Hacking Some questions before i purchase an acekard..

RyoHazuk1

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So i'm new to the whole flash cart thing with the DS, although I am very computer savvy. So i'm sure everything will be easy for me to understand, it's just a matter of which flash cart I should get. I've been reading on the acekard and it seems very solid compatibility wise and what not. So I think this will be my choice I just want to know from everyone who has one first though on what your opinion is? Is there a better cart out there than the acekard with higher compatibility? my main concern is just playing games not worried too much about homebrew to be honest.

I apologize if this is the wrong section for this, just trying to find some help before I make my final decision.

Edit: also would you say 2gb is enough or should I go with 4gb if I plan on putting gba games on there too with the whole ez 3 in 1 expansion pack thing.

ssjkakaroto

Trophies
XP
Country
AK2 has indeed a very good compatibility. I have yet to find a game that does not work with it. I only found some glitches with the Castlevania series, but this is a know limitation of AK2 reading speed.
Also the AKAIO Team is always improving compatibility and fixing bugs, which is a very positive point IMHO.

Since you're going to be playing GBA games too, I suggest you get a 8GB card so that you won't have to worry about space any time soon.

Bri

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Since you're asking your question on the Acekard forum, it's likely that you'll get mainly positive responses about the Acekard 2. That said, the Acekard 2 has one of the nicest menus of any flash cart.

You might consider the CycloDS if you find that real-time game state dumps are something you'd use, but I don't personally think it's worth the substantial additional cost for that feature.