Hardware So I broke in...

clegion

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
1,612
Trophies
0
Website
cfatalis.blogspot.com
XP
211
Country
United States
I broke in and bought a 3ds(from play asia) and kid icarus
its wonderful and fine, the build quality is great , although it hurts my eye and hand, then... I tried to charge, I plugged in the charger and connect my 3ds, lo and behold, the battery won't charge, there is no light whatsoever, the battery just stay there , drained. Anyone been getting this?
 

CrimzonEyed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
2,492
Trophies
1
Age
33
XP
746
Country
I broke in and bought a 3ds(from play asia) and kid icarus
its wonderful and fine, the build quality is great , although it hurts my eye and hand, then... I tried to charge, I plugged in the charger and connect my 3ds, lo and behold, the battery won't charge, there is no light whatsoever, the battery just stay there , drained. Anyone been getting this?
Does it work witht the loading station?
 

PsyBlade

Snake Charmer
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
2,204
Trophies
0
Location
Sol III
XP
458
Country
Gambia, The
You might have the wrong charger for your region (play asia vs. US).
Check that the plugs actually fit and that the input voltage/frequency matches.
 

clegion

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
1,612
Trophies
0
Website
cfatalis.blogspot.com
XP
211
Country
United States
I am in aussie now , using a US 3ds, I am using an adapter , the plug fits perfectly fine, just like every other laptop/DS/PSP./Vita Plug I have been using, the voltage and frequency is well within range too, doesn't work either with the dock

attention grabbing what?
 

YamiHoshi.nl

I'm MKGirlism.
Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
671
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Tokyo
Website
www.dshack.org
XP
481
Country
Voltage in Australia is different, so it won't work.
My Japanese Charger works fine in Japan and America (= the same thing), but doesn't work in Europe (UK Charger works fine in Europe, although they have a totally different plug).
 

Deltaechoe

The Dopefish
Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
511
Trophies
0
XP
265
Country
United States
If you bought a 3ds made for a different country you have to remember that there are two main power standards. You may just need to get an adapter for the house plug
 

YamiHoshi.nl

I'm MKGirlism.
Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
671
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Tokyo
Website
www.dshack.org
XP
481
Country
It still won't work, if the Voltages are wrong.
I've got an any country to Europe plug at home, my Japanese 3DS Charger doesn't work, but my UK 3DS Charger does work.
Both are Genuine Nintendo Chargers, both are used on the same 3DS.

Why? Because the Japanese Charger only supports 110 to 115 Volts, while we have 230 Volts in Europe, so way to little to make it work.
My Japanese PS Vita Charger, however, works on the same plug.
Why? Because PS Vita's Charger supports 110 to 240 Volts, which is good for any country you can think of.
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Savior of the broken
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
28,030
Trophies
4
Location
Making a non-binary fuss
XP
39,638
Country
Antarctica
Don't you mean broke down?
Also if you are trying to use an American charger in another country, you need an adapter to convert the American plug in to that country's plug.
 

VMM

Hamon > Stand
Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2010
Messages
3,132
Trophies
2
Age
33
XP
2,243
Country
Brazil
It still won't work, if the Voltages are wrong.
I've got an any country to Europe plug at home, my Japanese 3DS Charger doesn't work, but my UK 3DS Charger does work.
Both are Genuine Nintendo Chargers, both are used on the same 3DS.

Why? Because the Japanese Charger only supports 110 to 115 Volts, while we have 230 Volts in Europe, so way to little to make it work.
My Japanese PS Vita Charger, however, works on the same plug.
Why? Because PS Vita's Charger supports 110 to 240 Volts, which is good for any country you can think of.

Probably Australia uses between 220 and 240 Volts,
using a charger that do not support these voltages will damage the chager and in some cases the eletronical equipment of the charger.

Now you will have to buy a new charger with the correspondent voltage


 

YamiHoshi.nl

I'm MKGirlism.
Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
671
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Tokyo
Website
www.dshack.org
XP
481
Country
Actually, VMM, my unsupported Chargers didn't damage, they just didn't turn on.
I was disappointed to see me being unable to charge my 3DS, but I've learned about the Voltages quickly.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    I'm sure i could build one with the schematics if made available
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    the 2nd pic dun show much, just topdown view of the layout
  • Y @ yqw:
    someone has a cheat table for need for speed most wanted 2012?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The cheat codes 911 catch the crazy drivers
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I mean that game came out on every game system, so lets be a little more vague.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I need cheats for GTA v, lol. And why ask here, go look for them yo self!
    +2
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    make 'em , they're not hard to do
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Fast and Furious Night Rider crossover !
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The Rocks going to get mad when he heard he got cheated on
    +2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yea my monitors are definitely more than 3.9 feet away from my pc tower. But not like I'm gonna be buying a $3000 graphics card/monitor.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    yawn
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nighty night
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Let the bed bugs bite
  • a_username_that_isnt_cool @ a_username_that_isnt_cool:
    That's truly a 9D64B8_14A2C6A294CA2_000.ppm moment (please help i am addicted to TJAaRP)
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Wut TF?
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i went through 4 monitors in 2 years, shit keeps breaking
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    brand name means shit
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol my neighbors got high and decided to ask me for some vanilla extract to bake cookies
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i would probably hand over some brandy to substitute it
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    If they didn't want have kids I would've mixed gin inside it
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    lemme check on my space cake
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Why isn't my cookies baking? *checks the freezer*
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Why isn't my cookies baking? *checks the freezer*