Softmod for PS3 yet?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by pitoui, Oct 12, 2008.

Oct 12, 2008

Softmod for PS3 yet? by pitoui at 4:45 AM (18,387 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. pitoui
    OP

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey guys, I just saw a bloke I know and he told me that a PS3 softmod is available. I've done a bit of research and I can't find anything.
    Is he talking crap?
     
  2. cupajoe

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. He is talking crap.
     
  3. cepheus

    Member cepheus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Ottawa - THE CAPITALLLLLL!!!!!
    Country:
    Canada
    currently, it is impossible to mod the ps3 without it bricking within the month (or whenever sony releases an update).

    so sorry, no soft mod available.
     
  4. pitoui
    OP

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks guys. Next time I see him I'll tell him to wipe his mouth.
     
  5. cupajoe

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Haha. Punch him square in the teeth. [​IMG]
     
  6. aharvey80

    Newcomer aharvey80 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As you say, it is possible but not without it bricking on an update.......

    Maybe thats all the guy ment by saying it is possible, maybe he just wanted to let his friend know that it can be done without having to go into any details.

    Of course the PS3 can be hacked, its just not wise to do it. A guide that was released a few years back that also stated that an update would probably brick the console, proved to be right when plenty of PS3 owners had dead machines after beta testing the only method publicly released. Not many hackers have been working on the PS3 or its exploits up till now due to the 360 being more popular but that is slowly changing with so many people now boycotting LIVE.
     
  7. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Bullshit. There was never any guide.. the PS3 was never hacked. On ANY firmware. There's no risks of 'bricking' it, you can't modify it AT ALL. And even if you could get some custom firmware or something on it, WHY would you think it would brick? You can just not update it like the PSP. No, you won't be able to play online, or access the PSN store, but why would that brick it? Even if you went straight to official firmware (in theory, there ISN'T CFW for PS3 ftr) it wouldn't brick.
     
  8. grimmreapervi

    Newcomer grimmreapervi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Stick to the wii for all your softmodding needs ;p
     
  9. lightyear

    Member lightyear GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United States
    There is a PS3 mod available....you guys are all wrong [​IMG] Haha The only problem is it's not for PS3 games....it's for PS2 games [​IMG] Mcboot works on a PS3 as long as you are only using it for PS2 loading [​IMG]
     
  10. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Actually, there was a few hacks around in 1.xx days which enabled Homebrew and Running PSX/2 off of a HDD but they got fixed within the first month and have been no hacks since, supposedly there is a Modchip in the making but only time will tell.
    And @lightyear, No, FMCB has never worked on PS3, you're the one who's wrong here.
     
  11. DarkCamui

    Member DarkCamui GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Country:
    Sweden
    If you have a PS3 that's capable of playing PS2 games then you can play PS2 backups and imports including PS2 homebrew such as snes station etc. You can either open up your PS3 and do this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=59CHNMuTDc8 or use this trick http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lCUPptSkLpc though USB is restricted to 1.1 speeds so most games run horrible. I myself use the swap trick to play some of my PS2 imports.
     
  12. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Source?
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Congrats on resurrecting a Year and half (almost) old thread.
     
  14. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm sure you could find some information by googling, i'm on my mobile right now anyway.
     
  15. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Nope, I can't.
     
  16. Old Reprobate

    Newcomer Old Reprobate Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Washington
    Country:
    United States
    You know me and my friends have talked often about why the PS3 hasn't been hacked yet, we believe that due to the cost (buying a burner and, the media) and coupled with Sony allowing you to install different O/S's (on the first one only) that there hasn't been a high demand for it. You can get the same resolution and graphics for all the big titles on the 360 so why would you need to pay more money. You can also stream media to the 360 so there is really no advantage to owning on for say having a blue ray drive.

    My opinion is completely bias as I do not own a PS3, however; how say you?


    On a side note however, I did notice that waninkoko jumped ship from the Wii to the PS3.
     
  17. C175R

    Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United States
    well if it was possible to do it then it will be better to be playable on your external Hardrive of 500Gb or 1TB. that way maybe you won't have to buy a burner no bluray disc. but since its not possible..fuck it. even if it was I won't do it until its 100%safe cuz I don't wana brick my beautiful PS3 [​IMG]
     
  18. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    source for waninkoko jumping ship pls
     

Share This Page