Sky3ds + Issue

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by 999994884, Nov 6, 2016.

  1. 999994884
    OP

    999994884 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Nov 6, 2016
    HI folks, I have recently received a sky3ds+ from a recommended re-seller. Followed all instructions that I could possibly find, and enjoyed a moment of scrolling through the correct format of games, even playing one :D. Unfortunately this ended as soon as I powered off the console, as when i powered back on no games could be selected.:wtf:

    I am currently running an old 3ds xl with 11.2 firmware, sky3ds+ firmware 112, Sandisk ultra 64gb class 10 (64 cluster, set to primary partition, formatted through easeus and guiformat) re downloaded the firmware followed all instructions again but no luck. Tried other sd cards no joy again.

    Each time the flash cart goes in it flashes green nothing shows on the ds, when i plug it back into pc it shows settings.txt has been created along with a save file for the game thats on (correct region as i had previously played it 3 hours before) but still unable to figure it out.

    I understand people on here have had similar problems from what i have read through the posts, but have not managed to have there fix working :hateit:


    Any way thanks for any response to this long winded message
     
  2. rubycrow

    rubycrow Member

    Newcomer
    47
    8
    Oct 25, 2016
    United States
    And also is your sd card formatted as FAT32?
     
  3. GothicIII

    GothicIII GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    495
    135
    Jan 4, 2015
    Gambia, The
    Stupid question. It wouldn't have worked if it wasn't.
     
  4. squee666

    squee666 Advanced Tech Pleb

    Member
    1,587
    890
    Sep 17, 2010
    Belfast
    silly reply its stopped working
     
    owek1 likes this.
  5. 999994884
    OP

    999994884 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Nov 6, 2016
    Thanks for the replies yes it is definitely set at fat32 format. Ive tried with sandisk 16, 32gb and 64gb ultra, kingston 16gb and samsung 16gb. My bad i should of added tat to the post.
     
    Last edited by 999994884, Nov 7, 2016
  6. chin261

    chin261 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    121
    34
    Nov 24, 2005
    Senegal
    setting.txt n save file -file size must be more than 0kb.

    Next, your .3ds files n your set are the same region?


    try this method. delete the setting.txt n the .sav files. only put 1 rom in the micro sd. nothing else. then put back to console to get it dectected.
     
  7. 999994884
    OP

    999994884 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Nov 6, 2016
    Thanks chin, i followed your instructions and I got a new settings.txt (1kb) and a new .sav file (64kb) but still didnt load up ive tried it with 6 different games all with the same outcome. definitely the correct region tried checked and double checked :(
     
  8. chin261

    chin261 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    121
    34
    Nov 24, 2005
    Senegal
    if tats the cast, might be a faulty sky3ds+. :(
     
  9. 999994884
    OP

    999994884 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Nov 6, 2016
    urgh cheers chin Ive emailed the supplier hopefu
     
  10. nero99

    nero99 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,904
    866
    Sep 18, 2014
    United States
    did you update the card to the newest firmware? yes the card, not the system.
     
  11. 999994884
    OP

    999994884 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Nov 6, 2016
    yes it is the newest one available version 112. The only thing i could find wrong with the update is that the card did not turn red for a few seconds just straight to green not sure if that has anything to do with it?
     
  12. rubycrow

    rubycrow Member

    Newcomer
    47
    8
    Oct 25, 2016
    United States
    Another question for OP: Did you update the firmware on your card to 112 or it came with 112? Do you still have the firmware.bin in your sd card?

    Another note is that your .3ds roms should be original dump without any modification. But since you already played it before, that shouldn't be the problem. Just wanted to make sure that the rom you are loading right now is exactly the rom you played the first time when it worked.
     
    Last edited by rubycrow, Nov 8, 2016
  13. 999994884
    OP

    999994884 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Nov 6, 2016
    Hi rubycrow many thanks, im not sure if it came with 112, I tried it first and had no luck (with a rom on) and got blank sav files (0kb) x3 with 000-1 text, at this point I went to the sky3ds website downloaded the 112 firmware and updated my self, to which it went straight to a green light, i waited for it to stop and pop up on compter then removed safely put into card reader deleted it and added the roms. When i put it into the ds it worked! Then i powered off the ds few hours later tried again to which it would no longer load. The firmware.bin is still on the pc just removed from the sd card. The sd card has been formatted numerous times since.

    Yes I am still using the original rom I had working. I know the card works for a certain amount of time, it creates a new sav file and settings text when i have only one rom on, but thats as far as it goes.
     
  14. rubycrow

    rubycrow Member

    Newcomer
    47
    8
    Oct 25, 2016
    United States
    Just out of curiosity, do you mind formatting and trying to transfer your rom via another card reader? Or through sky3ds's micro USB directly(it will be slow though)
     
  15. cocoPika

    cocoPika GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    205
    19
    Dec 2, 2014
    Canada
    Hi, hope you have fixed the problem, waiting for your update.
    if not, you can just to change the card from the store you bought, right?
     
  16. LurkerA

    LurkerA ㊣New3DS

    Member
    291
    68
    Apr 8, 2010
    United States
    It might be a contact issue, have you tried a new microSD card?