Some trouble with a backup...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tenshiflo, Nov 9, 2008.

Nov 9, 2008
  1. tenshiflo
    OP

    Newcomer tenshiflo Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    Hi everyone,

    I didn't know anything about homebrews and stuff until last week ; some search over the internet has brought me to the wonderful world of Wii hacking! But I got some trouble with a backup, though. Let me explain...
    I've installed on my Wii (PAL, no chip) :
    -The Homebrew Channel (using the Twilight Hack)
    -ciOS 36
    -Wiigator's Backup Loader v0.3
    -And, as I was experiencing some difficulties, I downloaded GeckoOS 1.07b, just to try...

    So I burnt a dump of Harvest Moon (NTSC US), at different speeds (1x, 2x, 2.4x, 3x), on both DVD+R and -R ; I tried patching it with WiiBrickBlocker and Backup_creator. The game loads without any trouble and I'm able to play for some time, until it freezes. It's totally random freezing : there's no typical action I can't do, no place I can't specifically go... It just freezes, sometimes after an hour, sometimes after 30sec. My wiimote shuts down and I have to shut the Wii down manually. I tried lots of things : burning the game without patching, forcing NTSC mode, changing my SD card... I even burnt a different dump, nothing seems to work... I eventually tried to launch the game with GeckoOS, but it keeps telling me "Error : NoDVD" (which I assume is normal. GeckoOS isn't supposed to launch backups, right? If I'm wrong, please tell me!). What's bothering me is that Harvest Moon is listed as "playable" in the compatibility list... And I read on some other topics that some people played through it without getting any trouble. Is there anything I did wrong? Is it my lense? My Wii? Whenever I launch the backup, the Wii makes some clicking noises, has it anything to do with my problem or is it normal? Should I clean my Wii? Is it just the game that's not 100% playable? Anyway, I'm feeling EXTREMELY frustrated! [​IMG] And if anybody could provide me answers, I would be SO grateful.
    Well... I hope someone's gonna save my poor little farm [​IMG] Thanks by advance!

    Oh, and I hope my english isn't THAT bad... [​IMG]
     
  2. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    try softchip to run your backup use a 1:1 backup
     
  3. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    From what your saying , i would think the issue is with the discs your using ... same discs all the time i assume ?

    I think the disc is overheating , they dye in it is getting corrupted and unable to be read by the wii which is leading to random freezes in the game.

    Try a different brand and burn the same way you did to get the game working ... DONT use DVD+RW or -RW cause they do that

    Try DVD-R and a decent brand and see how it works out.
     
  4. tenshiflo
    OP

    Newcomer tenshiflo Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    Well, thanks for your advice... I've tried with two different brands, though. Verbatim DVD+R ; burnt at 1x, 2x and 3x ; and Philips DVD-R, burnt at 1x, 2x, 3x... I thought these were decent brands... [​IMG] Maybe I should try with cheaper products... Which would make me a bit mad, seeing how much these DVDs costed me! [​IMG]

    Oh, and regarding softchip... It seems the compiled version of the software isn't out yet. Or maybe I should google a bit more?
     
  5. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    I use Philips DVD-r and they work fine - my workmate backed up my games using my laptop and software to Philips DVD-r and they all failed

    I got the 100 pack - she got the 25 pack - max mine burn at is 4x - hers burn at 8x , but none work, so maybe i just got lucky with the discs
     
  6. tenshiflo
    OP

    Newcomer tenshiflo Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    Damn! I bought a 50-pack, and i've already burnt like... 10 DVDs. Patched, non-patched, different speeds... I haven't tried burning at 4x, but I thought this was the speed-limit, so I assumed it wasn't worth trying. I'll give it a shot.
     
  7. quim69

    Member quim69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Andorra
    try a proper speed burn - 8x will give good results on virtually all discs.
     
  8. tenshiflo
    OP

    Newcomer tenshiflo Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    Well I just tried with softchip (rev30 from this morning), and it doesn't go further than the first loading screen... Freezing's back. Argh. I'll try burning at 4x and 8x. This is driving me nuts >.< Thanks to you all, anyway!
     
  9. tenshiflo
    OP

    Newcomer tenshiflo Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    Hey there,

    I'm back with some news. I tried to burn the iso at Max speed, as well as 4x and 8x... Doesn't get any better. I'm desperate... [​IMG]

    I've read on another site (yeah, i read a lot!) taht the game didn't allow progressive scan... Could it just be a problem regarding my TV settings???
     
  10. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    get the wiigator 0.3b cios fix by requiem4d should stop the freezing.
     
  11. tenshiflo
    OP

    Newcomer tenshiflo Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    This time, I'm lost. I think I haven't been that bad 'til now, assuming I'm a newbie. But here, help would be much appreciated. Is the "cios fix" a .wad file? Do I have to uninstall my previous cios? (Using cios uninstaller, which i have) And I can't find the file, anyway. I've read requiem4d's topic in here, but I'm a bit lost with the codes on the first page. I downloaded a backuplauncher .dol (by a link provided on the last page,) which is supposed to include cios fix (?), if I'm not mistaken ; but it doesn't work either. Is anyone kind enough to explain what I should do...?

    (This is when i feel just stupid... [​IMG] )

    Edit : Well, it seems I'm doomed. I've downloaded WiiShizzza (including requiem fix), which works perfectly fine. Apart the fact that my game keeps freezing at random... I suppose I'll just have to buy new DVDs, and keep burning until I find the right ones. Darn.
     
  12. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Running harvest moon NTSC on PAL is tricky... even with a mod chip - you need to use gecko os to boot it. Maybe you should get your hands on the PAL version.
     
  13. tenshiflo
    OP

    Newcomer tenshiflo Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    [​IMG]
    The thing is... The PAL version isn't out yet. And Rising Star is gonna translate it around 2029. This is why I thought the NTSC version was a good idea...
     

Share This Page