Softmii Switching Help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Lone-Wolf, Jul 4, 2010.

Jul 4, 2010

Softmii Switching Help by Lone-Wolf at 3:41 PM (1,556 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey guys I need some help and direction on switching to Softmii.

    When I first softmodded my Wii I installed cIOS and all the Neogamma crap and stuff but now I've heard of Softmii, will it be better for me to stick with Neogamma at present or switch to Softmii/cIOSCORP/DARKCORP?

    Also a Few question:

    A) What are the Advantages of Softmii/cIOSCORP/DARKCORP over Neogamma and cIOS?
    B) Am I better not getting Softmii/cIOSCORP/DARKCORP?
    C) Where can I find a Guide to install Softmii/cIOSCORP/DARKCORP that is for the latest version?
    D) Can I have a link to download Softmii/cIOSCORP/DARKCORP?
    E) Which is better Softmii, cIOSCORP, DARKCORP

    Cheers,
    Lone
     
  2. Burton

    Member Burton Real Life VIP and Educator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Old softmii guide here.

    Some of your questions may be answered here.
     
  3. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers for the Info [​IMG]

    Two things to add also:

    A) Will Rock Band and GH Instruments work without changing cIOS and stuff?
    B) Is it removable?

    EDIT: The Link you give me to the guide has the Pictures gone, any chance you can find another?
     
  4. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    No need to use Softmii, it's absolutely outdated. To install DARKCORP just run the DARKCORRP Lite installer (if you have a network connection) or the Full installer (if you don't),
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,941
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    SoftMii is an old pack that is now outdated and unsupported, so you shouldn't get that. cIOSCORP was part of SoftMii.
    DARKCORP is the new name of cIOSCORP, so is more up to date.

     
  7. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Blue-K
     
  8. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right I "Kind" of have a problem with backing up my Wii NAND :S

    I installed Bootmii as Boot2 AND IOS and ran it. I got my Micro-SD to SD Adapter, Plugged it in and started the NAND Backup, after the second or third Line I got Ret=2 error and got my self a proper SD Card. After it successfully backed up my NAND I kinda accidental Pressed back up again, so I let it go through and to about the 5 - 7th line I get "Factory bad block marker at block 721" then the line after next I get "Factory bad block marker at block 1175", when my backup had been verified it was successful. Should I worry about these 2 Bad blocks and not attempt to go further or will it be OK for me to continue and if brick-age occurs restore my NAND using Bootmii again?
     
  9. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    No need to worry. Nearly all Wii's have bad blocks;.
     
  10. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I will be able to restore my NAND if a Brick occurs? because phew [​IMG] btw will I be able to restore the NAND even on a FULL Brick or just semi-brick? and what will happen exactly? when my wii brick's I just get the bootmii stuff, put it onto my stick and restore my NAND then all will be back to normal and I will be able to boot into wii menu or will there be other steps?

    Sorry just a bit worried sinse I heard it could brick :S
     
  11. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    That would be the case if you had Bootmii as boot2. If you get full-bricked with Bootmii as IOS there are people who can fix it with a fee, but only if you have a NAND backup.
     
  12. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OMG Thanks for the help guys [​IMG] Just one last thing:

    This PRELOADER Crap do i need to bother with it or is it a must if installing DARKCORP? I mean If I do NEED to install it which do I install first? PRELOADER then DARKCORP or Vice-versa? And what does PRELOADER do along side with DARKCORP?
     
  13. leondmsmith

    Member leondmsmith GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Preloader is far from crap, it loads system menu hacks to allow you to play out of region games amongst other things. You can run it after the darkcorp installer. Reading is key
     
  14. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Priiloader should be especially useful if you really want to use DARKCORP because you'd actually be using the system menus disc channel to load games so you would want to block disc updates with priiloader if you want to load things through that and not just another backup loader.

    You really should know more about CIOSCORP/DARKCORP before actually using it though. The main thing to know about it is that you will be modifying a majority of the official IOS's on your system and essentially turning them into cIOS's (as opposed to just installing a cIOS to an unused IOS slot not affecting any official ones) so that you can click on the disc channel instead of a backup loader channel and get slightly better compatibility with maybe a handful of games that you might not even play anyways.

    And about restoring nand backups, unless you have bootmii installed to boot2 and that's the only thing you can access and everything else doesn't work at all you shouldn't resort to restoring the nand backup to fix your brick. If you can access the HBC or something to get to wad manager or whatever you would need to fix whatever you fucked up, you should read up and figure out how to properly fix your brick instead of just restoring the NAND right away. If you don't have bootmii installed to boot2, there is pretty much no situation where restoring your nand through IOS bootmii would be the best solution to your brick.
     
  15. Lone-Wolf
    OP

    Newcomer Lone-Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks SOO Much guys, just installed DARKCORP and PRELOADER Successfully on my 3.2E PAL WII this morning before school [​IMG] BTW I used the "Skip Update Check" and "Region Free..." Scripts in the hacks.ini file used by Preloader and it's working 101% [​IMG]

    THANK-YOU!
     

Share This Page