So I broke in...

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by clegion, May 29, 2012.

May 29, 2012

So I broke in... by clegion at 1:57 PM (1,761 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. clegion
    OP

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    I broke in and bought a 3ds(from play asia) and kid icarus
    its wonderful and fine, the build quality is great , although it hurts my eye and hand, then... I tried to charge, I plugged in the charger and connect my 3ds, lo and behold, the battery won't charge, there is no light whatsoever, the battery just stay there , drained. Anyone been getting this?
     
  2. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    Does it work witht the loading station?
     
  3. R2DJ

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Attention grabbing title much?
     
    4 people like this.
  4. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    You might have the wrong charger for your region (play asia vs. US).
    Check that the plugs actually fit and that the input voltage/frequency matches.
     
  5. clegion
    OP

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    I am in aussie now , using a US 3ds, I am using an adapter , the plug fits perfectly fine, just like every other laptop/DS/PSP./Vita Plug I have been using, the voltage and frequency is well within range too, doesn't work either with the dock

    attention grabbing what?
     
  6. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Voltage in Australia is different, so it won't work.
    My Japanese Charger works fine in Japan and America (= the same thing), but doesn't work in Europe (UK Charger works fine in Europe, although they have a totally different plug).
     
  7. Deltaechoe

    Member Deltaechoe The Dopefish

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    509
    Country:
    United States
    If you bought a 3ds made for a different country you have to remember that there are two main power standards. You may just need to get an adapter for the house plug
     
  8. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    It still won't work, if the Voltages are wrong.
    I've got an any country to Europe plug at home, my Japanese 3DS Charger doesn't work, but my UK 3DS Charger does work.
    Both are Genuine Nintendo Chargers, both are used on the same 3DS.

    Why? Because the Japanese Charger only supports 110 to 115 Volts, while we have 230 Volts in Europe, so way to little to make it work.
    My Japanese PS Vita Charger, however, works on the same plug.
    Why? Because PS Vita's Charger supports 110 to 240 Volts, which is good for any country you can think of.
     
  9. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,721
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Don't you mean broke down?
    Also if you are trying to use an American charger in another country, you need an adapter to convert the American plug in to that country's plug.
     
  10. clegion
    OP

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    I did buy an adapter
    my adapter says
    Input/output
    100v-250v ~50/60hz

    so in other word I have to buy a local charger? for the 3ds to charge?
     
  11. VMM

    Member VMM Full Hollow Cero

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,950
    Country:
    Brazil
    Probably Australia uses between 220 and 240 Volts,
    using a charger that do not support these voltages will damage the chager and in some cases the eletronical equipment of the charger.

    Now you will have to buy a new charger with the correspondent voltage


     
  12. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Or "Caved In" :P
     
  13. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Actually, VMM, my unsupported Chargers didn't damage, they just didn't turn on.
    I was disappointed to see me being unable to charge my 3DS, but I've learned about the Voltages quickly.
     
  14. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    that adapter is probably only mechanical one that does not change voltage/frequency
     
  15. gamefan5

    Member gamefan5 Kid Icarus Uprising connoiseur

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,835
    Location:
    Somewhere in this Earth
    Country:
    Canada
    The title is misleading as hell.
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. Themanhunt

    Member Themanhunt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly. If you want it to work, you will need the other kind of adapter that changes voltages (so to speak).
     
  17. clegion
    OP

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, bought some generic usb charger (you know the one that comes with accesories with multiple heads like ipod, psp, ds etc etc) and wala , it worked
    thanks Gbatemp
     

Share This Page