1. Geridious4

    OP Geridious4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey everyone, hope the day is going well, so i'm sure this is an easy fix but I cant seem to get it right.

    I've tried so many different tutorials on installing retroarch on the switch, i put it on the front end of the switch, installed mupen for the emulator, but i just can't seem to get completely smooth emulation for n64 games on the switch. Running pokemon stadium stutters here and there, same with Mario kart, don't know if this is a well known thing or not, but just can't seem to get a grasp on it, hard to play them when it almost freezes for a split second.

    if someone has zero issues running the games and could post a link to a tutorial they followed i'd really appreciate it, not quite sure what else i can do, thanks so much everyone.
     
  2. Bunie

    Bunie #1 Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    N64 games usually run fine for me, are you using Mupen64-Plus-Next? could also try overclocking a bit. i dont think its needed anymore though.
     
  3. Geridious4

    OP Geridious4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks for the reply, yeah i'm using Mupen-64-plus
     
  4. Kerbangman

    Kerbangman GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    510
    Country:
    I'm in the same situation as you . Stutters when running.
    You'll find a lot of replies on here but no help on how to sort it.
     
  5. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,563
    Country:
    United States
    Mupen64-plus or Mupen64-plus-next? They’re two completely different cores.
     
    KiiWii and lordelan like this.
  6. JayMathis

    JayMathis GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    United States
    Are you guys giving yourself the extra ram by holding R on a installed switch game? If you are the only options are overclocking or fiddling with settings. There is no other way to sort it as long as you are using the latest version of Mupen64Plus-Next.
     
  7. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,177
    Country:
    United States
    If overclocking and/or "Full RAM" mode doesn't help, use Lakka.
     
  8. Geridious4

    OP Geridious4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    sorry yeah plus next
     
  9. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,563
    Country:
    United States
    Huh, it should be performing fine then.
    Try messing with your core settings a bit I guess (Framebuffer emulation, and the two RDRAM options like the cause slowdown iirc), and try overclocking memory and GPU to 1600mhz and 460mhz respectively using sysclk and the CPU a bit using the builtin CPU overclocking thing.
     
  10. Geridious4

    OP Geridious4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah seems very strange, do you have a link to a guide or something that you used to install it and everything else? Would love to give it a try, maybe i'm missing something.
     
  11. JayMathis

    JayMathis GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    United States
    Some people say it's optional but I've never had luck really emulating N64 without overclocking. But I just overclock Retroarch itself.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    There's not really a guide but you're not answering our questions. Are you holding R on a switch title to get the extra ram? Are you overclocking? Even if you have the right core if you're just going to album and not giving yourself extra ram it won't work right.
     
    Last edited by JayMathis, Feb 19, 2020
  12. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United States
    LuigiXL likes this.
  13. nWo

    nWo The Game Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    454
    Country:
    Mexico
    It`s kinda strange, on my Switch it works almost flawlessly even with the hardest games, and on my son`s Switch it stutters a lot, I did the same install on both. Not sure what went wrong. But yes, golden rule: Extra RAM with R, and maybe a bit of overclock. Update the latest mupen_next core and take another shot.
     
  14. Geridious4

    OP Geridious4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks for your reply, I thought I answered it in my post but ill double check with your response, when you mean holding r on switch title, you mean havin the retroarch nsp file mounted on the switch title screen, then when i choose to open up retroarch as a switch title i should be holding R each time when i open it up?
     
  15. LightBeam

    LightBeam GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    France
    Tried to emulate Excitebike 64 but it's not running good. Thought that the emulation wasn't yet on point but after reading the posts here, maybe I should dig a little deeper into it .....
     
  16. Palom

    Palom GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    United States
    Any Switch title, installed or physical.
     
  17. Geridious4

    OP Geridious4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    just trying to figure out your example sorry if i'm not following it properly, so essentially hold R on a switch title which allows extra ram, then exit out of the title, open up retroarch load n64 rom and that should help?
     
  18. Palom

    Palom GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    United States
    When launching a title with R, the HB Menu will load instead. There, you can simply open RetroArch and get the benefits of full RAM.
     
  19. Geridious4

    OP Geridious4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks for your help, unfortunately that did not help, still get slow downs on n64 games, specifically pokemon stadium 2 and mario kart
     
  20. Geridious4

    OP Geridious4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah can't explain it, do all the typical steps but still doesn't run nice and smoothly, frustrating because i got the switch for some mobile emulation but can't seem to get it running smoothly
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Emulation, retroarch, Smooth