Sonic Unleashed Backup launcher problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by shock44, Nov 23, 2008.

Nov 23, 2008
  1. shock44
    OP

    Newcomer shock44 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Hi. I just recently downloaded the Sonic Unleashed NTSC Fatal ISO for the wii. I burned it on my DVD+R with imgburn. I put it in and got it running on backup launcher 3.0 beta and gamma. But after the opening cutscene it gives me the read disc error and says I should check my manual. I've tried pressing + to skip the cutscene and go right to the title screen, I got to the title screen once and got to the second cutscene once and then after that cutscene it started loading the next thing and I got the error again. So then I tried launching it again and I tried to skip the first cutscene again and it gave me the error again. I've tried again and still an error. So now I can't get to the title screen. Anyone else have this problem when trying to get the game to play? If anyone has gotten it to play perfectly tell me exactly what kind of dvd you used and how exactly you burned it. Any other solutions that anyone thinks might help would be great. Thank you.
     


  2. supersonic88

    Member supersonic88 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    i got it working perfectly (so far at least)
    i played through the tutorial and till the end of the second level. opening cutscene and menu had no isuuses...lets just say i had no crashes

    i burned the image using image burn at 2.4x speed on a TDK DVD-R disc...the disc image was 1:1
     
  3. Darknesss

    Newcomer Darknesss Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Disc Read Error = Media Problem.

    I am tired of seeing "I tried Game X which everyone has gotten working but it didn't work"
     
  4. Taik

    Member Taik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    555
    Country:
    France
    Burn on DVD-R cuz DVD+R doesn't work [​IMG]
     
  5. LagunaCid

    Member LagunaCid GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    Canada
    Or, as I found out today, it could be a corrupted save prob.
     
  6. JoeyGennaro

    Member JoeyGennaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    Stop spreading rumors that Sonic Unleashed NTSC does not work - I have seen this everywhere on the net since a few people couldn't get it to work..it works PERFECTLY and yes, the FATAL release. I only patched it with brickblocker and that was it, I'm not even sure that I needed to do that but it runs so smoothly that there is not even any lag in the videos. ANY posts from here on out saying that sonic doesn't work should be removed; it's already proven that it does.
     
  7. Awesome turtwig

    Member Awesome turtwig GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    You used a DVD+R, always burn to a DVD-R.
     
  8. CooLKasT

    Newcomer CooLKasT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Works like a charm in Gamma, just burn with dvd-r.....
     
  9. malsuk

    Member malsuk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No probs on gamma with PAL wii 3.3E.

    always burnt my backups on RiTek dye DVD-R never had any problems with my gamecube and Wii backups nor XboX 360 (ritek DL dye)
     
  10. f00had

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah use DVD-R I got the game working perfectly on my PAL Wii.
     
  11. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    I burned it with Memorex DVD+R and its working fine.
    EDIT: Make sure you burn it at 4x speed.
     
  12. nicobellec

    Newcomer nicobellec Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Always use dvd-r with wii mate i had the same problems when i first started out i had some tuff disc +r they wer a nightmare!
     
  13. WhiteWingedKnigh

    Member WhiteWingedKnigh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Ummm.....
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, always use DVD-R, Maxell, Sony and Verbatim are the best brands for burning things. Also this is a reason why i hate downloading ISO's. For one they take to long to download and second all the time wasted downloading could result in a messed up ISO. So i just go to my local blockbuster, rent the game, and use Waninkokos Wii Game Dumper and just download the ISO of the original disk itself (using Wi-Fi Option), saves alot of agony!!
     
  14. RyoutaDDC

    Newcomer RyoutaDDC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Wth Dude, he isn't spreading rumors he just said he has a problem getting it to work.
     
  15. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    I'm with everyone else here, My backup works, Burned on a Sony DVD-R

    +R Gives a lot of people a lot of trouble and can fail after a short while as I'm frequently seeing around here.
     
  16. shock44
    OP

    Newcomer shock44 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Alright thanks everyone. I'll try burning it on a DVD-R and I'll let you know if it works.
     
  17. shock44
    OP

    Newcomer shock44 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Alright I tried a sony dvd-r and it didnt work at all. So I tried a Memorex dvd+r again and I went to imgburn and then I clicked on change booktype button and clicked samsung tab cuz thats the brand of my dvd burner. Then I clicked dvd+r media in the first box then on the bottom box I chose dvd-rom and clicked change and it changed it successfully then I burned it and now it works perfectly!! Thank you guys! I used backup launcher 3.0 gamma and did the reboot and started it and it works perfectly.
     
  18. isoptera4

    Newcomer isoptera4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United States
    SONY DVD+R doesn't work but MEMOREX DVD+R does. I have never had any problem with MEMOREX DVD+R discs.
     
  19. jammin614

    Newcomer jammin614 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    i burned the game on hp dvd-r at 2.4x
    using imgburn and get the error
    what do you all think i should do
     
  20. purechaos996

    Member purechaos996 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Country:
    United States
    i beg to differ all of my backups are on sony+r's and i dont have any problems with tham also i would like to say DVD+r's do work people ok stop saying thay dont the fact is they do if you burn them properly (set the booktype or burn at a slow speed) also i dont intend to act like a ... so im sorry if i came on that way
     

Share This Page