Softmod (Twilight Hack) vs Mod Chip (Wii Key 2)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by IOwnAndPwnU, Jan 4, 2009.

  1. IOwnAndPwnU
    OP

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay. So I've spent most of my 2 days (today and yesterday) compiling information whether I should get the mod chip installed for $70 or just softmod it with the Twilight Hack. Okay so here is what I know so far, and please verify some of it.

    Mod Chip (Wii Key 2)
    -much better than the softmod but it costs money
    -does not get the HBC
    -faster loading times for the Wii, less laggy too?
    -less chance of bricking, and as far as I know, there is an option to disallow updates and region free (Quick Question: Does the mod chip install it's own menu for these settings or what?)

    SoftMod (Twilight Hack)
    -requires The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess (original)
    -installs HomeBrew Channel
    -have to use a loader through the HBC to get the backup game to work
    -allows Virtual Console games and emulators and that stuff
    -HBC has many apps
    -more chance of bricking
    -?less chance of it working in the future because its softmod?

    And I've visited wiibrew.org FYI. I'm on 3.3U. I understand that you could do both of it, but why would you want to? Should I do both?

    Questions (..): 1. If I do get the mod chip, is there a chance of the backup games not working? Would I have to use the HBC then and use some loader or something?
    2. What is less chance of bricking?
    3. What provides better gaming for Wii backups (e.g. speed)?
    4. What is less errors and stuff in the long run (lol kinda stupid question)?

    By the way, my parents .. yeah .. have said that I should just go with the more safer and more reliable method which I believe is the mod chip.

    P.S. I don't need to know HOW to do it because I've already found that.

    So basically, what should I do. I don't really care about the homebrew stuff (but I guess it's good, right?).

    Thanks, IOwnAndPwnU
     


  2. jonnythefox

    Newcomer jonnythefox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You can install HBC with a mod chip. They provide you with an iso on their site as I recall.

    I think I'll end up getting a wiikey, mainly because I'd like to have access to the future firmware upgrades that ninty provides.
     
  3. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    I'd say Wiikey, because it has better compatibility I think. Also GameCube games.
    1. Maybe, but Wiikey can be updated, and I'm pretty sure backup loaders dont work alongside modchips.
    2. Modchip, because it doesn't modify the software of the Wii, but you can damage your Wii if you install incorrectly.
    3. Modchip because the backup loader runs at a slower speed which was 3x or 4x if I remember correctly
    4. As said, I have a Wiikey 1, and works fine with all my games, except my original Super Smash Bros. Brawl because I've been too lazy to update my Wiikey, and the backup copy works anyways.
     
  4. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Both, and stop messing around with your Wii if you don't want to brick it...!!! [​IMG]
     
  5. IOwnAndPwnU
    OP

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    @ether2802: I thought you said it's not possible to mod a Wii with 3.3U (or above)?

    Also, do I need gamecube controllers for the Wii Key 2 config disc (or whatever that is).
     
  6. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    I think so, I used my friend's config disc, so I can't check, but it uses GC homebrew sorta thing so Wiimote doesn't work

    The update disc allows the power and reset button though.
     
  7. dnmn8r

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    nup, you use the reset button on your wii to navigate the menu, its a little painful but it does the job..
     
  8. IOwnAndPwnU
    OP

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, okay lol
     
  9. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    I have the HBC and a Wiikey installed, so I can give a good evaluation of both.

    Wiikey
    -MUCH better compatibility (100% in your own region) and plays games just like they were intended to.
    -No lagging, slow loading times, or WiFi issues. Plays like it were the real thing.
    -It's not free.
    -Have to be knowledgeable with opening the Wii and must have prior soldering experience.
    -No patching involved. Just dump the games and burn them.
    -Works with Gamecube games!!! Also I'd like to note that you can put more than 1 Gamecube game on a disc, which is another cool feature.

    Backup Loader

    -100% free of charge. No money involved.
    -Can boot through a separate channel- no need for HBC.
    -Compatibility is getting better but still not at 100%.
    -No soldering or opening of the Wii involved. It's all software.
    -Some games work but are laggy/have slow loading times.
    -Other games have issues with WiFi connectivity.
    -Some games have to be patched in order to play correctly.
    -No Gamecube support (yet).

    Hope this helps!
     
  10. IOwnAndPwnU
    OP

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, so I am DEFINITELY getting a mod chip installed because I've confirmed that it provides a much better gaming experience (non-laggy, no slow loading times, wi fi works, 100% compatibility).

    But now the question is: Do I need to perform the Twilight Hack before I get it modded to get the 3.2U firmware, and is there any risk in it?

    P.S. I think I have a solution (TH first and then mod chip).
     
  11. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine on any firmware, 3.2U is just better then the other in my opinion, (and maybe others, but I don't check) and I only have it because I'm too lazy to update.
     
  12. IOwnAndPwnU
    OP

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    I should probably ask about my friends and what about his since he has 3.4U but honestly I don't care really...but then again, he is getting me the game to borrow ..
     
  13. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Modchips work on any firmware (that's an advantage I should have put in my post). 3.2U is just a better firmware because it lets you install Starfall, which protects you from banner bricks. A banner brick is when you install a bad WAD (channel) and renders your Wii useless. But that's totally unrelated to modchips. So if you're not going to install any channels, don't worry about the firmware.

    Another thing I want to add: since you're in Canada, you should get your modchip from Modchipcentral. That's where I got mine from since they don't sell modchips in the USA. You'll get it in no time.
     
  14. Matt93

    Member Matt93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    469
    Country:
    United States
    A modchip will allow you to play all of your backups natively without any loader. It shouldn't give you any problems.

    With a softmod, you can do pretty much the same as thing as a modchip and save yourself $70. A softmod is safe. You can easily brickproof yourself by installing the twilight hack and starfall. Loading times will be slightly slower, and you won't be able to play Gamecube backups. That is the only downside to a softmod. There are many homebrew apps, and you can even use your Wii as a DVD player. Every now and then a new game doesn't work, but the issues are always quickly worked out with a new release of the loader right away. For example, the 002 error you used to get with games like Need For Speed Undercover.

    If you do get a modchip, do both, and have all the good stuff. You will be out $70 though.
     
  15. IOwnAndPwnU
    OP

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    From where I'm going to get my Wii modded is from this guy who did my cousin's Xbox 360 (seems good). I'm not doing it myself though. lol

    I see. I think I should just get the mod chip and that's it? Like I definitely don't want to risk my Wii getting bricked.

    What does the Homebrew Channel even offer? Can I play virtual console games without it (like putting it on SD card or through DVD, NOT buying it through the Shop Channel).
     
  16. Matt93

    Member Matt93 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    469
    Country:
    United States
    For vc games you need to run a homebrew app called Wadmanager to install them.
     
  17. IOwnAndPwnU
    OP

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Also meaning I have to get the HomeBrew Channel?

    But the WiiKey official states:
    so how would this work then?

    Also, can I just instill the HBC through some disc if my Wii is modded?
     
  18. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    I didn't say it has to be on 3.2 or earlier to have a ModChip, I saw it on other topic and even I was surprised by that, but I guess I missread it...!!! [​IMG]
     
  19. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Wadmanager goes through the Homebrew Channel.
    If your Wii is 3.2U then you can installl it through the disc, else you need the Twilight hack
    Homebrew in GC mode means GC homebrew.
     
  20. IOwnAndPwnU
    OP

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada

    Answer please?
     

Share This Page