1. StarGazerTom

    StarGazerTom GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,027
    Country:
    How big are the distinctions between each of the files (main.dol 3DAS <-> main.dol Legacy, ect)?
    I would imagine that if cutting off the first 100 byes needs to be done, it would be to one of those executables.
     
  2. CoinKillerL

    CoinKillerL GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Italy
    I managed to get past the loading screen by disabling usedolhash, modfying the game code to GM4P and changing some other settings, but it crashes at the blackscreen, unfortunately. I tried with an european Mario Kart Double Dash iso.
     
  3. Psi-hate

    OP Psi-hate GBATemp's Official Psi-Hater
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,743
    Country:
    United States
    I commented out the external file loading stuff, like the video files, among other edits like correcting the GameID. Will see what happens.
     
  4. Tomobobo

    Tomobobo Champion.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    I think that doing the NewGame setup isn't gonna work, I setup the NewGame to load Sunshine and it did not boot.

    I gutted the config files that were easily accessable but I don't recall seeing anything that was actually specific to the file structure on the dump like nothing refers to the video/audio replace directories or the gekko stuff at all. It was mostly emulator specific stuff not rom specific.

    It's super interesting that the rebuilt rom boots.

    Currently with all the gutted config files, my best result is pointing the UID MarioSunshine in rom.json to a copy of Animal Crossing and it hangs for a good bit before erroring out.

    Actually I'm not sure how you got your rebuilt rom to boot cause if I replace the Super_Mario_Sunshine_Stardust-trimmed.hash with a bogus file I get a atmosphere error. I'm pretty sure it's still doing some kinda check with the rom vs the hash file. Even after removing anything talking about hash checks that are in easily accessable files anyway.

    Ugh nevermind, I just gutted too much, if you set "UseDolHash" : false, in hagi.config, the hash check doesn't happen.
     
    Last edited by Tomobobo, Sep 16, 2020 at 11:22 AM
    StarGazerTom likes this.
  5. StarGazerTom

    StarGazerTom GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,027
    Country:
    Sounds like focus needs to be put on just replacing the available Sunshine rom for now, leaving adding more games until later.
     
  6. Traiver

    Traiver Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    FYI, some patches are handled through the exefs. Patching romfs stuff isn’t enough to get other games working.
     
  7. Psi-hate

    OP Psi-hate GBATemp's Official Psi-Hater
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,743
    Country:
    United States
    the 'main' file in exefs needs to be edited at least, I can see some code in there relating to loading the external files.
     
    Tomobobo likes this.
  8. StarGazerTom

    StarGazerTom GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,027
    Country:
    Well that sounds like some knowledge that'll come in handy.
     
    Gladius545 likes this.
  9. AweGuy22

    AweGuy22 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Pakistan
    This is kinda unrelated, but do we know what save format the Gamecube emulator uses? I tried dumping 3D All Stars' save in Checkpoint and found a file called 'A.sav' (memory card A?), but it was suspiciously small and dolphin didn't recognise it.
     
    Last edited by AweGuy22, Sep 16, 2020 at 4:12 PM
    ShadowOne333 likes this.
  10. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,069
    Country:
    Mexico
    Maybe try filling it with dummy data until the minimum required Mem Card size is met?
     
  11. ImFire

    ImFire Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I love Double Dash and would love to run this on my Switch.
     
    Kyusetzu likes this.
  12. Dakota_Pixel

    Dakota_Pixel Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Can we see some proof or maybe an update?
     
  13. StarGazerTom

    StarGazerTom GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,027
    Country:
    I believe him, folks have managed to swap out the 3das gcm for the original gamecube one. Game crashes once the ctual gameplay starts.
     
  14. Kyusetzu

    Kyusetzu Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    Germany
    I +1 this. If someone manages to get this done, I really wanna get dm'ed.
     
    TheXpertXD likes this.
  15. Psi-hate

    OP Psi-hate GBATemp's Official Psi-Hater
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,743
    Country:
    United States
    Quite the timing for me to suddenly lose my living space. I'll be working things out, so I'll be on and off. I only got as far as getting the game to attempt to boot. Next step is configuring the main code file in exefs to not load external data.
     
    f0li0, relauby, CoinKillerL and 2 others like this.
  16. Fadi5555

    Fadi5555 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
    I hope we can find a way to add more games
     
  17. CoinKillerL

    CoinKillerL GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Italy
    Here you go, here's my attempt with Mario Kart Double Dash EUR
     
    Last edited by CoinKillerL, Sep 16, 2020 at 11:03 PM
  18. Quarions

    Quarions Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    France
    Huh that’s weird... I wonder why...
     
  19. djcraze

    djcraze GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    I’m probably being a negative Nancy, but I doubt any game will run as-is. If I understand correctly, we’ve already confirmed the emulator uses Vulkan shaders. My hypothesis is the developers manually replaced all the Flipper GPU shaders to Vulkan and are replacing them on-the-fly. If I’m correct, that means the emulator does zero GPU translation, which means no game will work unless you manually re-write all the shaders to Vulkan.

    I could be wrong. I hope I’m wrong, and I hope someone proves me wrong. But this is my 2¢
     
    KiiWii, Rizzorules and bonoboy like this.
  20. Xe24vc

    Xe24vc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    By replacing only the main.dol in the original PAL rom from the new one and booting the emulator boots to a black screen but doesn't crash you can still use the menu to continue/return to title.

    I think the main.dol should be priority.
     
    StarGazerTom and cearp like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Development, Research, SM3DAS