snes emulators

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Jerme, Sep 1, 2008.

Sep 1, 2008

snes emulators by Jerme at 12:54 AM (2,391 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Jerme
    OP

    Banned Jerme Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    is there a snes emulator with that super gf chip support? so i can play starfox
     
  2. ShiningSaber

    Member ShiningSaber Tiger

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Clemson, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    It's too powerful for the DS to emulate.
     
  3. Jerme
    OP

    Banned Jerme Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    i thought DS HAD DA POWWA!!!!!!!
     
  4. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, the DS is a weakass piece of shit. [​IMG]
     
  5. FlyingPretzel

    Member FlyingPretzel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Israel
    well
    i have gba on my cellphone
    and
    snes on my cellphone
    so whats the deal ?

    (i have nokia 6120 which is not that strong
     
  6. ShiningSaber

    Member ShiningSaber Tiger

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Clemson, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Does it play Super Mario RPG?
    Also, some cellphones are more powerful than the DS. An ipod nano 3rd generation is.
     
  7. Monster On Strin

    Member Monster On Strin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    The other side of the internet
    Country:
    United States
    the ds will not play super mario rpg
    I dont think snes emulation will go very far for the ds
     
  8. laminaatplaat

    Member laminaatplaat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    you could try SNEmulDS it doesnt emulate 100% correct but i had some fun with super mario all stars, super star wars worked very bad, chrono trigger didnt boot and super metroid was okayish.
     
  9. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Buy a PSP if you want EMU
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Just a slight difference compared to the DS with its 66 MHz and 33 MHz processors and 4 MB of RAM.
     
  11. Mohawkinist

    Newcomer Mohawkinist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Canada
    May I ask this, I have the nds file of snemulds in my games folder, the cfg in the root directory, and 2 SNES roms (.smc) also in main folder of my TTDS, why doesnt the brew show any of the 2 games when i "select a rom"? Like its blank, as if I put in it in a wrong place
     
  12. sconethief

    Member sconethief GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    buy a psp or a pandora.... or buy star fox command >.>
     
  13. aaron91

    Newcomer aaron91 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I think once the developer of SnemulDS gets back into the swing of things SNES emulation will really pick up. Genesis emulation is really good from what I've seen and they are both 16 bit consoles.
     
  14. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Put your ROMs in a directory called /SNES/ in the root (main folder).
     
  15. redviper

    Newcomer redviper Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Germany
    It's not that easy. Genesis used no extra processors in the game cartridges. SuperFX games included a 10.5 MHZ RISC co-processor and SuperFX2 games had a dual-core processor with a speed of 21 MHz. The SA-1 chip, included in Super Mario RPG and Kirby Superstar, was also clocked with 10 - 20 MHz.

    In order to play Star Fox 2 on a 66MHz DS you have to emulate the SNES Main Processor with 3.6 MHz + the SuperFX2 with 21 MHz which wasn't even fully enjoyable on a 100 MHz Pentium.

    Conclusion: Never ever expect those games emulated on DS.
     
  16. aaron91

    Newcomer aaron91 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I feel that in time the games will at least be playable.
     
  17. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Don't count on it. Even PSP runs some SNES games without special chips a bit slow at default settings, due to heavy use of transparency and other effects. Let alone DS.

    Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy VI, and Castlevania Dracula X come to mind.

    Kirby Super Star does "run", but its special chip makes the performance much too slow.
     
  18. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Not strictly true. I know that Virtua Racing included an SVP, but as far as I know it was the only one to do so.
     
  19. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    For some reason this forum doesn't like the codes... the last part of the Chrono Trigger one is supposed to be "11C47=42D3" but it seems to have cut off the last 3.
     

Share This Page