seem to load past the intro, I get a black screen and a freeze.

    There are similarities between our cIOS's loaded, so the issue could lie with those.

    My SysCheck:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  3. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,917
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Your setup seems fine. If this problem is something you can replicate, then it is likely a problem with the wbfs file. Perhaps try re-downloading the game from a different source or creating another backup.
     
  4. toastyc12

    Newcomer toastyc12 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the advice, but this doesn't seem to be the problem. Seventh also posted that he tried acquiring his iso from two different sources, and as have I.

    On a side note, I tried updating d2x to v9r49, and this did not fix the problem either.

    EDIT: Im not trying to steal the thread from seventh, I just think the same solution would work for both of us, so it would be best we keep our efforts updated with each other.
    EDIT2: Not sure if the updated D2x is what fixed it, but skyward sword works for me now. I'll look to see if I have the same problem.
     
  5. Seventh
    OP

    Newcomer Seventh Newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Deltona, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try seeing if I can get another different source. Maybe I wasn't lucky with choosing.




    Don't worry about it, at least I have someone else to work with in solving the problem. If we can both get our respective games working again, even better. I'll look into updating the d2x and seeing if the problem persists. Appreciate the input so far.
     
  6. toastyc12

    Newcomer toastyc12 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    USB Loader GX gives me the option to boot a game using a different IOS. I haven't used CFG USB Loader, but I imagine it has a similar option. Anyways, Try playing using IOS 224. I haven't got a chance to try Another Code, but I'm able to play skyward sword without it freezing on me everytime the screen fades to black.
     
  7. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds to me like your backup is defective.
     
  8. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    I had issues running Wii games from SD. So I use USB/DVD only and they work flawlessly
     
  9. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,917
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Because retail Skyward Sword uses IOS56, it is recommended that one uses d2x with IOS56 as a base when running a backup of Skyward Sword.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. toastyc12

    Newcomer toastyc12 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have any SD cards much larger than 8 GB, and even then, it's the one I use for my R4i gold anyways. Point being, loading wii games from SD would be a very hard feat for me to begin with. USB loading is my only reliable option, as I have a handful of hard drive enclosures laying around. My laptop also does not have an optical drive, leaving DVDs out of the question.


    I've tried making 2 backups of Another Code, as well as two backups for Skyward Sword. I've also tried acquiring the games from other sources. The same copy of Skyward sword backed up on a different wii works without issue, leaving me to believe the backup itself is not the issue. I've not tested Another Code on this other wii as my friend--the owner of said wii has not gotten PAL games to boot properly yet.

    I next thought that the hard drive could be at fault, but after testing two other hard drives leaving me the same results each time, I'm doubting that to be the issue.

    My recent solution seems to be working so far, at least with Skyward Sword. I have no problems booting from IOS 224. This leaves me to believe that it is a bug present between my wii's configuration and D2x. With that in mind, I re-modded my wii following mauifrog's guide. After all was said and done, IOS224 still works better than 249 for skyward sword.

    EDIT: To clarify, when I boot Skyward Sword using d2x-v7, -v8, or v9r49 on IOS 249, The game crashes very randomly when the screen fades to black. it's not easily reproduce able, it happens randomly. When it happens, it seems the game makes no attempt to load from the HDD (There's no HDD activity.) It happened in one of three places, to my knowledge. After the WM+ calibration screen and before the intro, After the intro and before the title screen, and after the scene with the beast before the 25th anniversary logo. ONCE, I was able to advance further and get to meeting up with Zelda,but during the next cutscene when there was a fade, the game proceeded to crash. The game would likely crash in other fades such as this, given I would load a save file that much further.
     
  11. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Try doing (using the same HDD) on other Wiis EXACTLY the same steps and check if these issues occur. If they work fine, no freezes, etc, sir, you may have a defective Wii. (faulty ram/gpu/etc)

    I'd suggest you try other wii games (like zelda twilight princess, smash brawl, mario kart, and leave it all night running) if those games run fine, then, try if possible doing a DVD backup of ZSS, or use another HDD (FAT32) and use d2x7. Who knows, maybe your wii doesn't like your HDD chipset controller's

    edit: if you have another brand's SD card, HDD it would be handy to try them.
     
  12. toastyc12

    Newcomer toastyc12 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    A number of my backups work perfectly fine.

    Without naming specifics, My physicial collection consists of about 20 games that I backed up to HDD.

    As I said in my last post, I have tried various HDD enclosures. The one I have the best luck with is the Nexxtech External HDD 3.5" IDE, listed exactly in that spelling on the Compatibility List.
    The hard Drive on the inside is a Maxtor DiamondMax 21. I've scanned the hard drive and it has no bad sectors. My other enclosure tests include a Generic brand SATA encasing a WD Raptor, a SeaGate FreeAgent, and a Lacie external.

    As for SD card, I'm using a Samsung 8GB Class4. I also have a SanDisk 8 GB class4, and a polaroid 1GB for those apps non-SDHC compatible.

    The wii is used day in-day out to play games without issue. The only two titles giving me problems are skyward sword and Another Code. As I mentioned, Skyward Sword is working perfectly fine for me using IOS 224. I was hoping that the OP, Seventh, would test this to see if his problem is fixed.

    I did downgrade to D2xv7 after it was posted, and I still have issues running the game.

    Please note that I am not trying to be rude when I respond. I really do appreciate the input, and I'm simply trying to return my feedback on my tests. I also Know that I'm not the only one with such issue happening, I've googled and found quite a few results of people with issues like mine, or like seventh's. Their issues are exactly what we're experiencing, and all of their posts had gone unanswered as well. It can't be coincidence, but it's perhaps a small number of wii's that have an incompatibility with the current recommended configuration somewhere.
     
  13. Seventh
    OP

    Newcomer Seventh Newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Deltona, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the lack of response and updates on the situation. It's been a busy week for me.



    I tried loading SS through IOS 224, but I still get the same problem. I've also tried running the game through a DVD backup, and it actually plays the BGM and level perfectly for the most part -- it doesn't have that odd freeze. However, the game will instead randomly crash during load screens, as in, it'll give me the 'disc could not be read' error. I don't think it's a problem with my Wii, because I was able to play Xenoblade Chronicles on it via DVD backup with no problems at all a few days before. Anyway, maybe this particular freezing problem lies with my USB loader? I've been able to play other games off of the loader just fine though. Strange.

    EDIT: I tried running Skyward sword through USB Loader GX on IOS 224, but I still get the same problem. I guess it's not so much the loaders fault, and maybe some file's simply missing somewhere, causing the game to crash?
     
  14. toastyc12

    Newcomer toastyc12 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    it's a very brute force solution, but if we can't come across any way to fix it, you might have to brave your way through the level until you can save and switch back to the loader. I don't think CFG USB loader would be at fault.

    Do you have any other external medium you can test? or if you're willing to convert your drive to FAT32, you could use windows to scan it for bad sectors.

    After I did a bit of searching around, I've read that the Multi3 backup release was of poor quality, and the Sushi release is better. Something to look for as I can't provide you with the link.

    You might be able to try completely re-soft modding your wii. I'm not sure what the popular method is at the latest, but I like to use Mauifrog's guide myself.

    I'm still working on playing the game to get up to your level, it's just taking me a bit of time. I'm hoping to find a good solution, since I'm looking forward to playing this game.
     
  15. C-Kronos

    Member C-Kronos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    United States
    I'd suggest using modmii to update all of the IOS files on your Wii, and use CFG USB Loader to load your games from a USB HDD. If you've pirated the game, just go out and buy it, then rip the disc yourself.. It's funny that the only people I've seen having issues with Skyward Sword (Other than the bug in the game that was Nintendo's fault) are people who have pirated it. Call it downloading backups, but if you don't actually own the disc, then it's piracy.

    I preordered the game, updated everything using modmii, and ripped the disc from within CFG USB Loader.. I haven't had a single issue out of the game.
     
  16. JN_big3

    Member JN_big3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    Philippines
    I saw a channel in Wii Shop Channel yesterday. It's a Skyward Sword Savegame update (It's free). Once you downloaded it, turn off your wifi then run the channel then just follow it.

    I already tried this channel so it won't brick your Wii. I think it repairs corrupt savegames of the Skyward Sword
     
  17. Seventh
    OP

    Newcomer Seventh Newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Deltona, FL
    Country:
    United States

    I actually did exactly this. I was able to load up the game through Neogamma R9 and play through the whole area from start to finish. To my surprise, it didn't crash once; either I'm lucky or the problem concerning the crashes seems to have fixed itself. I was prepared for a lot of hit-and-miss runs too. Anyway, I'm going to continue the game through USB loader and see if I don't have another problem with these things. If anything, at least I know I can rely on the DVD as a last resort.

    Feels a bit uncomfortable to leave the problem hanging there though. I'm more than sure I can still replicate the problem just by entering the level through the USB loader, so I'm still willing to test possible solutions.


    That may be for fixing the major bug in the game Nintendo was responsible for, by updating the save file. I'm confident the situation both Toasty and I are facing isn't related to a corrupt save file, but thanks for looking out.
     
  18. toastyc12

    Newcomer toastyc12 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    As I mentioned before, I ripped a copy of both the games mentioned before I tried downloading it. If I must rip it using only cfg usb loader, then I will. I'm more of a fan of USB loader gx though.

    I may just do the same with Another Code for the time being.


    EDIT: to help figure out what's going on, is there some sort of thing I can run on the wii that acts like logcat?
     
  19. Matheus Moore

    Newcomer Matheus Moore Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Brazil
    So... after all these years... has anyone ever found a solution?

    I have just got a wii and i'm trying to play SS and as soon as i got into Eldin I had the same error described above!

    Please... if anyone is still alive... send me an answer!
     
  20. GreyWolf

    Member GreyWolf GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,316
    Country:
    United States
    The issue fixes itself if you re-rip your game disc. There's no way to fix a bad pirated copy of a game.
     

Share This Page